Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

2-9…and Holding!

on January 30, 2011

I had written a whole entry about my trepidation towards turning 29 – how I felt that I wasn’t living up to the expectations I had set for myself….how disappointed I was – blah blah.

I scraped that entry. Today is my birthday. I am officially 29. I might not be exactly where I want to be in life ~ but honestly, who is?! I’m on the track to being the person I want to be and just for today I am not going to dwell on my missteps. I’m going to celebrate my amazing life (chock full of friends who sing “Love Shack” at karaoke with me! an amazing family and a wealth of opportunity). Just for today I am going to let myself have cake (and a breakfast sandwich from Bagel World…mmmm) but force myself to do some cardio, Life is about balance, and if I want my birthday cheats, I have to work for them! Weeding through old entries I remember this one and realized that even on my birthday I’m not going hog-wild into a food coma. I’ve come a long way! 🙂

Here’s picture proof… (haha!)

Was I the cutest baby or what?!

Here’s a snapshot from my birthday last night. That cake was AMAZING….and I only had a small slice! I swear!

Birthdays are special and I’m lucky enough to be celebrating for the whole weekend; but I’m keeping in mind my goals when making food choices – I’m not falling off the wagon (like I usually do on birthdays, lol). I’m also going to plan some interesting workouts for the next week – if I plan ahead I will be more willing to get changed and workout! 🙂

Oh and I had my first WW weigh-in – down 3 pounds! I’ll take it. We didn’t stay for the meeting, because the topic was the same (our meeting was on Sunday and this was Saturday – so it was the same week). But, we’ve picked a new meeting time with a new leader to start attending.

I have one more day of b-day celebrating w/ my good friend Sharon tomorrow – then I’m onto 7 days of clean eating, and my hardcore workout plan. Goal: capris by spring! (aka Operation Cankle Be Gone). 😉

Thank you to everyone who sent me birthday wishes – I’m truly a lucky (sparkly!) lady!

XO

5 responses to “2-9…and Holding!

  1. Amira says:

    Happy birthday and congratulations on your weigh-in success! Have a great week.
    Amira

  2. hipmix says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you have an incredible week!

    Hugs and shimmies~Dilara

  3. Jennie V says:

    Wow! Happy belated Birthday! What a great post. It’s easy to get stuck in the “shoulds” of life and I like that you can see through that and be proud of who you are in the here and now!
    Cheers!
    PS If you are ever in LA, I’d love to meet you!

  4. […] I’m always someone who has a hard time measuring my own progress. I live in this body, I don’t always see it change because it happens so gradually. Recently a few people in my life made comments about not seeing my progress – or not thinking I looked any different. Well, I present you with a picture from my 29th birthday (January 30th 2011) pulled straight from my blog: […]

Leave a Reply

