Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Interest, Commitment and Tough Love!

on August 29, 2010

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.”   — Ken Blanchard

I’ve loved that quote for a long time – it was from the era when Starbucks had cute sayings on their coffee cups. I was surprised that on Saturday morning, the SparkPeople motivational quote du jour was *exactly* that.

Their take on it:

Are you interested in your goals, or are you fully committed? One of the most common complaints among goal setters nowadays is that there’s just not enough time to get to the ones that “really matter.” The real culprit is that most people don’t raise their goals beyond the level of general interest. They’re waiting for a vague time in the future when other things won’t get in the way or when they wrap things up. In other words, when it’s more convenient. And of course, that time never comes, does it? If your goals are truly that important to you, don’t let anything stand in your way. You have the power to say ‘no’ and to set your priorities. Make that commitment and you automatically create an obligation that you’re bound to fulfill.

I realized after my post on Friday that I wasn’t committed to losing weight. I was interested in it – like I am interested in cooking shows or more recently yoga. But, there was no commitment on my part. I wasn’t giving 110%….hell, I wasn’t giving 50%. That realization, coupled with some *tough love* has kicked my ass into gear (Thanks Ash!). Those of you who have known me for any length of time – or have been following the blog know that this is not my first rodeo. As such, it’s hard to get “excited” about exercising and eating healthy. It really is. The “new crush” high of dieting has long since wore off. At one point on Friday I actually thought to myself “Maybe I’m not *meant* to lose the weight…maybe that’s not my destiny“.

Woah, woah, woah…when did I become such a fucking wimp?!

That’s not who I am. I am someone who keeps trying until I succeed! I am someone who goes after what I want, dammit! I am NOT someone who just says “Oh this is too hard…I guess it’s not meant to be, aw shucks.”

So,now I am 100% in this to win it. I know the road isn’t going to be smooth sailing…but I’m not ready to throw the towel in before I’ve even fought!

I’ve set some goals that I think are realistic. By October 1st I will weigh 360 pounds (currently 373.5 as of Friday) and I will be able to walk 10,000 steps. Right now my baseline is 3000. I got up to 4700 this weekend, so I’ve made good strides. I know this might sound like small goals – but if I start off small I know I can achieve the goal. Start off small, finish big!

Thank you all for your encouragement and support – it amazes me how many friends I have backing me on this! Oh, and thanks for the water reminders! I drank a ridiculous 150 oz. on today! 🙂

2 responses to “Interest, Commitment and Tough Love!

  1. Memie says:

    Awesome, good for you i’m right there with you.

  2. paulcjones says:

    Next year, do the Spartan Race with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

