Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

You Asked…. :)

on January 20, 2011

I love getting reader questions – and I thought a few of these were worth a blog post of their own.

Someone emailed me the following:

Have you ever tried Alli or other diet pills? Do you use supplements like they show on Biggest Loser?”

I have never tried a diet pill in my life….and for good reason.

I remember in HS I had a friend who took Dexitrim (member that stuff? Is it still around?!) – she was light-headed and her heart was racing. Creepy. Later (college I think?) – I had a friend who sword by CortiSlim )or something similar). A Google search says as: CortiSlim may be harmful. One of the extracts it contains is bitter orange peel, which is similar to ephedra, the dangerous diet aid banned by the FDA. If I recall correctly ephedra was in Phen-Fen. Member that crazy stuff? Yep me too. Scary!

I figure it this way – a pill didn’t make me fat….so a pill isn’t going to fix my fat.

Recently I have had 2 friends mention they’re taking Alli. Now, I see the commercials, and I get the hype….but what is Alli really doing? It’s “blocking the fat from foods you eat”. So, once you eat something and you don’t absorb all the fat then where does it go? Mmmm yup – exactly where you think. Gross.

Infact, the drug’s maker, GlaxoSmithKline, has been up front about the pill’s side effects, suggesting that first timers wear dark pants or bring a change of clothes to work until they get used to the diet pill’s potentially yucky consequences.

So wait….one of the side effects is I might shit myself? Awesome. I’ll stick with exercise and a healthy diet thanks. 😉

Now for supplements, I have to say I’m never keen on taking anything I can’t identify. I just recently got a multi-vitamin and I made sure it had Iron (which I’m always low on), Calcium and Vitamin C.

I know Jillian Michaels came out with a supplement line a while back and promotes it on TV…but I’m just not sold. How do I know that 20 years from now they won’t link something in those supplements to cancer or diabetes etc.? The risk isn’t worth it to me.

Do you guys take a vitamin daily? Do you use supplements?

What are your favorite snacks? Do you buy 100 calorie packs?

I have a random rotation of favorite snacks every few weeks. Here are some of the things I’m on a kick for right now:

This is amazing...and only 110 calories!

These are tangy and sweet...and only 60 calories!

Popchips ROCK (sea salt and vinegar is my favorite)

An oldie, but goodie. One serving is 120 calories, 5 grams of fat and 13 grams of protein!

As for 100-calorie packs – I don’t bother. They’re so small – I end up wanting to eat 3 packs, therefore negating the purpose. 🙂

Last but not least: “You never talk about your goal weight, you must have a number in mind that you want to be right?”

Oh numbers.  Sometimes I wonder why we’re so number focused. How old were you when you did XYZ, what size do you take, how much do you weigh…it’s all pretty inconsequential in the long run.

But of course, I used to have a perfect weight in mind. My first time joining WW I saw what the weight range for my height was (I’m 5’4″ and the range was 117 to 146). I decided 143 was my perfect number. It sounded good, right? Well, that was in 2005. When I started seeing my old trainer I mentioned that was my perfect weight. He did a body analysis thing (where I had to lay on the ground with these electrodes on my body – creepy!) and it measured my lean mass/fat. I had 225 pounds of lean mass (which included bone/muscle/organs). This was high for a woman – so I had a lot of muscle, awesome! However…it meant if I could get down to 143 I would have lost 100 pounds of muscle. Not cool.

Right now I’m just aiming to be under 200.  Once I get there, I will reevaluate my goal weight and maybe decide on a defined range.

Have a question you think I should answer? Email me! she is sparkling [at] gmail dot com (all one word).

P.S. – Two of you asked why I only post about weight-loss….well the blog IS about “slimming” but it’s also about “sparkly” so I will try to add some more personality and more pics going forward! 🙂

6 responses to “You Asked…. :)

  1. sara says:

    um, yes your blog is about weight loss BUT I find it to be very sparkly already with your personality and incredible writing.
    I love your blog, I am so glad you are doing this and believe you will get what you want. You are making so much effort and your goals are in sight.
    I love YOU!

  2. […] Original post: You Asked…. « Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog […]

  3. Curt says:

    I’m a big fan of almonds for a snack, packed with energy. The problem is they’re super addicting…

  4. Nina Holland says:

    Hey girl! I’m also obsessed with fruit bars and Pop chips too! I love, love, love them and whenever I run out of the popsicles, it’s almost depressing haha

    Also Kind bars in the Cranberry Almond variety are really yummy- I’ll have one with my Starbuck’s soy latte and they’re vegan and have a sweet and sticky consistently which makes me think that I’m eating a candy bar- plus they don’t spike your blood sugar or taste too healthy 🙂 haha

    hearts and hugs,
    Nina

Leave a Reply

