Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

A Picture is Worth 1,000 Words

on January 24, 2011

There’s nothing like kicking off a new birth year with fabulous hair! Ok, so my birthday isn’t actually for another 6 days…but I treated myself to a hair cut and some highlights on Saturday. I used to be so good about getting my hair done – but this time I hadn’t been to see my stylist in 6 months! Crazy.

Whatcha think?

New fabulous hair!

I love it!

There’s something that makes you feel so grown-up about bangs…they make me feel like I should wear lipstick!

This weekend I also rejoined Weight Watchers to try their PointsPlus program w/ my brother. We’re both WW drop-outs, but I thought new year, new program, new chances.

Sidenote: I also love that Jennifer Hudson is their spokesperson. I love her anyways, but she looks fantastic now!

She has been using the new PointsPlus program, and she looks killer! πŸ™‚

The plan used to just focus on calories, which annoyed me.

On the old program a banana and cupcake were both 4 points.Β  Given the choice, how many times do you think I chose a banana? If you said “rarely” you’d be correct.

Finally, WW realized that all calories are not equal! On the new PointsPlus program all fruits and most veggies are zero points. This encourages you to fill up on fruits and veggies instead of carbs. So, I think the new plan has a lot more nutritional merit than it previously did.

So, we get our weigh-in card, our welcome packets and all the week one literature. I am disappointed to see I am 10 pounds heavier on WW’s scale then on my own. Bummer. I look down at my card and instantly get furious. The woman checking me in has affixed an angry “no sitting” sticker to my booklet! Who does she think she is?!

I sneak a look at the woman next to me – no angry sticker. I show Derek – nope, no angry sticker on his either. Why is this woman judging me at my first meeting in years?! I’m pissed. I go to the gym dammit! I might be fat, but I’m less fat than I used to be! I could probably less press your weight right now! Grrrr!

Derek and I stayed for the meeting – and it was beyond painful. The leader was fake, which I hate. If you want me to sit in a room full of other fat people and talk about my feelings, you better be endearing. Worse yet was the woman who was eating breakfast at the meeting. Iced coffee, egg sandwich on an english muffin and….(drum roll)….MUNCHKINS! Who the fuck brings donuts to fat club?! Honestly! She’s lucky she didn’t get jumped by the guy a few rows away!

During the meeting the unendearing leader references this weeks “Get up and move!” challenge….and low and behold, there’s the angry pink couch sticker! Turns out it wasn’t about me, it was about the challenge of the week. LOL. Looks like the world doesn’t revolve around me after all eh? πŸ˜‰

I’m thrilled to see they have a point/activity tracking app for the Blackberry – hell yeah! That makes my life soooo much easier. I’m also happy to see a lot of recipes I would actually try. (While I love watching cooking shows, I don’t love cooking).

Activity points are points you’ve earned (to eat or not eat) – by working out. I rarely ate mine last time. Why workout just to eat more? Seems like a moot point. So, I’m just collecting them. I went to the gym last night with Derek and we both did our circuit workouts. I earned 18 activity points and he earned 26! Doing that 4 times a week is going to really help motivate me – I will have accrued 72 points just for doing my normal workout! Nevermind all the other things I will be doing on top of that.

If anyone is considering joining, I’d recommend it. I might not like the meetings, but I do like the program and all the tools that come with it. At the end of the day, it’s all about being accountable. Either you’re going to eat right and record what you do eat – or you’re not.

19 responses to “A Picture is Worth 1,000 Words

  1. Hyetti says:

    Sam, is there any way you could find another meeting with a different leader? It’s easy to transfer, I’ve done it. Our leader is FABULOUS and we all LOVE her. Honestly, some weeks she’s the reason I kept going! REAL person who’s gone through this too, and always encouraging, never judgemental, there to help. I tried different meetings/leaders twice, didn’t click with either leader, so followed the favorite to another meeting place and time. SO glad I did! Hope you can do this, great new start! LOVE the hair! Mwwah!

  2. Libby says:

    Fabulous Haircut!!! And best of luck with WW!!

  3. Denise Carr says:

    What?? you can’t sit after a long day at work, or workout, WTF, a sticker?? I would have thrown it at her.!!

  4. Rochelle says:

    I LOVE the new hair!!! πŸ™‚ You look fab!
    And yes, what a novel idea for WW to actually not think bananas and cupcakes are equal! (My in-laws all did Atkins when it was popular, and it never made sense to me why you couldn’t eat fruit but have all the bacon fat you want. At least that’s how they followed it!)
    I agree, maybe find another meeting led by someone who DOESN’T bring munchkins to the meeting?!? (You should have asked her how many points that’s worth!!!!)

  5. Cecilia says:

    You’re fabulous, as always πŸ™‚

    To be honest, sometimes I feel really jaded about famous people losing weight. They can afford the top cooks and trainers. Of course they can lose so much weight between September 09 and April 10!
    But I agree about maybe finding another group leader…the leader has to be someone you’d *want* to follow, right? It’s unfortunate that she was a fake 😦
    I’m proud of you though for this plan!!! I look forward to reading more about the meetings πŸ™‚

    • I hear you. However, to be a spokesperson you have to use the program. I know there was a big scandal a while ago with Fergie b/c she had stopped using the program. So, while I see what you’re saying about trainers and chefs, I believe Jennifer Hudson when she said she followed WW as an eating regimen.

  6. Memie says:

    Well now I might change my mind again. I used to go to weight watchers and I enjoyed our speaker she was very motivating and I also enjoyed the weight watchers exercise videos. I hated the points plan but this sounds like I might rejoin if you mention it this way. There scales always seemed to be heavier than mine by 10 pounds. And your hair looks fabulous.

  7. Kelly says:

    Love the new hair, you’re lucky you can pull of bangs cause you’re hairs nice and thick! I agree about the lipstick, you’re funny. Don’t be discouraged about the WW leader, i think joining with your brother is a fantastic goal. Its nice you both can do it together and can keep eachother motivated to stick with it. I agree with Hyetti; are there other group leaders you can try out? If the WW lady left you with a bad 1st impression its probably not the right fit for you and your goals. There must be different leaders you can try out??? Its great to hear you guys are still hitting the gym, I know its hard to stay motivated especially after a long day of work and the bitter winter cold & snow! Keep it up, you look great!

  8. Nina Holland says:

    Loving the hair! As you have probably noticed, I’m obsessed with my bangs and I totally agree about feeling gorgeous and grown up πŸ™‚ They’re an instant pick me up and make basic hair very chic.

    Also I was laughing out loud at that banana and cupcake bit! I don’t know anyone who would choose the fruit haha.
    And good for you about rejoining! The only reason I didn’t fall off the vegan wagon last week was the fact that I had to report to my readers. . . so the accountability thing is big for me too πŸ™‚

    have a great day (or night I guess) girl!

    hearts and hugs,
    Nina

  9. Sandy says:

    At my old job we had this WW program, and I’d say almost all of us dropped out because of our horrible leader. Once during the meeting, her cell phone “rang.” She answered it, and berated whoever was on the other end for calling her while she was working, etc., etc., then when she got off the phone she turned to us, shrugged, and said, “It was ice cream.” As if ice cream was fucking calling her on the phone!

  10. Amira says:

    Hi Samantha – LOVE the new hair cut – very sheeshee!

    I also have rejoined WW and love the new program. I find it extremely liveable and that was the issue before – if you lost weight you technically could dwindle yourself down to 18 points – even though I was never even close to that, the promise of it seemed like purgatory. I did like core/simply filling but again – did I want to eat from a list my whole life?

    My brother also joined after I had been going around 2 months. We have already talked about the goal of being a brother/sister success story. Hey! If you and your brother succeed in a good weight loss maybe we can convince WW to do a whole layout of brother/sister success stories!

    Regarding your leader – I echo Hyetti’s comment. By all means go to many different meetings until you find the right fit. I live near a WW center that has about a dozen leaders, and near another center that has a dozen more. I also work near a meeting that has yet another leader. I have the monthly pass so it’s easy to bounce around. I’m sure you will find someone you like.

    I really also feel that WW got it right this time πŸ™‚ and am looking forward to moving along with this program.

    GOOD LUCK to you and your brother!

  11. […] few weeks back I blogged about joining WW and how excited I was to see Jennifer Hudson’s transformation. My friend Cecilia’s […]

Leave a Reply

