Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Strained Muscles and Short-changing Inclinations

on November 3, 2010

So, I have encountered my first exercise/dance related injury – and man, it sucks! I hurt my hip muscle on my right hip lifting weights (errrrrr using weight machines) last Tuesday. Problem is, I couldn’t figure out which machine inflicted the pain. Did I do too much weight on the Hip Adducter/Abducter? Did I increase my reps too high on the Leg Press? I’m still unsure.

It hurt like hell Weds/Thurs (it even hurt to sleep!) – and a healthy diet of Motrin and ice/heat and stretching seemed to help….until Saturday. While popping and locking @ a performance, I did a hip bump and felt a very sharp pain in my hip. I kept going, finished my piece (and loved it, I’ll post it once I get the video!) and then limped to the dressing room. Walking up and down stairs had been excruciating  for a few days ~ but I’m starting to feel better overall.

My initial Fat Chick reaction was “Well I guess I’ll be avoiding workouts for a few days!”…..wait, no. That stupid mentality is what got you fat to begin with! Sheesh! Yes, I have an injury but that doesn’t mean I need to throw the towel in on all my workouts. By giving up, or half-assing it – I’m just short-changing myself. What a novel idea eh?It makes me sad that my first inclination was to give up and just admit defeat, not to find a work-around for my injury. But, I guess not every lesson is learned the first time around.

So, I’ve been doing all my upper body/abs / legs exercises and just avoiding the ones that inflict pain (hips/leg press). I consulted a friend who is a dancer, and has recovered from a serious muscle tear and she recommended seeing a chiropractor stat – which I have never done before. So, I’m looking into that. Does anyone see one a regular basis? Has it helped your healing? I’ll be perfectly honest, I’m not a huge fan of doctors overall.

Question is – when do I go back to using the leg press/ hip machines @ the gym? I know my body, and I know not to do more than feels right…but how will I know when my hip is ok?  To compensate for doing less circuits (since I am missing out on 3 machines) should I be working the rest of my body harder? More reps? More weights?These are all questions I would normally ask a trainer, but I’m not seeing one (and don’t have the budget to see one in the foreseeable future).  So, I will ask my smart readers for advice instead! 🙂 What do you guys think? Should I wait until seeing a chiropractor before making a decision?

 

5 responses to “Strained Muscles and Short-changing Inclinations

  1. Curt says:

    I strained my rotator cuff a couple years ago and the Chiropractor helped a lot. I was surprised, at first I thought it wasn’t really his ting but I’d recommend him to anybody.
    Not all chiropractors are the same though, you may have to try a couple before you find one thats right for you. My wife and I don’t use the same chiropractor although we’ve each tried the other’s.

  2. Memie says:

    You danced so phenomenal I didn’t even notice you were limping. Wishing you a quick healing.

  3. Denise Carr says:

    There is nothing wrong with letting yourself heal a few days, are you sure it isn’t sciatica, I have been getting that since my 30’s. you have to work around it. and maybe walk if anything else hurts. just walk. Your still moving. we all get these injuries now and again. Good luck!!

  4. teresa says:

    Hi! I love your blog and I love that photo of you too.
    I’m glad you know your body and won’t push past what feels okay. I do believe in chiropractors very much. They’re not like “doctors”. You just have to find a good one. Ask around. It can make a huge difference.
    If it’s just a strain, epsom salt baths could help and so could some gentle stretching (always staying aware of what feels okay and never “pushing through the pain”).
    I think it’s really important to let it heal completely. You seem to know plenty of other ways to get a full workout in the meantime.
    Good Luck, I really hope it’s better soon.

  5. Marta says:

    I know nothing about gym machines…I just want to say, I can’t wait to see you dance! 🙂 Post a video soon! 🙂
    *HUG*

Leave a Reply

