Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“Big Picture” versus Day-to-Day Grind….

on January 9, 2011

I’m an Aquarius – we’re known for being idealistic and “big picture”. That describes me to a T. I couldn’t be bothered figuring out the details of life…or what’s for dinner. I’d much prefer to look at it from a wide-angle. Sometimes this mentality helps…but right now it’s hindering me.

I have been trying to keep my goal in mind at all times. I have a countdown calendar next to my bed, one at my desk and one in my Google Docs (love Gmail!) so I can check it a few timesย  day and remind myself how many days until vacation etc.

That’s all fine and well….but this weekend I find myself STRUGGLING not to eat temptations! GAH! I hear someone on TV mention something, and I want it. I see someone at a restaurant eating something and I want it. I feel like Josh Harnett in 40 Days and 40 Nights only um, with food. Haha.

I have to implement two strategies this week: distractions and details.

To distract myself I will need to collect more blogs to read. I am currently obsessed with fashion blogs from Stylish Year (Amy is the wife of a friend of mine from college and has great style!), The Style Glossary (Nina ROCKS and I have no idea where I found her, haha) and What I Wore (Jessica’s kickass style blog that I found through Amy). I love seeing the looks these ladies create – especially as the weeks progress. I’m not super creative with reinventing what I wear, and this makes me want to be more daring! (Note to self: spend one night this week making a pile of things to incorporate into outfits).

In addition to fashion blogs I am also obsessed with The Frugalista (I’m currently reading Natalie’s book – she rocks. She has GREAT tips for being fabulous on a budget! Highly recommended). Oh and my friend Tiana has recently started blogging too – check her out: Inconsequential Chronicles. Are you blogging? If so, send me your link and I’ll add it to my blog roll! ๐Ÿ™‚

OK – so I have things to read instead of eating (I have a thing where I HATE eating over my keyboard ! GAH! crumbs! No!). But, that tactic alone is not going to work….

I need to focus on the details.

So I know what I want to accomplish (50 pounds lost by my vacation in May) – how do I get there? Well for starters I need exercise in some form every day (cardio, weights, yoga, Pilates…whatever!). I need to follow my 10 days on being good, 1 day of cheating (currently day 2 is a fail. I’ve eaten a handful of creme brulee almonds I got on Christmas and 2 Lindt chocolate balls. This fucking 10 day thing is harder than I thought!).ย  Before eating anything I need to pause and say “Will this help or hinder my progress to my goal?”. If it’s the later….I need to walk away. (Willpower- ACTIVATE!).

I tried to find a good analogy for focusing on the details and I think I’ve got one. I want to climb the Eiffel Tower – it’s gorgeous – I’d love to see all of Paris at night! But, how do I get there? One step at a time. I checked Wikipedia to see how many steps we’d be talking: “The walk to the first level is over 300 steps, as is the walk from the first to the second level. The third and highest level is accessible only by elevator. Both the first and second levels feature restaurants.”

OK – so let’s think of this journey as one long road to the Eiffel Tower. Every 300 steps = 10 days. Once I reach 10 days I’m at the level with awesome restaurants and I get a treat! Score. I hope this works….I think I need to make the Eiffel Tower my background – stat!

The walk to the first level is over 300 steps, as is the walk from the first to the second level. The third and highest level is accessible only by elevator. Both the first and second levels feature restaurants.
5 responses to ““Big Picture” versus Day-to-Day Grind….

  1. M says:

    That’s a good way to look at it! It’s hard being around temptation for sure, but don’t be so hard on yourself! a handful of candies isn’t the end of the world but I understand the slippery slope. One thing you could try if you get a killer craving for something is to either chew some gum or make some tea or something. Green tea is supposed to be good for the metabolism. I’ve been watching HBO a lot lately so no commercials for any food related things which actually helps a lot now that I think about it – interesting! When I watch regular TV though, commercials definitely trigger something. Keep up the good work!

  2. Amy says:

    Thanks for the shout out!! So glad I can be a welcomed distraction ๐Ÿ™‚ Nina is one of my fav blogger friends – I didn’t know you followed her to!

    • I must have found her from you! I love that you started a fashion blog and now I have a whole slew of new websites to follow. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh I also love Emily’s “Cupcakes and Cashmere”….but she makes me hungry. Haha!

  3. Jennie V says:

    Just in case you need another distraction…
    http://agoaladay.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

