Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Winter Blues

on January 25, 2011

New England has been getting smucked by snow, to an unbelievable degree. It’s depressing. In January I have had 1 dinner date with friends. All other plans have been canceled due to weather.  My little car is so short I can’t see around snow banks – making driving just a lot less fun than usual. Oh and it’s more sporty than practical, so it’s like a hockey puck once it’s icey. 😦

See that blue spec? That's my car!

In addition to not wanting to go out, I’m finding myself not wanting to work out (it’s too cold!) and not wanting to do anything after work except curl up on the couch in a hoodie and watch TV. It’s hard to stay motivated when it’s -4 degrees outside, and being out for more than 10 minutes can lead to frostbite (no lie, that was on the news yesterday morning)!

I Googled winter blues and was surprised to find that there is an actual disorder, SAD (seasonal affective disorder) -wow! Now, I’m not saying I have SAD – but I am sad this winter. (bad pun). So, I think some of the treatments are worth implementing into my life: more sunshine whenever possible, vitamin D-13,  more fruits and veggies (anti-oxidants).

Anyone else out there just feel “blah” this winter? What are you doing to combat the desire to hide under the covers until spring? I considered flying to LA and staying until the snow melts…but it’s just not realistic, sadly. 🙂

 

3 responses to “Winter Blues

  1. Tiana says:

    Give in! I enjoy the snow, although admittedly it does suck to drive in. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with cuddling up on the couch on a cold day with a blanket and a fire in the fireplace and a marathon of your fave show. Just don’t do any mindless munching while you’re kicking back and you’ll be fine. It’s good for your mental health to have a break, and snow days are a great part living in New England. 🙂

  2. Curt says:

    Come snowmobiling! Or go snowshoeing with Angie and Buster while I go snowmobiling!

  3. Cecilia says:

    From your *favorite* Angelino (me!), let me tell you…there have definitely been moments here where I felt like I was being affected by SAD 😦 Though, obviously, it’s never been diagnosed, it’s scary to know how little light I get during the winter!
    I think, tho, that knowing this has lead me to really brave walking through the snow and ice just to get a little bit of sunlight.
    BUT, if you fly to LA, I’m so coming with!! You can stay with me and my family 😀

Leave a Reply

