Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“I Used to Be Fat”

on January 3, 2011

Happy New Year everyone!!! Can you believe it’s 2011?! It just seems crazy. 🙂

I am happy to say I have already gotten an amazingly kickass workout in and I’m starting on a new challenge. 30 DVDs in 30 Days. I have WAY too many DVDs and I figure it I try one each day I can do a little give-a-way in Feb. of the ones that are not for me. Additionally, having a DVD challenge will help me when it’s hella cold and I don’t want to go to the gym. I have new kettle bells from my bro and a yoga mat – I have NO excuse not to rock and roll this winter!

I have mentioned before that I am a self-proclaimed weight-loss show junkie right? Well, I’ve been sucked into a new one. “I Used to Be Fat” premiered on MTV last week and follows an 18-year old as they lose weight the summer before college. I can relate to this desire – I remember graduating HS being well over 200 pounds and wishing I could reinvent myself before starting college. I went to a small, artsy school and I have often wondered how different my life would have been if I started school at a normal size and not so obese. But, alas…I didn’t and here we are discussing it 10 years later.

So, the first episode of this show followed Gabriella – you can read all about her here. She kicked ass. In 111 days she lost a PERSON (90 pounds). That’s amazing. It took me 365 days to do that – so I was certainly inspired.

A few things that I loved about the show: while she had a trainer, it was a very no bullshit trainer. Several times the trainer said “this is hard, if it was easy you wouldn’t be here“. Amen sista! Gabriella had to learn how to eat right, and how to co-exist with a family who ISN’T eating right. Just because you’re losing weight doesn’t mean the world is going to stop to accommodate you!  I also loved that she had a goal and counted down to it. Each day she ripped a giant poster-board sized calendar (starting at day 111). I think I need to implement something like that! So, I’m going to be counting down to Tribal Fest  and as of today I have 132 days. I’m not sure I can lose another 90 pounds….but I think I could rock out for sure. Actually, maybe I could….that’s only an average of 5 pounds a week! Hmmmm!

One more thing I liked about the show – she made sacrifices to reach her goal. She said herself – most people are partying and living it up during the summer after senior year. She was exercising every day and eating right. It might have been hard, but hard work pays off! You watch her sweat, cry and struggle through the emotional part of losing weight (like learning to stand by to her overbearing mother, who I wanted to bitch slap).

Here she is before and after:

Amazing huh?!?!

Anyone else watch the show? Do you find weight-loss shows to be motivational?

There’s another on A&E starting soon, “Heavy” – I’ll DVR it for sure and report back on my opinions! 🙂

Have you guys started working on your resolutions yet?? I hope so – no time like the present!

XO

*S

8 responses to ““I Used to Be Fat”

  1. Christine says:

    I watched it, it was FANTASTIC! I loved the part too, when she was talking about her friends partying when she couldn’t, and she said “I sacrificed one summer for myself” because even though the journey is long, and what you learn is FOREVER, it still is a short amount in your life so that you can benefit for the rest of it!!

  2. Stasia says:

    This post just made me get off my ass and go to the gym. When the weather gets nice, can we do some outdoorsy exercise together, like finding a scenic route to walk?

  3. Lisa Davis says:

    I watched about 1/2 of the show … I, too, was really impressed with the trainer. She truly wanted Gabby to succeed, unlike Gabby’s mother. I was so incensed by that woman and truly believe that she is the whole root of Gabby’s eating problem. What kind of mother would use trickery and shame to show Gabby she needs to lose weight!!!!! I’m sure she dragged poor Gabby down in all facets of her young life. Mom needs to go for councelling.

    Stepping down, now,
    L.

  4. D.James says:

    Im a lil pissed that everyones gonna have a fat show starting not I guess thats like the trendy 2011 thing to do is fat shows

  5. I used to read you blog faithfully, I’m sorry I ever stopped! Now I remember what got me addicted to begin with.

Leave a Reply

