Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Do I Need to Detox?

on August 25, 2010

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a self-confessed diet book/DVD/article junkie. I read/view everything new and exciting that I come across. I’ve been noticing a trend ~ most books or articles now include the “cleanse” or detox phase to any new diet. Said phases are supposed to be a big deal – and jump start your healthy new life.  I’ve never done a detox – or a cleanse…well, there was that time I gave up desserts and alcohol for “Lent” (even though I am a non-practicing Catholic)…but I cheated 3 times. So, we won’t count that. 🙂

I’ve been reading a lot about balancing yourself (chakras, yoga etc) and I think my body is probably pretty out of whack. So, I like the idea of a cleanse/detox and incorporating more meditation etc. into my life. I need less stimulation and more relaxation.*

Jillian Michaels’ book “Master Your Metabolism” lists a million and one things you need to cut from your life stat.  She claims that “toxins” in processed junk food, medicines, and the environment can throw our hormones, and thus our metabolism, out of whack. That means getting rid of: sugar, salt, gluten, alcohol and most dairy along with “toxins”: high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), mercury, pesticides (buy only organic) etc. She also pushes the idea of never using plastic.  Extreme for the average person. But, you don’t need to follow anything to the letter.

There’s also the ever popular “Master Cleanse”  – I have friends who love it…but I can’t get with the idea of eating NOTHING. I might die. (Is my dramatic tone coming across in the post? I hope so!).  The MC is a mixture of organic lemon juice/organic grade B maple syrup/ ground cayenne pepper/ filtered water that you drink all day for 10-14 days.

I heard from a friend about the Quantum Wellness Cleanse – a 21-day cleanse that Oprah tried and blogged about. From Amazon:  “This book takes a common sense approach to healthy cruelty-free eating. It also addresses a lot of the weak points in the diets of many Americans such as alcohol,caffeine, sugar, meat and dairy etc. If you can give up these things for 21 days you may just be able to give them up forever. The menus at the end are very sensible and do not include any extremes in calorie restrictions.”
So, my decision is 2-fold.

1. Do I need to detox/cleanse? Will it help me break my addictions to caffeine and HFCS? Will it realign my body?

2. If I do, should I try the Jillian or the 21-Day….or should I make my own? What should I include/exclude?

*As a result of my recent interest in balance, I decided to make the picture of the post  a rainbow “Om” – trust me, when you Google “detox” and “cleanse” you get a whole lotta pictures not suitable for posting. Anywhere!

4 responses to “Do I Need to Detox?

  1. Memie says:

    Love the pic, I tried the cleanse it jump started me I only did the 14 day cleanse. And you can balance your chakras by meditating. Love the articles. Have you tried EFT?

  2. If what you want to do is break your caffeine and sugar addictions, then don’t bother cleansing — just cut them both from your diet. To get off of caffeine, wean yourself from it slowly. What I was told to do when I got off of it 10 years ago was to reduce my intake by 1/3 every week. It worked, and I never got a single caffeine headache. I recently let myself get readdicted, and I’m trying to switch to green tea instead of coffee, since it’s a healthier way to have caffeine, plus it doesn’t need sweetener. The problem I’m having is that I love the taste of coffee. But I need to be strong!

    As for the sugar/HFCS, a coworker of mine went on a one-month sugar fast where she didn’t allow herself to eat anything with sugar added to it so she could break her need to always have dessert at the end of the day. She ate things with natural sugar in them, like fruit, but that was it. She hated it at first, but was pleased with the results by the end of the month.

  3. Curt says:

    In a word, no.
    If we’re all so full of toxins that are killing us then why, on average do we live so long?

    There is zero scientific evidence that clensing does anything at all…

    A recent episode of “This American Life” had a piece on fasting that’s worth listening to.

    If you really and to cleanse, eat nothing but raw veggies for a day. Drink loads of water and plan on an “interesting” bathroom experience later… 😉

  4. Lisa Davis says:

    You want a cleanse? Schedule yourself for a colonoscopy!!

Leave a Reply

