Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Are YOU Ready?

on November 19, 2010

It’s FRIDAY! My week of doing the horrid 12pm-9pm shift is over! YAY! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m happy to say I am wearing jeans today that I have not worn in TWO YEARS. Hell to the YES! I probably should have weighed in…but I didn’t. This might seem strange but I don’t really care about the number on the scale. I’m more excited about FEELING smaller and stronger, and how my clothes fit. I’ll weigh-in on Dec 1st, as planned.

At the encouragement of Alexis; I borrowed “Are You Ready?” by Bob Harper from the library. I always knew there was many facets to losing weight, but the book really brought them all to light. So, I thought I’d share the good and the bad from the book in my humblest of opinions. If you’ve read it, let me know your thoughts!

The first part of the book is all about assessing the every important question….”Are you ready (to do this!)?” – because honestly, you have to be in the right mindset to succeed. Like I mentioned, I’ve attempted this journey several times before. But, I’ve never been open to embracing the process soup to nuts. If you’re just going through the motions, you won’t get the results you desire. Trust me.

It seemed weird at first that there would be emotional “stuff” to deal with when losing weight….but there is! It’s crazy! You realize that you are not defined by your size (regardless of if that size is a 2 or a 28), or the food you eat etc. You also learn that you will have to deal with bad days, unrequited love, empty bank accounts etc. WITHOUT turning to cupcakes. That part is HARD. Food is a crutch ~ and letting go of that safety net isn’t instantaneous. Letting go of your bad habits won’t happen overnight, it’s something you’ll need to work at each day until it becomes easier. Even Bob said that he emotionally eats on occasion. So, no one is perfect.

I think I could have used this book back in June when I started to analyze where I was and what I wanted, but I’m glad I read it either way.

The good:

*He emphasizes that this is a LIFESTYLE change, not a diet. We all know, DIETS DON’T WORK. Fin. So, you truly need to change the way you live today, tomorrow, forever in order to be successful.

*The nutrition plan does make sense, and helps ease someone into healthy eating.He mentioned a caloric range that seems normal (from my research/ WW/ training sessions) and mentions things that might be obvious, like avoiding alcohol and excess caffeine.

*The exercise section breaks it down into absolute basics – and he stresses the importance of walking. This is where Alexis began. I love walking outside, I do not love walking on a treadmill – but I can deal.

*There are PICTURES of the exercises! High-five for that Bob. Usually there’s some shitty diagrams where you think you knee and elbow are supposed to touch…but who knows. All the movements mentioned are things I only know to do with machines, it’s nice to know how to do them with just dumbbells and a big exercise ball.ย  He offers suggestions for newbies, and ways to make the moves harder once you’ve mastered them. One thing I will add – you should have someone supervise you when you begin these kind of workouts to watch your form. You can easily torque the wrong way and injure yourself.

*His workout breakdown seems very manageable: 3 days of weight circuits, 2 dedicated cardio days, 1 dedicated ab day. Currently I don’t have a workout dedicated to my core muscles, but I think I will incorporate one into my regimen using one of my favorite DVD’s:ย  Bellydance Core Fitness along with some weights and some Pilates.

*He goes into depth about letting go of the negative emotions, forgiving yourself for past mistakes and moving on. As I explored in my last entry, you can’t negative self-talk – it doesn’t get you anywhere but stuck in neutral. ๐Ÿ™‚

The bad:

*On page 87 he says “Muscle weighs more than fat“. No, no it does not. 1 pound of muscle is the same as 1 pound of fat. However, muscle is more dense, so it takes up less space. Think of it like this, envision a pound of clouds and a pound of brick side by side – clouds take up WAY more space right? Of course. But, 1 pound = 1 pound = 1 pound. Someone who is very muscular and weighs 175 pounds will appear smaller than someone who weighs 175 and has a higher ratio of fat. Fat takes up more space than muscle.ย  I’m getting off my soapbox…I promise. I just HATE when I hear that kind of misinformation. ๐Ÿ™‚

*I prefer to see a DVD, or watch someone do an exercise rather than read about it (nit-picky I know). But, if this book is all you have – it will work. Bob recently put out his own set of DVDs (Bob’s DVDs). I got all 4 for $30 (which is a steal) and so far I like 3/4. I’m not a huge fan of the yoga one, but I can’t put into words what I don’t like about it. I own all of the Biggest Loser DVDs and I’m not a huge fan of any of them sadly.

All in all I would give the book a solid B. I like a lot of what Bob had to say.

Looking forward, I have 12 days until my weigh-in. Plenty of time to get lots of hardcore workouts in! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “Are YOU Ready?

  1. alexis mundis says:

    I โค bob and I'm so glad you picked this book up. It really is a great book for people just starting out – I still love this book! I heart you Bob Harper haha

  2. Julie says:

    THANK YOU for the commentary on how fat does not weigh more than muscle. They weigh the same no matter what anyone says. Such a pet peeve.

Leave a Reply

