Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

TGIF and a Weekly Weigh-In

on September 3, 2010

TGIF peeps! Anyone have fun weekend plans? Hopefully nothing will be spoiled by this impending hurricane of DOOM! I am looking forward to some rain, and cooler temperatures. This humidity is KILLING me!

Weekly recap – ate my suggested calories (1400-1800) every day but 1 where I went over without realizing it.  I exercised in some form every single day – averaging 4400 steps per day – and meeting my weekly goal of 5000 steps on Thursday! I was proud of myself for that.  I like the high I have from meeting a mini-goal, and the energy I have from exercising rocks too. I feel more responsive, more ‘on’.  It’s great.

I feel like I am FINALLY on the road to success – little by little.

Can you tell I’m stalling? Mmmm I am. I have bad news and I hate bad news…

Ok fine…fine…I’ll weigh in! Now, keeping ALL of the above in mind – ready?
Today I weigh 375. That means I have gained, yes GAINED 1.5 pounds! How the FUCK is that possible?!?!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!? GAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t lie. I got on and off that fucking scale 12 times. I was in shock. I worked SO HARD….for nothing?!?!?! Dammit! I guess I just need to keep working harder each day – and hopefully next week it pays off. Part of me wants to banish the stupid scale in my trunk for being an asshole…but I won’t. Yet.

On the agenda for this weekend? Nothing fancy. I’m on call for work – so I’m not traveling.  I have a LOT of cleaning to do (my uncle is coming to visit!) and I have to start donating unused things. I have too many DVDs I don’t use/clothes I don’t wear…it’s out of control. I’m hoping to see some friends and maybe try a zumba class (it’s on my radar at least).

I’m still reeling over that weigh-in. I write a lot of my posts in advance and today’s post had a MUCH different tone when I thought I was out of the 370’s for good. Sigh. I know, put my big girl panties on and get over it. It just sucks that I actually EARNED it this week, and didn’t see it.  😦

5 responses to “TGIF and a Weekly Weigh-In

  1. Cecilia says:

    Keep your spirits up!

    That happens to me all the time, too! People will say that it looks like I’m losing weight or my clothes will feel better. But then I’ll get on the scale and be horribly disappointed because I’ve gained a lb or haven’t budged at all. Don’t forget that muscle weighs more than fat!

    Also, 1.5 pounds is really quite minuscule in the scheme of it all. That could have been water retention from all this weather, it could me hormones affecting your weight. I also hear that sometimes people will gain a little bit before losing a lot.

    So don’t fret, my lovely! What matters is that you’re doing things! Keep at it!

  2. Sharon says:

    Yeah dude, keep going I say! I’ve been running 3-4 times a week (with a long run on Saturday where I burn between 800–1200 calories depending on the mileage) and eating Lean Cuisine. I was tired all the time but I was like “oh man, I’m going to have lost so much weight!” and my clothes feel different.

    I weighed myself and i freaking gained 2 pounds. WTF dude. So I worked harder the next week and lost…1/2 a pound. And you know what they said? I didn’t eat ENOUGH! Argh.

    But I’m going to continue running and continue fighting the fight…as should you. I think if we instill these habits, they’ll pay us back in the long run.

  3. Memie says:

    When the weather is super hot like it has been, we all gain a little water weight. You will see the results next weigh in…Keep it up your doing awesome. Hugs

  4. When I was actively trying to lose weight, I weighed myself every morning. I’d get out of bed, use the toilet, take off my pajamas, and stand on the scale. Then I’d plunk my weight into a spreadsheet which not only tracked my daily weight, but also gave me a five-day average. By doing that, I learned that I had a 2-3 pound daily flux in my morning weight. I could be 160 one day, 157 the next, and 158 the day after that. It has a lot to do with how much water you’re carrying at the moment, and how heavy the food currently winding its way through your gut is. So this 1.5 could simply be part of your own flux. Don’t sweat it.

    Also, remember that with more activity, you get more muscle, which is heavier than fat. So it’s also possible that some of that gain is muscular.

    What’s really important is that you’re sticking to your healthy habits! So long as the numbers are moving in the right direction over time, it’s all good.

  5. Curt says:

    Yeah, unfortunately thats how it goes sometimes… I’ve gotten myself onto an “occasional” weigh in. I couldn’t handle the daily/weekly ups and downs. At a guess I now weigh in every other week or so, its like not checking your 401k…

Leave a Reply

