Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Dec 1st Weigh-in….

on December 1, 2010

Well, it’s December 1st. That means weigh-in day….and I’m pretty pissed.

In the ENTIRE month of November I lost 8 pounds. I’m at  342.

EIGHT! How in HEAVENS is that possible?!?!?!?!?!?! I went to the gym SEVENTEEN TIMES! I logged 50 miles on the treadmill and according to fitday.com I burned 34,000 calories (which is roughly 10 pounds).

I’m just confused, and sad. I thought weighing in less frequently would make me feel better- and it hasn’t. I feel terrible now.

If I step back, I feel STRONGER, my clothes fit better, etc etc. But, why aren’t I seeing that progress on the scale?! I don’t know.

I’m going back to weighing in every week – and I am making my December fitness challenge to log 1 hour of INTENSE cardio every day until Jan 1st- every on Xmas! 🙂

 

11 responses to “Dec 1st Weigh-in….

  1. Cecilia says:

    Yo!!! 8 lbs in a month is AWESOME!!!!!
    I know how you feel, tho…oh, all too well…
    Still…8 lbs….AND after Thanksgiving Week…I mean…
    You Rock!!!

  2. Beth says:

    8lbs in a month is a healthy weight loss. That’s roughly 2lbs/week which is the upper end of the healthy loss range. So frankly, you did great. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Be proud of the 8lbs! It is 8lbs you will never see again. You embarked on a journey to a healthier life style and you are making that happen. 🙂

  4. Curt says:

    8 is fantastic! Keep up the good work. I’m glad to see your disappointment translate into enthusiasm instead of giving up.

  5. Rochelle says:

    Although I can understand your disappointment at the numbers, if you feel stronger, better, and your clothes are looser, that IS improvement. It sucks after working so hard to not see more than 8 pounds down, but in the end, what is more important, feeling better, seeing the difference, or a digital readout?
    {hugs}
    -Rochelle
    8-|

  6. M says:

    I agree with everyone else – 2lbs a week is a healthy way to lose weight. I’ve been trying to focus more just on the lifestyle change than the weight, but I know it can be frustrating. Keep up the good work though!

  7. nate says:

    scales are for fish. also remember, as you build muscle, it weighs more

  8. What other people have said about muscle. While you’re in the serious muscle-building phase of your weight loss plan, you might want whip out the tape measure to do a monthly measure of your least-favorite body parts to see how much they’re shrinking size-wise.

  9. Jaylee says:

    Perhaps you are feeling disappointed in your results, but let me put it in perspective. A year ago, did you lose 8 pounds in a month? You have come a long way, baby, be proud. So it wasn’t the 10 you were hoping for…but 8 is great, and your feelings of disappointment have fueled your fire to work even harder. And that is evidence of your journey right there…you want to work harder to attain your goal, not give up! I bet the old Samantha would have thrown her hands in the air and said “nope, its too hard.” (I know I do all the time when things get tough for me.) The new Samantha says “F these results, Imma do it better.” Way to go!

    I find you to be a great inspiration. You are doing things that I am not brave or motivated enough to do. You may think of me as not having as much to worry about in terms of weight, but believe me honey, I have issues with food, exercise, motivation, and self-esteem. I can relate to almost everything you say here in terms of your relationship with food, and negative self-talk and the like. But I am not strong enough yet to even try to get up and do anything about it. But You are. I feel like an ass sitting here and complaining about myself and being unwilling to do anything about it when you are out there doing something amazing. YOU are AMAZING. I wish I were you. Seriously. I would take an 8 pound win any day. Jeez, I would take a 1 pound win at this point too. 8 pounds is freaking amazing! Love you, girl. You are doing it. You are doing it. You are doing it.

  10. Badriya says:

    You know as well as everybody else that muscle is *denser* than fat, so for sure, go by the tape measure and not the scale! More importantly, judge your progress by how you feel.

  11. Thank you all, I sound like a brat for being disappointed- I’m just always striving for perfection. When I come up short, I don’t handle it well!

    Your comments truly made my day!
    XOX

Leave a Reply

