Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Disappointments….I haz dem!

on August 6, 2010

So, I did not weigh in last week – as you may recall. I also didn’t give you a reason, and quite a few of you were upset with me! This accountability thing is working, eh? 😉

Well, no weigh-in last week was because it was er…my time of the month. ‘Nuff said. So, I was feeling terrible and had 11 pounds of bloat to thank. Yup, I usually gain anywhere from 8-11 pounds…and no one wants to write those inflated, fake numbers down. No pun intended.

I thought, “wait until next week – I will kick ass!”. I’m sorry to say, I didn’t. I only exercised 3 times – and once was really half-hearted. I went out for dinner 4 times- and drank twice. I promised myself I could control my eating and plan my days…yadda yadda yadda. I did – until something set me off emotionally. Bad days lead to binge eating and drinking (well, not binge drinking – I just has one margarita each night that I drank…but dammit, I wasn’t going to drink!). There’s nothing worse than setting out to accomplish a goal and failing, completely by your own hand.

Looking at my food log I realized I was also cutting out carbs almost completely from my breakfast and lunch. I think this is a knee-jerk reaction to knowing I wasn’t losing at an acceptable rate (according to me!). So, I don’t eat carbs for breakfast or lunch….then I go to dinner and binge eat and drink margaritas!?!? Fuck! Samantha, you know better! I could kick myself.

That being said – here’s the game plan for the next few weeks:

*I’m in a training class for 2 straight weeks- and the temptation to go out to eat for lunch will be HIGH. So, I need to continue with planned breakfast (and add that tasty organic granola back in with my Greek yogurt and coffee!).

*I also need to plan out my lunches and dinners- and make sure they have a good ratio of carbs/fat/protein in each meal. Snacks will be important too.

* Lastly,  as I learned from my friends – I need to plan my life AROUND my workouts, not vice versa!

I have to be honest, this post has been extremely hard to write. Who wants to tell everyone reading a public blog that they effed up? Certainly not me! Normally, this is the point in my blogging past where I would retreat….and accept defeat. But no, I’m not doing that. I’m holding my head up high and saying “I can and will do better”. I might only be a month into this – but that’s no reason to throw the towel in now!

Some other strategies I need to implement:

*Exercising with a buddy (several of you have offered, but I have not taken you up on it….yet!).

*Letting people around me know that ‘hey, I’m trying to eat healthier and as much I do love The Cheesecake Factory…I’d prefer some place like Fresh City for lunch.’

(I have to also be prepared for people to not want to have to cater to me. After all, the world does not revolve around me.)

*I bought a fancy new pedometer and I’m going to aim for 10,000 steps a day – like I said I would do a few weeks back.

Now, I do have to post my weigh (despite not wanting to) – today I weigh: 374 on the nose.

So. that’s 2.2 pounds down from my last weigh in 2 weeks ago..and a total of 11 pounds since July 8th.

Rather than dwell, I’ll just say I hope my next month is more successful! 🙂

TGIF, hope you all have a great weekend! Oh, and let’s do our second poll, shall we?

9 responses to “Disappointments….I haz dem!

  1. Curt says:

    When I saw you the other day I wondered if you were having a tough week, your eyes tell all!

  2. We all have bad weeks, and hormones are a real bitch sometimes. Yesterday, we had a company lunch with cupcakes for dessert, and I had one and told myself I was done. Then they put the leftover cupcakes out all over the office, and I broke down and had a second one. I told myself that because of the time of the month, it was medicine. Yeah, right. So I’m making sure I eat close to the low end of my calorie goals today. It’s all about forgiving yourself and moving on. And I can empathize about the water weight. I used to have pretty big gains myself before I went on the pill 😛

  3. sara says:

    success is SUCCESS. and you did. even if its not as much as you want, you are still DOWN. Congratulations and I think you have much to feel good about.
    You have a plan, and you are AWARE and being mindful.
    You will succeed at this with this amount of wonderful focus.
    love

  4. Marta says:

    *hug* I love reading your blogs…1) because you crack me up and I love the detail you give. Makes things real 2) you inspire me. Yea, you may screw up. It’s good for ME to know that I am not the only one and that just because I screw up today doesn’t mean I am a complete scre up and that I can do better next time….Bless you *hug*

  5. Rachel M says:

    You are doing a great job, Samantha! Stay positive and keep moving forward. Perhaps try to go for a walk outside this weekend — that always makes me feel better.

  6. Ayla says:

    Aw sweetie, to mess up once in awhile is going to happen. And I think you are doing the right thing. You are acknowledging that it happened, you have a game plan and it looks like you are going to follow it.
    I am pulling for you girl!

  7. Denise Carr says:

    Hey, we are on on the same page, I kept ordering Pina Colada’s and mud slides this week, cause Well, u know I deserve it, I am serously screwed myself. and well to hot to exercise, whatever, just keep truckin the best u can!! its just good to know we all have support together. anyway. and we are all in the pool!!

  8. Layne says:

    Yay! Offer to walk the lake is still on the table my dear! I could use a buddy too!!!

  9. CrazyKev23 says:

    As others said you are still achieving accomplishments, and that’s better that nothing. Plus, you are taking on a lot more emotionally by putting yourself out there on this blog. As well as inspiring many others. I commend you on all fronts. keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

