Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Catching Up!

on December 22, 2010

Christmas is in just 3 days and it feels surreal. Somehow when you’re sick it’s like time stops. Ya know? I missed 2 weeks of running around etc. and I can’t believe the end of the year is fast approaching. I’m not ready!

It snowed here in the burbs – just a little dusting and frankly – I’m fine with that amount of snow. 🙂
I don’t ski or snowshoe or snowboard…so really snow is just a hindrance of fun plans and a pain in the ass to drive in. Of course, driving my little faux-sportscar in New England is my own fault but, I digress!

I am clear of coughing and think it’s safe to say I’m not sick anymore. I have a bit of wheezing here and there; but I’m 10000% better from where I was. Woo!

I’m looking forward to getting back to the gym tomorrow and fully prepared for it to hurt like HELL. But, no pain no gain I guess!

During the time I’ve been sick I haven’t been exercising like I mentioned – but I also haven’t been eating badly. No snacks (just not hungry), no coffee and no alcohol. So, I’m feeling good. I’m also noticing that my “fat jeans” are too big – even straight from the dryer they are baggy. Yes! So, I’m confident that I have lost weight this month. I guess getting sick was a weird blessing in disguise I missed out on parties….but I avoided eating foods I might have cheated on!

I found an entry in my LiveJournal from this time last year – and I said “God I wish I could just get a handle on my eating and exercise again in 2010. I feel so hopeless!”.

I’m happy to say I defintely don’t feel hopeless anymore! I might not have hit my goal for the year (100 pounds) – but since I’ve been actively working at this for 6-7 months…I’m OK with that. I defintely lost at least 80 pounds and that rocks! I rejoined the gym. I forgave myself for quitting my job and failing at a big move. I focused on my dancing, and actually performed 9 times this year! I traveled. I met new friends and reconnected with old ones – overall I’d call 2010 a success. I think I’ve grown as a person and I’m ready to take on the challenges 2011 brings!

Oh I’m still crafting my perfect resolutions so I’m not ready to post them yet – but soon! I also want to do this exercise I saw on my friend Pamela’s blog.

A letter to your future self – and one to your past self. It sounds like a great idea, right?! 🙂

4 responses to “Catching Up!

  1. Jaylee says:

    Good luck in 2011, sweetie! Like I said last time I saw you at Kami’s workshop, you are looking great. Maybe you aren’t noticing it as much as I can, but I can definitely see you are getting slimmer. Your incredible efforts have been paying off– emotionally, spiritually, and physically. SO proud of you, and can’t wait to hear more about your journey. Through reading your blogs, I am starting to feel the urge to get off my couch and start taking care of myself too. You rock, chicky! HUGS and LOVE to you!

  2. Jim says:

    Pneumonia made me lose weight, too. It’s easy enough to put it back on, once you’re well, though. Keep the high spirits! We love you!

  3. Memie says:

    Fantastic on reaching a lot of your goals this year. Onward to the next. Hugs and Happy Holidays.

  4. pameluna says:

    80 pounds is amazing, Sam, you are an inspiration! Here’s to an even more fabulous 2011! Happy Holidaze..

Leave a Reply

