Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

This isn’t a game show

on July 19, 2010

“You only lost 5 pounds?”

So, well I got a ton of sweet, encouraging comments about my last post…I also got 2 snarky ones. One person said “5 pounds? I wouldn’t be celebrating 5 pounds Sam – you still have over 200 pounds to lose.” and the other said “You only lost 5 pounds? On “Biggest Loser” they lose like 20 or 30 pounds in their first week…maybe you need to try harder?”.

So, I’d like to address these – since they both bothered me so.

I will admit, I am a reality show junky. I don’t like the singing or the “Survivor” style ones, but I do love the fashion/food/weight-loss ones. “Project Runway”, “Next Food Network Star”, “Top Chef” and “Biggest Loser” are all frequently recorded shows on my DVR. However, while I watch these shows, I keep one thing in mind: *this is a GAME*. These people are competing for a prize.

Now, on “Biggest Loser” they live on a ranch – secluded from temptations and the real world. They are competing for $250,000 and of course, new healthy lives. They do not work. They do not have friends or family around. They don’t have access to the Internet, TV or magazines. They can’t even call home to chat. They live in a bubble. In this bubble they focus on healthy eating and exercise. They have access to ONLY organic, fresh food (which they prepare) and a 24×7 gym which they exercise in 6-7 hours everyday. Yup, you read that correctly- SIX to SEVEN hours EVERY DAY. Their full-time job is to lose weight.

My life is a little different. 🙂  I have a full-time job, which comes w/ being on call once a month and I happen to currently be on call. So sometimes even when I’m “home”….I’m still at work. I have a close-knit family, I have a huge group of friends and dammit, I like to socialize!

So, the BL cast and I lead different lives. Additionally, they started from eating 4000 calories a day, drinking nothing but soda and junk, never moving from the couch….yadda yadda. My starting point was a little different. I don’t drink soda. Pre-blogging I was eating about 2500 calories a day. Not 4,000. Oh, and I certainly had tried dieting several times in the past. A lot of the time the success story of BL is the guy who weighs 450 pounds and had never tried dieting before. In season 3 his name was Erik Chopin….and he lost 214 pounds and won. He was amazing. But, after getting home, his weight crept back on slowly….until he got to the point where he gained nearly ALL of his weight back. See the article here.  The transition from being on a reality show to living in the real world is not as easy to maintain as it looks. I watched a TLC special about him and he said flat out that he came home and rested on his laurels while enjoying all these treats he was deprived of on the ranch.

While you do lose insane amounts of weight on BL – you don’t learn how to cope with the challenges of the real world. You don’t learn how to keep the weight off when you stop exercising 7 hours a day and have to go back to working full time. So, in my mind I’m doing this the right way. I am maintaining my job, my friends and my LIFE while losing weight. I won’t lose 20 or 30 pounds a week …. but I will keep it off long term – and that’s WAY more important to me.

So, perhaps my first week was not the success you were expecting from me. But, I’m not going to apologize for that. My first week was exactly what I was hoping to achieve. I lost 5 pounds, I exercised, I Incorporated fruits and veggies back into my life and I *felt* better. I hope that clears up the differences in real-life weight-loss and TV weight-loss, but if you want to chat about it more – feel free to email me! she is sparkling at gmail dot com. I’m always up for a good discussion.

5 responses to “This isn’t a game show

  1. Marta says:

    5 lbs is 5 lbs….I am so proud of you!!! You are doing amazing and I say don’t listen to the haters. Then live their lives to make other people unhappy….*HUUUUUUUUUUG* Keep it up!

  2. Denise Carr says:

    Great for you,!!! those shows r silly, they gain it all back when they get home. your right. not the real world!! everyday is a new challenge . I don’t watch this stuff!! I do love Project Runway, I want to learn to sew after that. and Hells kitchen!! keep up the good work. I am getting inspiration from you. little changes for me, are the best too. I look forward to your blogs!!

  3. Curt says:

    Some time ago when I was just starting to drop my “first job pounds” (which took 10 years remember) I lost 1 pound a month for 3 months. I was kind of bummed about my slow progress but a friend told me “Think how you’d feel if you gained 1 pound a month for a year…”
    That put it in perspective for me, this is a marathon not a sprint…

  4. Lisa Davis says:

    Hey Sparkly Girl!!
    First of all, I love this blog! Secondly, CONGRATULATIONS on your weight loss! I think 5 lbs. deserves a groovy pair of earrings!! They have fun, inexpensive ones at Target. I mention that because you are going to be deserving of many “treats” during your weight loss journey. They don’t have to be food and they don’t have to break the bank. But I think you definitely need to reward yourself. It helps so much!!

  5. Julie says:

    Samantha- I am so happy for you that you made progress toward your goal. Keep blogging and being fabulous!
    – Julie and Patrick

Leave a Reply

