Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Christmas Challenges + Future Planning

on November 26, 2012

Thanksgiving was amazing. Mom and Dad are both great cooks and we had delicious food – but nothing crazy gluttonous. I stayed on my number and I was totally satisfied. A win! I wish I had taken pictures – brussel sprouts with bacon FOR THE WIN. Needless to say there were not many left over! Love me some roasted greens. :)

This is week one of the Elf4Health challenge I mentioned. So excited! I need something to keep me focused for the next 6 weeks. I emailed my elf for the next 2 weeks last night, hoping my note helped her get some new workout ideas.

This weeks challenges are as follows:

Monday
Go meatless today.

Tuesday
Send a card or handwritten note to a friend.

Wednesday
Try a new workout today!

Thursday
Get up 15 minutes early to meditate and reflect.

Friday
How many colors can you eat today? Challenge yourself!

I think today might be the hardest believe it or not! Last night I had tomato soup and a grilled cheese…….with bacon. Who doesn’t love bacon? Who even realizes it’s meat!? ;) I’m thinking some sort of pasta with pesto for dinner (sans my usual chicken addition) and soup for lunch – broccoli cheddar and French onion are currently tied for favorites. Of course as I type this I realize French onion is made with beef broth. LOL. Anyone else not realize how much meat they eat in a day?! Am I alone here?

For the new workout I think I might try the videos here: Blogilates. I must admit, Cassey’s energy is 1 notch above annoying – so it may not last … but hey it’s free why not? She’s the fitness version of Giada DiLaurentiis. :-)

I have a busy workout week planned ~ which I’m excited for. My friend Stasia was taking about how prone to hibernation she is in the winter – I never realized I was the same way until this weekend. It’s been so cold all I want to do is curl up on the couch with a blanket and watch mindless shows or read a book. I need to may sure I don’t fall prey to hibernation as winter progresses. I think this might be my I love Cali so much – the same weather year round makes it really difficult to fall prey to season funks. Then again constant sunshine might get old (maybe?). How are you guys battling the cold weather? Do you adjust your eating habits? I find myself craving warm foods and carbs. I need to constantly remind myself that carbs in moderation are OK – but a whole baguette is not my friend. Haha.

I was thinking last night about how much I dread Mondays (who doesn’t?) – especially when my Outlook calendar is filled from 8am on – boo. Then I was browsing the Interwebz for a good graphic for today’s blog and saw this:

That sounds much nicer doesn’t it?! So this Monday I vow to own it like I stole it – I will rock my workout tonight (double! TFFR and Legs!), I will get all my steps in and I will be thankful for my kickass life (and the kickass future I am building).

This is my currently favorite thought-provoking quote:

I think so much about the future I want….but I don’t take steps to get there! If you never move, you’re always standing still, right? Right.

So this time next year I want to be someone who just ran a 5K with my friend Stasia. I want to be someone who fits into super adorable workout clothes from Lululemon. I want to be someone who has made significant progress on a novel she’s always wanted to write. How can I get there? Little by little. I did not wake up today  a runner in size 12 wonder unders with a novel under my arm – but I did strap my pedometer onto my smaller sized yoga pants from Old Navy and walk my butt off at work. Later I’ll go take a kickass barre n9ne double and finish my night out with a 30 min brain dump for this novel of mine! Small changes yield big results.

4 responses to “Christmas Challenges + Future Planning

  1. Jolene says:

    LOVE that you are doing this Elf4Health challenge! So cool. And I ALSO love that you are vowing to do a 5K by next year. You TOTALLY got this.

  2. ragini says:

    Nice post. very informative blog. your blog have unique content. i like it.

  3. Sandy says:

    The Elf4Health challenge is super cool, but I think it’s something I’d be more ready for next year; right now, I don’t feel like I have much to offer anyone else. Also: I actually eat so little meat (I know this isn’t helping you); I LURVE Meatless Mondays, and my favorite dinner for them is portobello mushroom “pizzas” – I’ll get you the recipe when I can. Basically it’s the mushroom cap coated in garlic and olive oil, baked to get all the water out of it, and then broiled with some pizza sauce and mozzarella in the cap. I could eat like 1,000 of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

