Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

To Let Go….or Not.

on November 5, 2010

No weigh-in today (not until December 1st, remember?) – but I did want to give a little status update. 🙂

Week was good over-all I got to the gym, I did a great series of stretches for my hip (and it’s feeling A LOT better!) and I started weeding through clothes. I am a pack-rat ~ and I have things in size 26/24/22/20/18….it’s kinda nuts.  This weekend the plan is to discard (and donate of course) things I will not ever wear. To be frank, I bought some of these skinny clothes 5 years ago. No lie.  So, styles change – my taste has changed…it’s time to reevaluate.

Now, my second clothing dilemma is how long to hold on to my “too big” clothes for. I need to take a tuck in the waist band of all my jeans this weekend (woo!) – but how long do I keep things like bulky tops or shoes that are too big? Little known weight-loss fact – your feet change size. In my case, it was pretty drastic. I used to be a 9.5 shoe, and now my size 8.5’s fit! So, in some cases I can add inner soles and make the shoes that are too big fit….but in other cases I think it’s time to donate them to Salvation Army.

This is a scary spot to be in. I have donated “too big” clothes more times than I care to recount. So, part of me is petrified to donate them; then not meet my weight-loss goals and have to buy fat clothes again. Another part of me says “But this time you’re sticking with it! You’ve consistently lost weight every month this year!“.  (huge!)

What do you guys think?

This weekend I need to kick it up @ the gym. I built 2 new workouts for myself to try Saturday and Sunday ~ and I have my very last ATS bellydance class for Level 1! I’m so excited. This class has been a godsend in more ways than one.  Our next session will be on Thursday nights,  which will be hard once a month w/ my pager rotation, but I’ll make it work.

Oh, and I have given up alcohol until Christmas. Truthfully I don’t drink often (only when I go out, never at home) so it’s not THAT big of a deal, but it’s one more way to save calories. 🙂

Lastly, here’s a snapshot taken last weekend after a bellydance show. I’ll post the performance once I have the video!

8 responses to “To Let Go….or Not.

  1. Amanda Kelly says:

    You go girl! I, too, have started taking charge of my weight. I am training to jog/walk a 5k on 11/20 and took my first yoga class this morning – I am feeling pretty good! Next step is to get back into bellydance classes. When are we going to grab that cup of coffee? Or should I say, tea? 😉

    Hugs!
    -Amanda

  2. Curt says:

    Now that you mention it I think I’m going to spend some time getting rid of “fat” clothes… If I allow myself to revert I probably will.

  3. sara says:

    what both a physical and emotional breakthrough to LET THESE clothes GO.

    You are a new person, with new ways, new habits, a new life and a new body.

    I am so inspired and in awe of your strength Samantha.
    You are getting to acknowledge the new woman inside and its ok to say goodbye to the old sizes, they served their purpose, and now they can help someone else. Cut the cord girl. You won’t be going back to them with your
    empowered self.
    You have so much to look forward to.
    LOVE.

  4. Heatherqamar says:

    I think sending them on is a great way to celebrate your achievement and solidify your commitment. You are evolving – still you the beautiful spirit inside, but metamorphosing on the outside like your beautiful dance at Raks Spooki. Time to try on those new wings and fly into your future, no matter where it takes you, and let others benefit from the gift you give of donating your old finery.

    I LOVE your pic with the sparkles, by the way – you really know how to rock them! You ARE beautiful! (the girls second this!)

    Hugs,
    Heather

  5. nate says:

    Do not plan for failure, or you will get what you planned for

  6. Shannon says:

    Always keep clothing that is one-size-up for hormonal fluctuations.
    I always held on to some and then after I gave birth, I didn’t have to buy new clothes – I had at least one pair of pants/jeans in each size until I got down to where I was before.

    I hate it when I’m having a “fat day” – you know those days where you aren’t actually gaining weight but either water retention or something else makes your pants too tight – and if you don’t have anything to put on, you have to be uncomfortable all day.

    No one is ever so skinny (I’m pretty sure) that they’re never going to have a “fat day”. It’s just that the size changes. I always have jeans and a pair of work pants in one size up kicking around.

Leave a Reply

