Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Hello world!

on July 8, 2010

Hello world!!

This is my first post in my fancy, new blog…but not my first rodeo. I’ve been keeping a journal for years – and have had several blogs in the past. I consider myself a fairly good writer, and try to keep my blogs interesting.

Why is this go round different from the past? Well, for one thing I am keeping this 100% public.  As I update, I’ll be posting links to my Facebook – and keeping my good friends and coworkers in the loop as well. I think the kick in the ass I need is 1005 accountability. No more hiding!

So,  I’m on a journey to shrink myself from my current weight to a healthy,’ normal’ weight – and I’ll be using this blog as one of my tools.  I plan to post about food dilemmas, exercising encounters, weight loss success’ (and the failures too!) as well as anything I find interesting or amusing along the way.

So, the disclaimer part: I’m no bullshit. I swear sometimes (ok, a lot in person). I make mistakes.  I’m not perfect.  I’m also extremely conversational and usually sarcastic…. hope you’re up for the ride! 🙂

So, as of today I am 28 yrs old (late twenties…aaah!) and at 5’4″ I weigh 385 pounds. Yup, I said it. Aloud (well, online). 385 pounds. It’s insane, and I need to get it under control.

I could sit here and make excuses, but I won’t waste your time or mine. I’m fat. Period. I used to be fatter – in January 2010 I weighed  my highest to date- 425 pounds.  I went balls to the wall’ for the first few months…then slowly but surely, I lost interest with diet and exercise. So, I am down 39 pounds from my heaviest ever (which is a small victory in itself) and I am back on track.

Let’s be honest – no one actually ENJOYS dieting, right? Nope.  So, how am I going to make things different this time around? I’m not doing it. No dieting! Oh sure, I’ll write down my food (little bites add up!) and I’ll be making sure to keep myself in check when it comes to snacking and treats. But, as of today I am not dieting. A “diet” implies short term…and I want a lifestyle change. Hokey, I know.

Will I be exercising? Hell to the yea! The best I’ve ever felt is when I was going to the gym 4 days a week and bellydancing once a week. I see your look of shock…bellydancing?! Yup, it’s true. I fell in love with the dance 6 years ago (when I weighed 330) and haven’t let my weight stop me from dancing (and performing!). Now, before you get the wrong idea – bellydancers are not strippers, our clothes stay on! Bellydance is a wonderful art form that comes in all shapes, sizes, colors and flavors  and on the subject of “bellies’, I personally chose not to show my belly (though there are plus-sized dancers who do!).  Anyways, tangents aside – my current plan is to exercise in the gym 4 days a week, spend 2 days a week working on bellydance or a DVD from my collection (hundreds, literally HUNDREDS!) and allow myself 1 day of rest. It might sound hardcore –  but it’s what I think I need….it might be modified in the future!

Since 2004 I would guesstimate I have lost and gained the same 100 pounds about 5 times. Pretty insane. I do really good, then I get sick/it gets tough/I give up. Lather, rinse, repeat. This time I really hope to stick with it, and succeed. There are so many things I miss out on in life by being so overweight…and frankly, if I don’t change them at 28 – there’s a chance I won’t live to see 48. That scary thought is propelling me to make changes and turn my life around.

I’ll be eating healthier – making choices that will keep me strong and help me shed pounds…and I’ll be exercising. A lot! Oh, and I’ll be blogging all about it.

So, there you have it. I’m fat. I’m going to work on being less fat – and I hope you’ll share my journey with me – and maybe we can learn from each other along the way!

Oh, and I will be weighing myself once a week and sharing the results here. I’m also going to take measurements- a  fitness-savvy friend of mine says ‘Inches add up!”.  So, I’ll be monitoring my progress 2 ways.

More updates soon!

*S

9 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Bruce Jones says:

    Hey – way to go with both the lifestyle change/health and the writing. I know that must be hard. I started my current shift at 370 pounds and am now down 26 pounds. I have added this to my reading list.

  2. christa says:

    Samantha,
    I am so proud of you for taking this on! You will do great 🙂 p.s. major props for posting your weight!

  3. Lily says:

    What a great idea! I’ll be here virtually cheering you on! 🙂 (And I can cheer you on in person when you’re out west, right?)

  4. Curt says:

    Word!
    Don’t be like me and need to have your ticker tinkered with, that is exactly no fun. Heart disease helps lose weight though I’d gotten stuck for awhile and I’m down around 10 pounds since going in the hospital.
    When I got out of college I sat next to the snack machine at work and drank soda all day. Put on 40 pounds in a year and a half. Hated it. Its taken me 10 years to get those pounds back off but they do come off.
    Number one thing for me has been bringing my own lunch to work.

  5. Hyetti says:

    Hey, Samantha! WTG! I am on a similar journey!
    Going to Weight Watchers really keeps me on track, and you’re right, it’s about a permanent life change and making healthier choices. You can go on a diet, fall off a diet, blow a diet…Diet be DAMNED!
    I have come to the conclusion that if I want to lose all this extra weight and keep it off, I just can’t eat the way I always have, without a thought.
    ThoughtFULLY is better! And the longer you make healthy choices, the better it is, the easier it gets. Have lost 35 pounds so far, and it has stayed off! (Heading for another 35!)
    Try http://www.hungrygirl.com ~ she has GREAT ideas and recipes!
    You GO Girl!

  6. Hyetti says:

    Oh~ ANd the offer of the costume still stands; this summer is nuts, so I will be able to start on it this september, whenever you like!

  7. […] can’t believe how much has changed in a year. When I sat here last year and wrote my very first post I never thought I would meet so many cool people through this venture, try so many crazy things or […]

  8. […] Looking back to my first post in some ways I feel like I don’t know that person anymore. […]

Leave a Reply

