Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

The Unresolution

on December 27, 2013

image

2014 is the year of the horse, the year of the Winter Olympics in Sochi and I propose we make it the year of the unresolution. What is an “unresolution”? It’s the notion that rather than make a lengthy, unattainable resolution list you should focus instead on improving one area of your life through little changes. I coined the term (at least as far as I’m concerned) and I’m really excited about it! Every December I make a ridiculous list of things I need to do in order to be a better person. Guess what? They just cause more stress and I end up a miserable person! For instance every year I vow to complete a 5k. This year I finally figured out I actually hate running. I hate it. I’m terrible at it and it brings me 0 joy. So, this year I will not push myself to complete couch to 5k, I will not read running blogs and curse myself for not being as passionate as the authors. Nope, this year I will accept my chosen cardio (Zumba!) and plan to attend 5 classes a week. Zumba makes me happy and thinner – it’s a win win!

This year’s unresolution will be simple: be happier. Happy for me means coffee dates with friends, quality time with my Mom (especially in our favorite vacation slot ~ Los Angeles!), more Zumba, more strength training, more healthy foods,  more sleep and more smiles. Less comparing and more acceptance. Less complaints, more compassion.

image

Last year I wrote a novella about what I would accomplish – let’s just see how I did for giggles.

* Complete Couch to 5K (using the fancy new heart rate monitor I bought – in pink of course!) – FAIL – turns out I hate running and this goal lasted all of 4 days.  LOL!

* Hike to the Hollywood sign! (I have ALWAYS wanted to do this – and I finally conned someone into doing it with me. So come February I will be hiking my cute butt up to see the sign and the lovely city of Los Angeles!) - Semi-pass. I went to the Hollywood sign…and I hiked but they weren’t mutually exclusive.

* Go gluten-free (like legit. I want to go hardcore for a month and see how I feel – then adjust as need be). PASS! I actually liked this and while I am not totally gluten-free I do avoid most bread/flour in my daily life.

* Get more fruits/veggies into my day (roasted, chopped, pureed – any form…just do it!) PASS! I rocked this.

* Stop stressing out about shit I can’t control (As the story goes: “Don’t worry about the future. Or worry, but know that worrying is as effective as trying to solve an algebra equation by chewing bubble gum. The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind, the kind that blindside you at 4 p.m. on some idle Tuesday.”  Eh, Semi-Pass. I did better but I still let my mind wander and dwell often.

* Cook an actual meal – like 3 courses that go together for someone I love. PASS! I cooked this year! I am excited for new cooking tools for Christmas and new cookooks.

* Buy cute workout clothes at Lululemon (Stasia this means once they fit we’re going on a shopping spree!) – FAIL – mostly because I boycott the terrible things Lululemon execs did this year. Their tops fit – but their bottoms are still a ways off and I’m fine never fitting into their stuff.

* Have more adventures – who doesn’t love an adventure?! Semi-Pass – I took some chances and tried some new things but I also became a bit of a homebody this year.

* Spend more time with the people who make me smile – and less with the ones who make me self-doubt PASS! This means I flat out don’t see some people anymore – and that’s okay. Not everyone was meant to stay in your life forever.

* Write more (not necessarily here – just in general. I have these moments of brilliance…and I lose them on scraps of paper and random note pads in between life) - PASS! I write a lot more, even if I don’t always share it.

* Stop trying to make everyone like me. I’m sure I’ve confessed this before but in case you missed it – I HATE when people don’t like me. Hate it. At work. At the gym. Anywhere. I need to be liked. In 2013 I will build a bridge and get the fuck over it. Not everyone is going to like me – and that’s OK! Semi-pass ~ I did better about this at work and at my activities but I still struggle with it. I think the great betrayal of 2013 made me realize sometimes it’s NOT about me. :)

* Complain less. I am a habitual whiner, I know I am. Sometimes my inner monologue becomes my OUTER monologue and that just isn’t sexy. Time to kibosh the bitching! PASS –  I think I have done a lot better with this one – though I still have my moments!

* Be more awesome (I know, this sounds so arrogant right? But I figure it this way – if I am more awesome I will attract more awesome into my life and frankly – that’s what I need!  PASS!

Not bad!!! I think some of these will be things I will continuously work on for life. :)

This year I will put myself out into the dating pool and pray to God I remember those swim lessons I took that summer at the Tech. :-) I’ve come a long way in the last year and grown through several challenges. I’m renewed, restored and ready to tackle this amazing new year. Bring it on 2014!

image

One response to “The Unresolution

  1. Mary Ann says:

    My 2013 “Unresolution” was to lose 90 lbs and what a pity …in these 12 month I did not lose but instead gained 10 lbs more.I am fed up with the dieting and exercises.Such resolutions make us frustrated .This year I am planning to do a weight loss surgery at Credit valley clinic at Ontario.Hope that is more realistic and attainable!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

