Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Weigh-in / Back to WW

on January 17, 2011

I decided on NYE that I would do bi-monthly weigh-ins instead of my normal monthly weigh-in.

I have been attempting the 10 Days On/1 Day cheating…and it’s REALLY hard, I can’t lie. I have more cravings knowing I can’t have something for 9 more days than I did before. I’m not sure it’s going to work for me, but I’m giving it a second shot starting today. I’ve switched out my too sweet morning coffee for a regular iced coffee (I didn’t even think to check how much sugar was in my iced mocha….the answer is a LOT). I’ve made little changes, but I’m certainly  not see big results just yet.

At my last weigh-in I was 334….and today I am 336. I’ve gained two pounds. I ate LESS bad stuff, and I gained two pounds! Meh. I know, 2 pounds is nothing etc.  But….I’m upset. I’ve been to the gym several times, I’ve been getting extra bouts of walking in whenever I can etc.

So I started looking back at what I have been eating – and overall, I’m just eating too much. I might not be eating ice cream and potato chips, but I’m eating twice the portions I should and I know better. Sidenote: knowing you’ve eaten TOO MUCH healthy food really is a kick in the pants.

I lamented about my overeating to my brother, who is also working towards losing weight. I suggested we rejoin Weight Watchers – and try their new Points Plus Program. I have had success on WW – when I’ve given it 100%. When I just half-ass it, I have failed.

So, next Sunday we are joining together – and I’ll be posting my weight here every Sunday after our meeting.  I like weighing in on a Sunday – it sets a positive tone for your week. I also like having someone else weigh me in. I can’t make excuses, or blame the scale – I just have to accept it and move on to a better week. He’s had huge success on WW – so it’s a good plan for both of us.

I feel like diet and exercise are two sides of a scale. I’m never perfectly balanced. If I have a week where I eat great, I only exercise twice. If I exercise a bunch, I don’t eat great every day. It’s so hard to find that nice balance on the see-saw. Maybe that’s normal?

I’m more excited for WW now that I’ve found out they have apps for your phone that include mobile food trackers, exercise trackers and the ability to scan a bar-code and see how many points something is. Now, I don’t eat that much sold in a box…but it’s a really rad feature to have!

Anyone else try the new plan? How’s it working for you? I’ll write all about it once I rejoin. 🙂

One highlight of the weekend, I exercised my BUTT off yesterday. I designed a new workout that included bouts of cardio in between weights/push-up/crunch circuits and I sweat SO MUCH. I felt insanely accomplished, and I’m sore today which makes me happy. Wow….did I really just say I liked sweating and sore muscles?! Haha!Who am I?!?!

Quiet week – so I’m planning to get a workout in every day (abs, full body, circuits, just cardio) and keep mixing it up. Oh, and I’m getting a fabulous haircut on Saturday, so I’ll post some pix of my new look too!

5 responses to “Weigh-in / Back to WW

  1. Cecilia says:

    I’m the same way about the balance. I’m actually really good about working out. But I’m also ingesting way too much! I’m trying to change the kinds of snacks I eat. And at the next Costco trip, I’m going to stock up on tons of veggies and fruits!

    It’s weird, but I didn’t do so well on the Weight Watchers stuff several years ago. I might have lost a couple of lbs, but I’ve surely gained it all back. For some reason, it just made me angry all the time 😦
    Also, I’m really trying to prove to myself that I can do it just by being more healthy and active. I don’t know why I feel like I need to prove it to myself more than anything else, but that’s my motivation.

    • Angry because you had to count – or angry because you were always hungry? The first time I did it I was ALWAYS hungry.

      I half feeling like I’m copping out by rejoining, but I justify it by saying it will be regularly weigh-ins and no excuse not to be good every day. We’ll see! 🙂

  2. Sandy says:

    I’m joining WW again tonight. I need someone to be accountable to. I need someone else to see that number on the scale, no matter how supportive an non-judgmental that person is. On my own, I’m a liar.

    Also, you have gorgeous hair. Don’t get too much cut off!

  3. Memie says:

    I didn’t do to good on weight watchers myself. I ate what they suggested and felt weak and shaky all the time, I guess I got all salad out. I have been motivated by reading your blogs. Thanks of sharing

  4. M says:

    I totally sympathize with you! I’ve tried one day of cheating – it only proved to make my cravings worse and was really torture so I didn’t do well with that but is a good idea in theory. I also tried weight watchers but I only half assed it (I did the online thing and didn’t do meetings) so that didn’t work either. Now I’m just focusing on trying to be conscious about what I’m eating, eating LESS than I normally would (e.g. i do NOT need to eat as much as my husband – females only need, unfortunately, about 1/2 or 3/4 of what a male would eat – at least that’s what I tell myself…my dr. said to eat just 3/4 of what you normally eat – good reasoning, huh?), and being more active. While I’ve not lost a lot, I’m just trying to focus on the life change b/c that’s the big thing for me – NOT sitting around all day every day and not eating whatever the f I want has been huge for me (no pun intended) – hoping WW does well for you! I think if I were to try again I would do meetings/weigh ins – anxious to see how it works out for you!

Leave a Reply

