Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Pneumonia is NO fun!

on December 17, 2010

So, I haven’t been posting much at all – and I do apologize.

I have pneumonia! Crazy right? I had it once in first grade, and don’t really remember it.

I’ve been coughing for 10 days – and when I finally went to the regional clinic, they sent me for a chest x-ray. Sure enough, the cough + wheezing wasn’t just seasonal – it was pneumonia. I’m on anti-biotics and cough medicine…infact I have so many pills to take that I feel like I’m in a nursing home! LOL.  I’ve also been pumping myself full of liquids and antioxidants.

I’m doing much better than I was on Monday – but I’m still coughing and wheezing, and I’m still stuffy. Luckily, my company has been fabulous and I’ve been working from home all week. Having no sick time left, I was worried about taking time off.

I haven’t been eating much, I really don’t have a huge appetite. Sadly, I also haven’t been to the gym for almost 2 weeks. I feel weak! I miss my weight routine. 😦 On the upside, I haven’t had coffee in TEN DAYS! Crazy right?? I think I’m over my addiction!  Crazy!

According to the doctor I should be off the meds in another week – but I may have the cough for up to 4 more weeks. BLAH! Trust me, this is no ordinary cough….I sound like a demented seal choking on a fish.

So, I’m not sure when it’s safe to go back to working out….thoughts? I figure that I should wait until I’m free of sniffles/sneezing/aches – but should I really wait until the cough is completely gone?! That seems like a long time…

I’m a little annoyed with pneumonia  (and not just because of the spelling) because it’s putting a kink in all my plans. I’ve missed 2 parties and 2 fun bellydance events; including my beloved ATS class! Wah.

Dammit pneumonia, can’t you have come at a time when I have nothing going on? (I tried bargaining, it didn’t work).

So, until further notice I’m resting, liquidating my body and coughing. Like a seal. 🙂

6 responses to “Pneumonia is NO fun!

  1. Memie says:

    Sorry to hear you are not feeling. Get Well Soon.

  2. Melanie says:

    Sorry to hear that! I get walking pneumonia every 2-3 years, no fun, so I can sympathize. Take care of yourself, rest a lot, and don’t push it, no matter how it sucks to miss things. As for working out- usually the suggestion is to hold off when it’s a lung/chest thing- so don’t try to do too much too quickly. We want you back as good as new! *hugs*

  3. Denise Carr says:

    GET BETTER,!!! SOUP, SOUP, SOUP!!!

  4. Alexis says:

    You can work on strength training and muscle building while your healing up. Don’t be afraid to get back into the gym just don’t hit it full force with the cardio until you can breathe easily. There is a lot you can do outside of cardio. And you can always focus really hard on the food if you aren’t able to burn the calories. Nursing your body while it heals will help speed up the recovery.

  5. Curt says:

    For a small amount of dark humor consider that while you’re not eating your body is still burning calories…
    When I got out of the hospital back in January I had no appetite and I lost ~ 5 pounds. Not the best way to lose ’em but I’ll take what I can get.

  6. crazykev23 says:

    Awesome to hear about he coffee! keep it up. hope you feel better

Leave a Reply

