Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Stressed is Desserts Spelled Backwards…

on October 8, 2010

….such a funny idiom eh? This week was super stressful – but I am happy to say I did not turn to desserts for comfort.

However, it’s Friday – which means weigh-in day. I was dreading this yesterday; I’ve had a crappy week. I haven’t been overeating (actually, I’ve been eating less than usual – which is an amazing feat)…but I haven’t exercised nearly as hardcore as I did last week – I was totally unmotivated.  So, the victory is that I’m not emotionally eating – hooray! The disappointment is that I lost 0 pounds this week.

I am exactly 360 – again. GAH!

This weekend I am going to focus on finding some healthy outlets for the things weighing on my mind. My natural reaction when I’m angry/upset/whatever is to eat for comfort. Food makes me feel better. But, like I realized back in Food is Fuel, Not Comfort I know my triggers and need to find a better outlet for them. So, I might not have eaten this week – but I didn’t expend all that pent-up frustration/anger either – so it certainly wasn’t a “win”.I took the things upsetting me, I internalized them and caused myself to be sleepless 4/5 nights and clench my jaw a bunch (which in turn gives me headaches…boo!).

I was thinking about all the crap that went on this week and I wondered “Does stress actually make you fat, or does it just make you eat?‘ – because like I mentioned, I was under on my calorie intake every day this week. Google tells me:

The so-called “stress hormone” cortisol is released in the body during times of stress along with the hormones epinephrine and norepinephrine that constitute the “fight or flight” response to a perceived threat. Following the stressful or threatening event, epinephrine and norepinephrine levels return to normal while cortisol levels can remain elevated over a longer time period. In fact, cortisol levels can remain persistently elevated in the body when a person is subjected to chronic stress.

Cortisol has many actions in the body, and one ultimate goal of cortisol secretion is the provision of energy for the body. Cortisol stimulates fat and carbohydrate metabolism for fast energy, in addition to stimulating insulin release and maintenance of blood sugar levels. The end result of these actions is an increase in appetite. Therefore, chronic stress, or poorly managed stress, may lead to elevated cortisol levels that stimulate your appetite, with the end result being weight gain or difficulty losing unwanted pounds.

Very interesting!

So, the 10 million dollar question is how do you guys cope with stress in a healthy way?

P.S. – I’ll be working on a really fabulous blog post this weekend, look for it Monday. I promise, it will blow your mind! 😉

8 responses to “Stressed is Desserts Spelled Backwards…

  1. Denise Carr says:

    I notice when I am stressed, I either eat to much or eat to little , depending on the situation. Now, Being stressed about a sick family member, has made me increase my food intake. but, lately, Happily, I switched my focus on something else, actually lost weight. yeh for me. I feel better, and have been walking more. I have OCD, and obsess about stuff. its tough, I know, keep up the good work, you are keeping me in check. luv ya.!! the cool fall air helps too!!

  2. Dale Cruse says:

    You may not have lost, but you didn’t really gain either. This is what poker players would call a “push”. Consider it a tie, be thankful you didn’t gain, & get back to it in the coming week. I’ll do the same!

  3. sara says:

    DANCE!
    Meditation.
    and weight lifting. no joke. : )

  4. Kim Curran says:

    still working on that one myself. dance always makes me feel better but I do have to give myself a huge kick in the butt to do it. but it does work. keep a stress journal. write it all down sometimes once you get it out of you it’s gone. you don’t have to write a solution just whats going on and how you feel. good luck. I am almost done with my 21 day metabolism makeover food lovers plan. I’ll let you know my results but I do feel thinner

  5. I’m with Sara on the weight lifting. I can have a hard time being creative enough to dance when I’m super-stressed, but hauling heavy weights is surprisingly therapeutic. I’ll also make time for yoga if I can.

  6. Christine Durand says:

    I do Arts & Craft or cook to release my brain of stressful times, it keeps your hand busy. To avoid emotional eating I do not keep cookies or other comfort goods in the house. The only way I will be allowed to those are if I made them from scratch. So when I can’t shake a cookie craving I prepare the dough and bake them, keep 2 or 3 for myself and bring the rest at the office.

  7. Memie says:

    You didn’t gain so that is a step in the right direction.

  8. Jemileh says:

    well, you asked about stress relief…

    I tend to shop… virtually at this point where I can go nuts and add and add to my shopping cart, and then click out of the website when I see the total. The other thing is dance and listen to music 🙂

    It used to be working out, and then yoga. I’m gonna go back to yoga, hopefully this week. Let’s see what happens with yoga… maybe if I do my school reading on the T.

    Anyway, to the db who left you a nasty comment? Idiot. He can suck it.

Leave a Reply

