Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Whatcha Eatin’ Willis?

on July 28, 2010

So, one of my newcomer readers emailed me to ask what I was eating- a perfectly fair question since you’re spending your valuable time listening to me babble! I tried to figure out how to make my food journal public – but it doesn’t seem to be possible. So, here’s a sample day – if you’re interested. I’m not always perfect- but 6 out of 7 days a week this is my food journal. Weekends I tend to skip snacks and have bigger meals.

Breakfast (as soon as I wake up – legit, I am always STARVING)
6 oz. container Chobani Greek Non-fat Yogurt (I only like the ones with fruit – or the French Vanilla…I hate the Honey one – yeck!)
1 tablespoon granola (I know it sounds silly, but it’s the perfect amount of crunch)
Water

Some mornings I will have Rice Krispies w/ Skim Milk and a banana – but I don’t always love cereal for breakfast.

Morning Snack (usually around 10am)
1 banana or 1 cup of grapes
Starbucks Coffee (Venti Iced Non-fat sugar free mocha w/ hazelnut) – I know I need to eventually ween myself off this….but it’s only 200 calories…and it’s so good!

Lunch (usually 12:30pm – 1:30pm ish…depending on the day)
6 oz. of lean protein of some kind  (turkey, chicken, tofu, hard boiled eggs) – Yes I love tofu. I know it’s weird…but I don’t care.
2 cups of vegetables (either stir-fryed, roasted w/ EVOO or in a salad w/ balsamic dressing)
A handful of almonds or a 1/2 an avocado w/ a little salt (might sound strange, but it’s FANTASTIC)
Water

Afternoon Snack (around 4pm if I’m not exercising after work, closer to 5:30pm if I am)

Pretzels / a Special K bar / A Salty Sweet Peanut bar from Nature Valley Popchips (my newest addiction)
or
some fruit (kiwi, berries, grapes – frozen!)
More water

Dinner (around 7:30pm most nights)
4oz – 6 oz of Fish/Scallops/Shrimp/Steak/Chicken (usually something that takes longer to prep than lunch – and if I have enough it becomes lunch the next day)
2-3 cups of veggies (stir-fryed, roasted w/ EVOO or baked)
1/2 cup of rice (usually a pilaf or a risotto) or a 1/2 potato, baked – no butter, real sour cream (fake sour-cream is disgusting)
Water, water, water…..or if I need it, Diet Root Beer (yum!)

“Dessert”  (9pmish…not every night – but some nights!)

Chobani Greek Yogurt (I told you I was addicted!)
1/2 cup of frozen yogurt
a handful of almonds
a half dozen whole wheat Triscuits w/ fresh mozzarella

I try not to have the last snack/dessert…but sometimes my stomach gets the better of me!

I’m averaging about 100oz+ of water a day – more if I work out that day. That’s fabulous. However, I read an article that said I should be drinking my body weight in ounces. That would be 376 ounces…which is a hella lot of water. That’s 12 refills of my new Nalgene! How much water do you guys drink?

The calorie total per day is in a range of 1,400 – 1,750 – which seems to be universally where someone my size on a “diet” should be.

Anyone have some meal suggestions they can share? I love eggs….but they don’t always agree with me – so as much as I would prefer to have hard boiled egg whites (with one yolk) 3-4 times a week, it just isn’t going to work. I don’t want snacks that are just empty calories (popcorn) – they leave me unfulfilled and craving something bad. Oh, also I’m not anti-sandwich…I just find I get more “bang for my buck” if I bring protein and veggies for lunch rather than a sandwich (all the bread I like is high in calories!).

4 responses to “Whatcha Eatin’ Willis?

  1. Jaylee says:

    Girl, you are amazing! I just read through your blogs, start to finish and realized that you and I have the same exact approach to food. I use food to entertain me (I munch when I am bored or don’t feel like doing something), to reward me (for existing? I have no idea), or to console me (that guy on the bus whistling was so annoying! I think I need ice cream…)

    I am hungry as soon as I wake up, I am hungry every 3-4 hours. And I HATE feeling hungry. To me, there is hardly a feeling that is worse. On top of that, I am a very picky eater, and can’t make myself eat what I don’t like (like healthy food). Limiting myself just makes me want the bad stuff more…unbearably more. Oh ya, and I still think I look pretty darn small when I look in the mirror, but when I see photos or video of me dancing, I am in shock. So another problem is that I am totally comfortable with how I look much of the time…but I am living in some dillusion.

    I have watched my weight slowly increase year after year since college, and being 5’2 and also 28, I am not excited to weigh 25+ pounds more than I did 6 years ago. That is about 4 pounds a year. At this rate, I am in danger of becoming obese (technically I am borderline right now…I know, I just don’t feel like I am). I didn’t realize that my eating habits were really that silly and horrible for me…you have just made it make sense. Its like a reality slap in the face…thank you ma’am may I have another? lol

    I am telling you all this crap about me (as if anyone is interested) because I want you to know that you are not alone, and that you are an inspiration. I am so proud of you for writing this blog, for making this lifestyle change, for being so honest. And I want to thank you.

    You can do it! I am here for you if you want to chat, vent, celebrate, work out, dance, whatever. You gots mah numba grrrl! love you!!

  2. Curt says:

    I think the water thing is overdone, all its ever seemed to do for me is make me need the bathroom. I got up to the old 64oz suggestion once and spent half the day peeing…

    Then I read somewhere you probably don’t need that much water (since theres a lot of water in food) and cut way back. Doesn’t seem to make much difference for me.

  3. I’m a vegetarian, so my food needs are different than yours, but here’s what I’ll be eating today.

    Breakfast: Multigrain Cheerios with vanilla soy milk, and one cup (exactly!) of cranberry juice. (I eat Cheerios because I’m really lazy in the morning and need something quick, plus it gives me most of the iron I need for the day).

    Morning snack: an apple, a cup of green tea

    Lunch: Nile Spice Couscous Lentil Curry soup, lemon Builder’s Bar. (Again, due to laziness in the morning, I stuff my desk with cup-o-soups and protein bars every couple of weeks and eat one of each for lunch. The soups are from places like Nile Spice and Health Valley, so they’re pretty nutritious, so long as you don’t have issues with salt. I also enjoy the protein bars because they fulfill my joint needs for protein and sweet things.)

    Afternoon snack: an orange, maybe some coffee with one sugar packet, maybe one mini chocolate from the receptionist’s desk

    Dinner: a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (This is not a normal dinner, but I’m driving straight to Worcester from work for a dance class and need to eat in the car.)

    Current total: 1,329 calories (not counting the possible sugar packet and mini chocolate, which will bring it closer to 1,400).

    My daily target: 1,460 – 1,810 calories.

    Why the discrepancy? Because I’m pretty darned sure I’ll be hungry again after dance class since dinner will have been small and early, so I want to leave myself some calories for the end of the day. If I need something immediately after class, I’ll probably grab some M&Ms to scarf down in the car. If I can wait, then I’ll make something healthier at home. Either way, I’ll be within my target calories.

  4. Denise Carr says:

    Have you tryed Country Kitchen, low fat bread,?? its delicious and filling for a sandwich, oatmeal or wheat!! the wheat is more filling I find. also, I just made a syrian bread pizza, w low fat Mozzerela tomatoes fresh basil, evoo toasted crispy, did you know feta is the least fattening cheese, this is good w egg whites, I also put low fat chive cottage cheese in my egg mixture to bulk it and make it tasty. its really good.

Leave a Reply

