Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Guest Post: Weight Training for Women!

on December 18, 2013

Hello!

I am Kristina and I blog about food, crafts, and life over at Cucina Kristina. About 6 months ago, I got super into the Paleo Lifestyle and weight training. I love lifting heavy weights and swimming when I go to the gym and am thrilled with the progress I have made in a year. When I started, I could deadlift about 50 pounds, and now I am able to deadlift 130 pounds, which is pretty close to my bodyweight. It’s amazing at how strong I have gotten over the last year! elf4health I am so happy to be guest blogging here on Sparkly & Slimming! Samantha and I were paired up via the Elf for Health challenge that Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean and Elle over at Nutritionella are running for the holiday season. Today’s challenge is “Share Your Expertise.” After sending a few emails back and forth and discussing things we were good at, Samantha asked me to write a “Women’s Guide to Weight Training” post. Because I am not a certified personal trainer, I am hesitant to give actual fitness advice, but I can tell you all about how I got into weight training and provide you with some fabulous resources if you are interested in getting lean and strong.

How I Got into Weight Training

I started weight training about a year ago because one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to be able to do a pull-up. One pull-up. It didn’t sound that hard at the time, but it definitely is not easy to pull your own bodyweight! I am very close to being able to do a pull-up so I am confident that I will be able to tackle this before my birthday in May. :-)

Dispelling a myth!

Before I go any further, I want you to know that you will not get “bulky” from lifting heavy weights! There is a common fear amongst women that they will come out of the gym looking like a bodybuilder if they pick up anything over 10 pounds. Lifting weights will help you burn body fat faster than doing cardio alone and it is FUN! Weight lifting also helps boost your metabolism and helps you burn fat long after you have finished your workout.

Form is KEY.

The most important thing to keep in mind when you are weight training is form. You are setting yourself up for injury if you let your form lapse. If you have never weight trained before, I would suggest watching some videos on YouTube and practicing the moves using NO weights before you start adding weights to your workouts. You can do this in the privacy of your own home if you have a full-length mirror. If you do not have a full-length mirror, do this at your gym. You will not look silly, I promise! Many experienced weight lifters check their form this way before doing an exercise. NerdFitness

One website I LOVE that has a ton of videos, articles, and all around general fitness advice is called Nerd Fitness. Block out a weekend and devour all of the wonderful information Steve has to offer.

Also, take some time to check out Staci’s success story. Staci is super awesome, currently deadlifts 385 pounds, and is nothing remotely close to looking bulky!

So, you want to start weight training.

In addition to Nerd Fitness, I would highly recommend that you buy and read the book, The New Rules of Lifting for Women by Alwyn Cosgrove and Lou Schuler. This book is nothing short of amazing. It includes a comprehensive 6-month weight training program that anyone can do. They explain how to modify exercises to fit your strength level (for example, you may have to start doing exercises using your bodyweight before you add on any additional weight) and include a nutrition plan to go along with it. If you are interested in weight training, this is the #1 book I would recommend to you!

Some Sample Workouts

Here are some sample workouts for the total beginner using bodyweight. All are from Nerd Fitness. I wasn’t joking when I said this was one of my favorite websites!

Beginner Body Weight Workout

Clean Eating.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you can weight train your buns off and you will not see results if you are not eating for fat loss. This means avoiding overly processed foods and focusing on eating whole foods and lean proteins. In short, eat healthy!

I hope this helped motivate some of you to pick up some weights the next time you are in the gym. If you have any questions about lifting, feel free to tweet me @cucina_kristina. I will do my best to answer your questions or point you in the right direction!

image

———

Thanks Kristina!!  I know two of my loyal friends (and readers) Lauren and Jewels will especially love this!

2 responses to “Guest Post: Weight Training for Women!

  1. I really like your post on this blog…Thanks for such a useful information.

  2. reneejhearne says:

    Wow! you got a great result from your training. Keep it up. I believe that every women deserve to look and feel sexy all the time. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

