Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

How’s Your Health?

on October 20, 2010

Recently someone asked me if I have any health problems from being overweight. Good question – with a complicated answer! Yes and no.

I had my gallbladder removed in 2005 as an emergency procedure (I had gallstones, didn’t know it and a few were stuck in the tract to my pancreas – ouch!). Overall the experience sucked and was seriously painful- but I have known plenty of thin people who have had their gall bladder removed- so I never considered that a “fat issue”. I’ve also had no side effects (thankfully).

I’ve always lived with the out-of-breath-if-I-walk-up-stairs thing all fat people live with – but at my heaviest (424) I found it hard to even WALK. My body was just lethargic. I had no energy to carry myself around. I was depressed- I took a lot of naps. I’m happy to say I’m not longer at that place in my life. I do get winded if I have to climb 3 or more flights of stairs at once – or if I’m wearing crappy flip flops (which I tend to live in during the summer) for long walks. Oh, I still love a good afternoon nap on the weekend, but really who doesn’t? 🙂

A year ago I fell @ Logan Airport while trying to scurry across the street in said crappy flip flops during a rainstorm (stupid, stupid, stupid!). I twisted my ankle. I was in horrible pain for a few days – and then once it began to feel I had a horrible, lingering pain in my heel. Weird, I know. So, weeks go by – the pain gets worse. I worked around it – no heels, no walking anywhere that wasn’t necessary…just Chuck Taylor’s (love, love love those sneakers) and those damn flip flops. Odd, I know. My cheap flip flops were some how molded to my foot and didn’t cause as much pain.  Months later, the pain has now gone to both feet – and it annoying as hell. When I wake up, I can barely walk. If my bed wasn’t so high, I would probably crawl out. I’ve seen my doctor 3 times. The collective consensus? I’m fat. Well no fucking shit! I was fat 10 years ago – and this didn’t happen. I think it’s plantar fasciitis – and stretching my calves helps a lot. Flat shoes help too – so I made sure I have a few comfy pairs for the fall. Thought I will miss high-heeled boots….a lot. I’m hoping that continuous stretching and losing weight helps. I wish I could find a HELPFUL doctor-  but it seems that no matter what my ailment, my weight must be to blame.

I don’t like blaming my problems on my size- so why does everyone around me want to? I have had chronic hives for years (since I was 3 or 4). They come in bouts- I’ll get them and they won’t go away for weeks/months….then I don’t get them again for a year. Sometimes it’s stress, sometimes it’s a change in allergies (a few years back I developed a serious allergy to coconut – which is in EVERYTHING). My allergist when I was young prescribed Atarax- it worked like a charm. As an adult I had to see 2 allergists and my regular doctors before I could convince someone that my chronic hives were NOT related to my weight, and I needed drugs. I finally got Xzyal – which works well, but it hella expensive and not covered by my health insurance. Luckily, I have been good at avoiding most things that cause me hives.

So, there ya have it – foot pain, hives…nothing life-threatening. I don’t have asthma, diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure (actually, my BP is low!) etc. I’m very lucky!

 

5 responses to “How’s Your Health?

  1. Badriya says:

    While plantar fasciitis can be exacerbated by extra weight, it is caused by a number of other factors–I would blame those flipflops, first and foremost (my podiatrist said he’d like to see them banned, that’s how destructive he considered them for feet). If you can get a referral to a podiatrist from your doctor, I would do so. That way you can get advice on the right kind of shoes/insoles for your feet, strengthening exercises, etc. If your primary care doctor is just saying lose weight to cure the PF, that’s not a constructive approach. Once those foot muscles are damaged, it takes active work to fix them. Good luck, I know your pain!

  2. If it is plantar fasciitis, here’s what worked for me. I got this tip from a doctor who had PF and was also a runner, and this got him running again.

    Everyone will tell you to ice the soles of your feet, but this doctor swore by heating them before getting out of bed in the morning. The reason it hurts so much first thing is that you’ve had your feet pointed all night, and the fasciia are stuck to your heel in that position. When you put your feet on the ground, you’re ripping them loose. Yuck, right? But by warming the soles of your feet, you loosen the fasciia. Since I don’t have easy access to a heating pad, I accomplished this by vigorously rubbing my hands against the soles of my feet for several minutes before getting out of bed every morning. It’ll still hurt some when you get up, but not as much, and not as long. Also, wear supportive, flat shoes while you’re having flare-ups. Going barefoot is apparently almost as bad as wearing heels.

    And for the record, I haven’t had a flare-up in several years. After a year of treating flare-ups with heat, my PF went into hibernation.

  3. Kelly says:

    I got insoles for my running sneakers after years of swearing them off- and they are great. I’ve broken and sprained my left ankle about 8 times in my whole life and running always irritated the scar tissue. Since investing in good quality sneakers as well as insoles I no longer have ankle issues and am running more now than I did in high school. I understand your love of flip-flops, I can’t give up going barefoot either- just don’t wear then in the rain!

  4. shiann82 says:

    I get pain in my heels if I’m walking or standing for long periods of time or when I’ve finished a long workout. Sometimes it links to the bottom of my calves. It’s a total pain in the ass. It feels like something is trying to “compact” my ankles and heels… arrgghh! lol

    Similar or different?

    The only way I can release some of the pain, is if my other half massages my heels. He makes a “C” with his thumb and index finger and lightly squeezes the heel.

  5. Good news, I made a podiatrist appt. and I got inner solves from New Balance that ROCK. They feel good in my sneakers and in my flat shoes. Yay!

Leave a Reply

