Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Weighing in

on July 23, 2010

Happy Friday!

I know you’re all dying to hear how my week was…but first, there is something I need to clear up.

I’ve had 3 comments about this blog (two from work friends and one from a friend I have known since I was 18 or so) that I’d like to address publicly.

1. “Do you think it’s a good idea to post your weight? I think it’s a bad idea”.
I struggled with the idea of posting how much I weighed into the interwebz, I really did. But, at the end of the day I decided if I wasn’t up front and honest from the get-go, then how could I be held accountable when I inevitably slip? How could I celebrate my successes (like leaving the 300’s someday soon!) if you didn’t know my where I started!? I stand by my decision to post it – although it was very hard to say “Hi my name is Samantha and I once weighed 424 pounds and now I weigh 385 pounds”.  In the end, this will all have been worth it, I just know it.

2. “You won’t blog about me unless you ask me, right?”
Ha, I promise never to blog about you before asking. Charlotte and James both cleared my last post before it went live – I love my friends and would never do something that would make them intentionally uncomfortable. I will at some point post about past loves, but names will be changed to protect the guilty. Additionally, I never plan to post the name of my work place, or any details related to it. I don’t think it’s relevant to my weight loss journey – and if I do someday get a bad-ass book deal…I don’t want to have to share any of the profits! 😉

3. “Sometimes I find your blog really tough to read – you just say things like it is and it’s a little…much”
Uh, yup! I assume 90% of you find this blog when I post my updates to Facebook. If you’re linked to me on Facebook then we are friends, and I think you know the kind of person I am. I don’t bullshit. Sometimes the things I say might be hard to hear – but trust me, it’s even harder to live. I didn’t come in to this looking to sugar coat my situation. If that makes my posts unbearable, I promise I won’t be hurt if you stop reading. But really, it’s your loss….I think I’m pretty entertaining! 🙂

Now, onto the weekly weigh in! So, I ate under 1800 calories every day but one. Gah! I was duped by On The Border! Check that nutrition info online before making a decision about what to have for dinner, trust me. I only got cardio workouts in twice but I did do a lot of strength training and some dancing, both of which make me happy.  The scale says……376.2

Meh!

So, it’s 3.7 pounds down from last week – which is good….but I feel like I “earned” more. Oh well, on to next week!

10 responses to “Weighing in

  1. Gail says:

    You go girl! This is the first chance I’ve had to check out your blog! I’m SO proud of you! Keep up the great work! xo

  2. Debbie says:

    GREAT JOB! I am going to be having some “KICK ASS” signs for you.

  3. Lily says:

    3.7 lbs is nothing to meh about! I haven’t managed to shift a single ounce OR hit the gym this week! I love reading these updates because they make me think about my eating patterns for the week (too many snacks) and what I can do next week. Thank you, Ms Sparkles!

  4. Ayla says:

    I am so proud of you!
    You are doing a wonderful job of keeping track and I LOVE your idea of going public and holding yourself accountable. If it motivates you …great!
    Don’t get discouraged.. you stated that you felt you earned more of a weight loss this week, remember, you are also building muscle so don’t get down in the dumps Chicka!
    Congrats!

  5. sara says:

    I think you are amazing.
    I love your honesty and think its beautiful.
    Everyone is a critic. like what one friend says, those who matter don’t mind, and those who mind don’t matter. dr suess…. i believe.
    I am with you and your efforts 150%.
    Love.
    sara

  6. Curt says:

    For me the weight numbers are kind of meaningless. It was a BIG day when I went from 38″ to 36″ jeans though…

  7. Lisa Davis says:

    Another wooo-hoooo to youuuu!!! You’re losing at a healthy rate. Remember, you are competing in a “long distance” life event…you’ll run out of steam if you sprint!!

  8. Memie says:

    Awesome, your the best. You give me encouragement. Hugs

  9. Hyetti says:

    Hey, SAmantha, that’s a great weight loss! I have NEVER lost that much at once!
    Everything in perspective…sometimes a great week for me is staying the same after a tough struggle!
    Keep on winning!

  10. Ashley says:

    You know, if you average it out, it’s not just 3.7 pounds in 1 week; it’s almost 9 pounds in 2 weeks! If you do that again, you’ll have lost 18 pounds in a month. Wow, that’s 180 pounds in 10 months. (Even if you only lost half that amount, that would still be amazing, and would bring you well on your way to leaving the 300’s sometime soon.) Keep it up!

    I agree with you that making this public is the right approach. You had a more private blog before, and made some great progress for a while, but I think with all of the support — and yes, accountability — that this blog offers you, you can garner even greater success. That’s especially during the hard times — because I know when things get rough, it’s sometimes easier to slink away and stop writing. But we’re all counting on you to keep us filled in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

