Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Giving Yourself 100%

on November 15, 2010

Had a great gym weekend – who says that?! This guy! πŸ™‚

I went with my brother on Saturday and played trainer. Setting up his machines, pushing him to exceed his reps. I was so proud of him – twice he said “This feels light, you can add more weight” and twice more he said “I can do more reps, keep counting”. πŸ™‚

Later, my mom and I went for our workouts and she schooled me on not giving 100% effort on two machines (leg extension where you work your upper legs) and glute machine (where you work your butt and the back of your leg). God knows as a pear-shaped ALL my weight is below my waist. So, I needed the reminder to put in maximum effort on those machines. I’m definitely still feeling it today. It actually hurts to sit!

So, the lesson learned this weekend is you can’t expect someone else to put in 100% when you’re only giving 75%. My workouts this week should ALL leave me hurting. If they don’t, I’m not pushing hard enough.

I’m planning to add some balance ball exercises and some free weights to my upcoming workouts. I like switching things up so I don’t get bored. Regardless of what I end up doing, I need to keep reminding myself that each workout is an investment in my health. If I want my body to be strong and thinner, I need to push harder and ignore the “Oh it’s too hard, just give up” voice in my head.

We’ve begun family Xmas shopping and I picked out some hella cute jeans from Macy’s. I got them in a size smaller than normal – and once they arrive I’m praying they fit….we’ll see!

Cute huh?

(I can’t wear heels….but they do look extra cute with heels!)

I treated myself to new shoes this weekend (flats)- adorable right? I have a thing for studs and grommets. πŸ™‚

I was also thrilled to discover a bunch of CUTE sweaters in my dresser in size 18/20, so come Dec/Jan I will have a plethora of cute things to wear again. I always think it’s funny when I hear fat women say they can’t find clothes they like or that they hate shopping. I love it! I pride myself on finding bargains, and looking cute. But, I know shopping can suck – and I’ve learned which stores will just be let downs over the years.

I always fantasized about winning the lottery and designing a plus-size line of clothes that included all the things I could never find. It could still happen! πŸ™‚

Looking forward to the week it’s going to be odd, I’m working 12pm-9pm (instead of my normal 9am-6pm) so I have to switch my errands and gym sessions to the morning instead of at night. It will be interesting to see how I feel by Friday! For those of you work do work these later shifts, do you like it? I feel backwards! πŸ™‚

 

3 responses to “Giving Yourself 100%

  1. Cecilia says:

    Yay! Love this post!
    You’ve got great timing, girl! Just when I started to feel kind of lazy..this is getting me off my ass!

    I actually prefer working out in the morning. I think it really revs you up for your day, and it’s harder to make up excuses for it. It really gets me more energized for all the things I need to deal with. Plus, it helps to get your metabolism going faster!

    Speaking of which..it’s time I get back to my morning exercise routine πŸ™‚

    • Did you go work out? πŸ™‚

      I agree, morning workouts def. rev me up for the day…but in my regular schedule I have to be up @ 5:15am and sometimes that just does not happen. Haha. That being said, I don’t mind exercising before bed – it helps me sleep better.

  2. Memie says:

    Awesome, keep it up. Nice to see your family involved in your workouts. Thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

