Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Kettle-bells and Clean Eating

on January 27, 2011

I’m always big into new/fancy/improved things for losing weight and working out. I have an umpteen amount of DVDs, bands, weights etc. and truthfully I rarely use any of them. For Xmas I wanted Kettle-bells and being a bargain shopper I looked around to find the best price. I found these @ TJ Maxx for $8 and $10 respectively:

So, they’ve been sitting under my desk since Xmas just waiting to be used.

Oh, and I got this DVD to go with them (which I still haven’t done….review coming soon):

After getting my usual strength training work out + cardio in yesterday I decide to try the kettle-bells. I go online and find a few moves that look easy enough from Shape Magazine, Kettlebell Workouts Dot Com and the paper that came with the weights.

I can’t lie- I was SORE. I would consider myself a strong-ish person….these little weights kicked my ass! This morning it hurt to lift my arm over my head, and my thighs were aching. I’d call that a good workout!

Anyone out there have some good kettle-bell moves they want to share? Bonus points if you include stick-figure drawings! 😉

On the food front, I am happy to report that I really love the Points Plus! I was leery, having been a drop-out of the program many times before….but I think this may be the time that actually works for me! I am full everyday – with a few points left over (I know you’re supposed to eat them ALL – but what’s 3-4 points between friends?). I’m tracking my activity and surprised to see how many points I’ve earned (the ladies in the last meeting average 8-10 points a week….I’m at 30 so far!).

While digging in a box of books for something else, I came across 2 interesting books I must have purchased around the same time: Hungry Girl 200 Under 200 and Eat Clean by Tosca Reno. I had to laugh at the juxtaposition here – one book has low calories snacks and meals using a fair of amount of processed “diet” foods (low-calorie, low-fat, sugar-free) and the other was about eliminating all processed foods. Thumbing through the HG book I got some good ideas for snacks – but was disappointed to see so many “diet” ingredients. I would much prefer to have a little of something made with sugar than a lot of something made with artificial sweetener. Now, on the other side of the coin I have a lot of friends who adopt an “eat clean” diet – and love it. But, looking through Tosca’s book I’m not sure I could ever con myself into eating things like bee pollen and flaxseed. :-/

I was on Shape magazines site and saw an article about a 7-day Eat Clean challenge. Sounds interesting, I think I’m going to try it starting Feb 1st. I mean, I could start this weekend….but it’s my birthday and I plan on having cake, and a margarita. Hey, you only turn 29 once! 🙂

Anyone else out there eating clean? Was the adjustment hard?

7 responses to “Kettle-bells and Clean Eating

  1. Amira says:

    Hi – I have been doing Tosca’s Clean Eating along with WW. I chose to do both at the same time because the food in Tosca’s books (I also have her cookbook) is just TOO yummy and it’s easier for me to cook her way but count WW’s way. I must suggest the carrot bread – out of this world, and can be sliced in 10 or 12, changing PP+ from 5 to 6. I also love any of her lentil recipes. I know what you mean by all the diet ingredients… I had been doing a lot of similar recipes from another similar site and I found that I was absolutely sick – too much processed and fake foods. Low calorie and low points, but fake.

  2. Manuela says:

    Kettle bells are a fantastic exercise tool; HOWEVER…..I highly recommend getting a trainer to show you how to use them properly. You can really hurt yourself if you do not know the proper form to use. The ‘old-fashioned’ cast iron balls are best because they handle the way they are supposed to. The Jillian video is not very good for making sure you keep to proper form. The energy of the movement comes from the thighs and hips; not from muscling them with your arms. I’d be happy to explain more if you are interested. Happy Upcoming Birthday!!!

  3. Lisa Cauley (Bahirra Janan) says:

    Hey girl, Since the 1st of the year I have went completely vegan. No meat, no dairy. Surprisingly it was not hard at all for me. I have also been doing the Active 2 Wii game religiously. I have lost a bit of weight (8 pounds so far) and I feel like I didn’t change much. I still eat like CRAZY and surprisingly like getting my butt kicked by the squat nazi! (Thats what I call my little personal trainer, she is brutal!) I feel better physically and mentally. I don’t know how long it will last cause we all know we do this and that and resort right back to our old ways, but I am enjoying my journey with it at the moment. ❤

  4. Lily says:

    Gideon was watching me read this, and as I scrolled past the kettle weights he screamed, “I WANT THE PINK ONE!” So: no feedback or comments, but my son wants your pink weight. 🙂

  5. whosethatlady says:

    I have recently bought some weights to carry while walking

    http://helpiseemedtohavelostmywaistline.blogspot.com/

  6. barbell diva says:

    I’ve been eating clean from Tosca Reno collection. I love it! Now I’m not 100%, but Im getting there. I havent tried any kettle bells workouts, but I guess I will have to! I do purchase the 100 calories snacks and also have tons of DVD’s and magazines. You name it, I probally got it!
    Good Luck on all your 2011 goals.

    Barbel Diva
    http://www.glamazonsintraining.onsugar.com

Leave a Reply

