Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Putting the “F” in Friday…

on August 27, 2010

I hate posting back to back – sorry for that!

But, it’s Friday…so it’s weigh in day.  F.

I’m up 3.5 pounds. Today I weighed 373.5.  I think it’s a combo of lack of exercise and dehydration (I’m not abusing my Nalgene like I was in it’s early days), so I am disappointed – but I’m not going to throw myself into traffic….yet. I’ve been here before and the normal reaction should be anger or disgust. Neither will get me any closer to my goal, so I’m going to try being rational and ‘troubleshoot’ my issue rather than lament about it.

Exercising at night / in the morning was the plan du jour – but I only did it once. ONE time. Exercising in the morning? Yeah that happened zero times. I can’t seem to get my as sout of bed- and it’s only going to be worse come the cold weather. If I don’t get in a pattern now…I’ll be singing this same sad song in Decemeber. Sigh. I hate myself for not being able to just put my big girl panties on and fucking get over this hurdle. How hard is it to set an alarm, get your ass out of bed and exercise?! GAH!!!!!! (Answer: Apparently it’s near-fucking-impossible for me!).

Weekend plans – just 1 – Sunday, a fundraiser for a friend of mine to help fight cancer. Huzzah. It’s at a bar, but I don’t plan on drinking. I can’t drink @ 3pm in the afternoon – it makes me too sleepy. So, I have all day Saturday and Sunday morning to get workouts in. I need to do it. NEED! Sadly I have lost access to the gym @ work (there was a waiting list and I didn’t use it enough to keep my access- bummer). That being said, I have 50 million DVDs (including my new Bob Harper DVDs!) and weights. I also have a nifty “ped-e-odometer” (I think pedometer sounds bland, so I changed it. Haha). I could take it and go for a walk. I average 3,000 steps a day (pitiful I know…I have a desk job) ~ so the goal would be as close to 10,000 as possible.

So, rather than just fail at my goals and whine about it – I’m going to ask you for help. I start off with great momentum on Friday…and by Monday it wanes, if not disappears entirely. On Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday, if you think of it – reach out and poke me. Remind me to exercise, and DRINK WATER. I promise, I won’t snap at you – I really, truly need the constant reminders. I practically live on FB – so post it to my page or send me a message! Text me (if you have my number) – drop me an email etc. If I get little pokes and prods I think I will be jolted back into the mode of “oh wait, you’re supposed to be EX-ER-CISING!, duh!”   I’m sure you might be think it’s pathetic to need reminders, but I’ve got no shame. Hell, I blogged publicly that I once weighed 424 pounds…how modest can you be after that?! 😉

Next week I want to be in a much better frame of mine – and on a good track. Oh, I forgot to mention my weekend scare! I had a dangerous rendezvous with low blood sugar last Saturday – that led me to a trip to the regional clinic. Low blood sugar + anemia = a weak Samantha. I didn’t realize I was eating as little during the day as I was….so I’ve rectified that – and I’ve been working on getting more iron naturally (spinach!).

Have a great weekend everyone!

*

P.S. – A few of you have asked for progress pictures- honestly, there is no “progress” to see.  But, I will post some pictures through the years so you can get an idea of where I’ve been sometime next week. Once there is visible progress- I’ll show you. I promise!

P.P.S. – For those of you that asked…I got the nerve to email CuteGuy on Monday about getting lunch. Sadly, I never heard back. Oh well, his loss! 😉 I don’t know that my next crush will end any differently, but I know that I won’t put so much emphasis on my size when thinking about going after what I want. (Hopefully! )

3 responses to “Putting the “F” in Friday…

  1. Cecilia says:

    Gosh, I totally feel you when it comes to the small bits of weight gain. I have a tendency to get really down on myself (which Bill HATES).

    I’m trying to up my water intake as well, and there was some recent article about drinking 2 cups of water when you wake up, and before meals. I’ve also read that sometimes feelings of hunger is just feelings of thirst, so drinking water should be the first course of action before finding a snack.

    Sticking with a routine is your best bet. But first you have to find a routine you like! I find that I don’t really fell like going to the gym and working out on my own, so I look for classes that I like. I’m currently giving Zumba a try – it’s fun and mainly about dancing! Though I get a little critical when they say they’re doing “belly dance” moves. But I will try to give you little reminders to work out when I’m working out 🙂

  2. Memie says:

    Chin up we have our bad days but back on track you go. Have you tried Leslie Sansone’s walk away the pounds for some reason I can do that early in the morning otherwise I am a late afternoon early evening exerciser. You can do it

  3. An exercise tip that might work for you: ditch the exercise tapes, and just bounce around the room while watching TV. You’re going to watch TV anyway, so why not multitask? Plus, if you’re a TV snacker, it helps break that association. On days when I can’t get my ass in gear to do anything more complicated like yoga or my weight routine, that’s what I do, typically to the “Colbert Report”. Although most recently, I did it to “Huge” which was weirdly meta.

    If you need inspiration on what to do, check out a few low-impact aerobics DVDs from the library. Then after you’ve watched them each once, never watch them again. Aerobics instructors — even the low-impact ones — are demons straight from hell and should be avoided at all costs.

Leave a Reply

