Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“Nothing Tastes As Good As Thin (might) Feel”

on January 5, 2011

My New Year is off to a good start with working out – but I’m afraid I’m struggling with my nutrition.

I know what I need to eat, I know what will make me stronger and healthier and fuel my body to lose weight….but of course that is not what I crave. Who craves healthy food?! (If you’re shaking your head saying “I do” please don’t tell me, k?).

I have spent all week convincing myself to choose Greek yogurt and fresh fruit over crap or to savor my steak and roasted brussels sprouts when I *really* want quesadillas and a margarita. Ack.

Do saying things like “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels!” and “A minute on the lips is a lifetime on the hips” really work for anyone? So far I’m not convinced.

As previously mentioned, I have never been thin. How do I know that “thin” tastes better than crème brulée??

Tonight I had a chance to go out with friends for dinner, but I had to turn them down. As much as I love being social….I feel like I’m on a see-saw right now. If I go out I’ll hit rock bottom and wind up drinking and having dessert on top of a meal I shouldn’t be eating to begin with. Sigh. Must.Stay.Focused!

So, rather than binge eat…I’m going to post pictures of all the things I wish I was eating – and what I’m eating instead. Maybe I can reflect on my healthy choices and feel better? Maybe if you’re on a diet you’ll see this and want to stab me. I apologize. Don’t look!

What I WISH I was eating:

Hot chocolate with whipped cream!

What I am ACTUALLY eating:

Starbucks Iced Mocha (non-fat, no whip)

 

What I WISH I was eating:


Buffalo Bleu Krinkle Cut Chips

 

What I am ACTUALLY eating:


Roasted Brussel Sprouts

 

What I WISH I was eating:

 

Ice Cream Sundaes (so delicious they have RAINBOW backgrounds!)

What I am ACTUALLY eating:


Edy's All Fruit Bars in Pineapple (delicious! but not a sundae....)

 

What I WISH I was eating:

 

Belgium waffles with strawberries and chocolate sauce....mmmmm

What I am ACTUALLY eating:

Chobani Pomegranate Greek Yogurt (my fav. flavor!)


Hmmmmm…..I don’t think that made me want those things any LESS – but it did make me feel better to know I’m resisting temptation.

Sometimes I wish I had the “montage” button for my life. You could fast-forward through the days/weeks/months of being good, viewing them like a montage in a movie and see the end result of your hard-work!

Alas, such button has not been invented.

How do you guys deal with cravings? I’m not sure I can trust myself to have a “little” of something right now – I might fall off the bandwagon and just eat it all.

 


11 responses to ““Nothing Tastes As Good As Thin (might) Feel”

  1. Memie says:

    Ah temptations. I was always told if I have a craving to have a small portion cause if you don’t at some point you will binge it all away. And they are right. So for option one hot chocolate and whip cream with a hint of chocolate on top. I opted for the sugar free hotchocolate with lite whip cream and sugar free chocolate 1/2 the cals. and fat. I weigh most items and usually do good at it. I had a small bag of chips 12o cals with my tuna sandwich today. There are always options

  2. Cecilia says:

    I also hear that you have to give in to your cravings..but control the portions! Denying yourself things just makes it worse when you are able to have some of the things you *want*. Next time you’re out, ask if someone(s) is willing to split dessert (I will! I will!).
    Though, I do think your alternatives are kind of awesome! Oh!! I’m also learning that if you’re feeling hungry, that you should have something small because if you stay hungry your body goes into starvation mode and will hold on to fat!

  3. Kathleen says:

    The longer you stick to it, the less you crave the other stuff. Then, you can enjoy it as a special treat. Hang in there! You’re doing GREAT!

  4. You could also do like a friend of mine did and diet 9 days straight, then have a day of indulgence on day 10. This plan was given to her by a nutritionist, and paired with rigorous exercise, it got her to drop 150 pounds. The day of indulgence gave her something to look forward to, and also kept her from cheating the other nine days.

  5. Julie says:

    hey samantha_ i am typing this with one hand bc maggie is asleep on me and i don’t want to move.
    i have a major sweet tooth and am trying not to eat too many sweets right now but i discovered a healthy breakfast that can be sweet and it fills me up for a long time- oatmeal- not the instant kind but the old fashioned oats- and i don’t feel too bad putting brown sugar and honey on it. just thought i would share –
    good luck and keep up the good work! sounds like you are doing fabulous
    come visit soon- maggie wants to meet you!! and be sure to wear your sparkles_she’ll love it!

  6. Tiana says:

    Cravings are evil, with the rare exception of when it alerts you to a nutritional deficiency, like when people with low iron crave chalk and other oddities. John does the “day off” that Jennifer talked about. Me personally, if it’s a strong craving that won’t go away, then I give into it but try to not overindulge. Strangely, I also find that just having healthy choices around significantly cuts my cravings. When I don’t have any healthy choices readily available then I find myself reaching for convenience foods (which for most people including me, the more they eat, the more they crave). So I try to keep the house well stocked on things like fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. But in the end we’re all human- you have to give in here and there. ❤

  7. Amy Smith says:

    I like your photo wish list approach. 🙂 I sort of do that with things I think I “must” buy. I clip the pic or blurb from the mag or catalog, and put it in a “buy” folder to review in a month. By the time a month has passed, I’ve usually forgotten about whatever it was I thought I had to have. (If I haven’t, then it usually means I really need or want it). I think something in us is satisfied by acknowledging the need or craving and paying attention to it.

    That being said, I also agree with others who said that it helps to address cravings with a small portion of whatever. I find that a square or two of dark chocolate really does help my sweet tooth, and it doesn’t break the calorie bank.

    I also totally agree with the person who suggested oatmeal. I make steel-cut oats in my slow cooker, and serve them with a dollop of maple syrup, walnuts, raisins, and ground flaxseed. It’s like eating a warm oatmeal cookie!

  8. […] confessing how hard of a time I’m having with cravings I got some excellent advice and have decided to try a new “diet”.  On the […]

  9. […] once blogged about things I wish I was eating, and mentioned ice cream sundaes. As a result…my picture kept showing up in Google image […]

Leave a Reply

