Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Hitting Roadblocks

on September 22, 2010

So, I’m hitting a bit of a roadblock and I need your thoughts/ideas on overcoming it.

Once I’ve gone a whole day of eating healthy – or gotten a good workout in (where I sweat my ass off), I suddenly feel entitled to a reward. It’s like, I’m proud of myself for accomplishing a mini-goal for the day – and suddenly, I want to reward myself with FOOD! GAH! I know it’s stupid, but I can’t seem to break the “food = reward” relationship in my brain.

I remind myself that not every day is my birthday – but even that doesn’t always jump start my brain back into “healthy mode”.

How can I maintain the “high” I have after doing really well – and not ruin it by rewarding myself with food?!

I was chatting about this dilemma with my friend M and she had some funny thoughts on the subject: “Sometimes it’s not even about the reward – its like my body craves some high calorie, slutty food – I’ll get headaches, be in a bad mood, etc until I’m full again…sucks.”

She nailed it. I feel the same way! I either want to reward myself for doing good, feeling like I “earned it” – or I just plain CRAVE it. Like I will DIE if I don’t have it. BLAH! Lately I want salty/crunchy. Salt and I are not really friends…I swell up like the Michelin Man when I eat it -but of course, when I WANT something bad enough, I find a way around it. The next day I pay because I’m so swollen I can barely get my shoes on. Sigh!

So, how can I mentally reward myself – or maintain that “high” without undoing all my hard work?? Suggestions welcomed!

8 responses to “Hitting Roadblocks

  1. Memie says:

    Don’t ever call what you are doing a DIET! The first three letter DIE makes you feel deprived and more apt to sabotage yourself. Have you ever heard of EFT: Emotional Freedom Techniques? They have a book that just came out on Amazon.com last month. It is titled EFT Emotional Freedom Techniques for Weight Loss by Gary Craig $15.00, it deals with deep rooted issues and is about tapping on certain meridian points and stating certain words to decrease the food craving or whatever issues people have, it words like accupuncture or accupressure. There are hundreds of success stories in the book with people having the same issues that you are having. Good luck

  2. Dale Cruse says:

    You can reward yourself, but you have to learn to replace “food = reward” with “something else = reward” in your mind. Other than food, what makes you feel good? New shoes? A glass of Champagne? Singing your favorite song at the top of your lungs? Whatever. It almost doesn’t matter what it is as long as you use it to replace food as your reward.

    I’m a friend of Michelle Yaiser’s & she turned me on to your site. I’m more than 100lbs overweight & am working on it.

    Weight & other events in my life have made me prone to depression. Just this summer I’ve learned to do two things:
    1. Be grateful about more things, which causes me to smile more.
    2. Start a project where I drink a glass of Champagne every day for a year. As I write this, I’m on day 82! For me, “Champagne = reward” & I make myself earn it every single day!

    Find out what your reward is, Samantha. We’ll be reading & cheering you on.

  3. Is it possible for you to reward yourself with a tiny treat? Can you go to the nearest corner store and buy *one* Hershey’s miniature and eat it really slowly? Or get a small bag of pretzels, immediately throw 3/4 of it away in a public trashcan, and eat what’s left? You could also make yourself a fake cocktail by buying plain seltzer water, and filling a glass 3/4 of the way to the top with it, then adding a dash of cranberry juice and squeeze in half a lime. If you treat these mini-treats or fake treats as the real thing, you might be able to trick your cravings.

  4. Badriya says:

    I try to focus on the purity of what I’m feeling following a workout or eating well–if you start to think “but if I eat/drink this, I will destroy this feeling that I value so much” it can really help.

    Another thing that helps minimize rewards is that recently, I was yelled at by a chocolatier for actually biting and chewing a piece of chocolate. Apparently, you are supposed to take a small bite, let it rest on your tongue, and then enjoy it as it slowly melts. I tell you, a very little chocolate goes a very long way when you do that!

  5. CrazyKev23 says:

    I have been recently doing the whole eat right and exercise thing myself I have found the same problem. What I think works is to set goals beyond each day of eat right and exercise. Set a goal to workout 3 or 4 days this week and eat right EVERYDAY. Do that all week. If by the end of the week you have lost weight, then treat yourself to ONE meal OR ONE dessert that is normally outside of your diet (without going overboard). It might be a friday night dinner with friends, or a weekday lunch with co-workers, your choice. To combat over eating with this meal, it helps to either drink a lot of water or eat something healthy like a large apple to fill you up before that reward meal so you are less likely to over eat. (good side tip I have been living by to not overeat. Eat until you feel 80% full)

    Once you have had that meal or even while eating it, tell yourself, “I have to make sure to work this meal off immediately.” Then weigh yourself that next morning and see how much you gained from that one meal and use that as your focus to kick start your next week. Now you have motivation to work your ass off dieting and exercising until you get back to the weight you were at before that reward meal. If you didn’t go overboard, It shouldn’t take more than one to two days, depending on if you work out or not. If it takes another whole week of dieting and exercise to get back to where you were, then you probably went overboard with the reward and you don’t get a reward that week.

    My point being is it is unrealistic to not have something bad for you every once in a while. However, if you are working at being healthy 95% of the time, then that 5% when you eat the candy, buttery, cheesy, crappy food shouldn’t matter.

  6. M says:

    This is M 🙂 I think there are 2 points here – 1: feeling a need for a reward and 2: feeling like your body needs fuel after a workout. For me, its kind of both. You know that shaky feeling you sometimes get after a workout and you just feel kind of weak? Obviously, that’s your body saying it needs fuel, and that’s what makes me tend to eat something higher in calories, which kind of plays to both points. Now I’m trying to eat a protein bar right after a work out to help with this and so far so good! I’m not suddenly starving a few hours later and while I still get that shaky/weak feeling, its not as bad. So, you might want to try that and see if it helps curb the “oh my god, I need a cheeseburger right nowwwwww!” kind of feeling. It might just be your body saying it needs food and it wants it now! I figure I’m probably burning at least 600 calories per workout – that’s a lot considering that I go in the morning and maybe only had coffee and a little breakfast.
    Good read: http://www.ivillage.com/5-best-post-workout-foods/4-a-14243

  7. Curt says:

    Yeah, you get that one figured out and write it up and you’ll make MILLIONS…

  8. Jaylee says:

    I saw something on TV that struck a cord with me. It was one of those weight loss shows where a group of people have to go through drastic lifestyle changes…we’ve seen it all before.

    The very first episode of this show, every person was assigned to throw out anything over X number of grams of sugar. One person completed his assignment, but when approached by the trainer about his experience, he honestly stated that he cheated and ate an oreo–he explained it as his way of saying “goodbye”…like a last kiss during a break up. He had formed an emotional relationship with food…a reward system, a comfort system.

    The trainer immediately had him run up and down his stairs until he worked off the number of calories in an oreo…I think it was 23 times up and down the stairs. Afterwards, he said he hated those oreos. Everytime he thought of an oreo, he remembered how many stairs he had to climb just to work it off.

    My suggestion for you is to look at the number of calories on the package of whatever you are trying to reward yourself with. Now, you can eat the reward, but that will require you to work it off right away. Do you still want that reward? It at least gives you a choice…perhaps knowing you have to work it off right away will force you into making a better choice, or will stop you from taking that reward at all. Or you may choose to take your reward anyway, but at least you are going to work it out right away.

Leave a Reply

