Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Fat Club

on February 7, 2011

I have dubbed Weight Watchers as “Fat Club” because really, it’s a club of fat people trying to be less fat. I think it’s kind of funny to say I’m “off to fat club!” and I was delighted to find this graphic from the 80’s:

Awesome right?!

I kinda want a shirt with that logo on it! 😉

Anyways, I had my second WW weigh-in yesterday and I am down another 4 pounds! That’s a total loss of 7 pounds in 2 weeks, which makes me really happy.  I’m still heavier on their scale then I am on mine (348 on their, 338 on mine) – but I’m happy to see those numbers going down. Especially since I only exercised ONCE last week.  I’m honestly loving the new plan – I don’t find myself ravenously hungry – and I am much more conscious of my eating. I’m definitely happy I rejoined. Oh, and I found a leader I like! Hooray! 🙂

This weeks handout covered “why do we eat?” – something I’ve personally explored a million times. I’m bored, I’m happy, I’m sad….I eat. I’m more in tune with my emotions than I used to be, but I still definitely associate eating with feelings. Weird I suppose. Do “normal people” associate food with feelings?

The topic also included “reframing” a situation. The phrase “Don’t give up what you want most for what you want at the moment” came into play and while I find it a little cheesy, it is true. So often I will forgo my personal goals for cheesecake or crème brûlée. Some of the “tips” given were a little cheesy. “If you find yourself craving ice cream – go for a walk!”. It’s not that it’s not a good idea, it’s just not exactly revolutionary. Ya know? Tell me something I haven’t heard a millions times before, and I might be more receptive to the cheesy quotes, haha.

In other news, I have exactly 100 days until my vacation – eeeeep!!

I have so many things  I would LOVE to wear to SF (including the aforementioned capris and espadrilles) – I decided to hang a few of the items on the outside of my armoire as a motivation. They are the first thing I see when I wake up – and the last thing I see before I go to bed. I still wish I could make a countdown calendar like in “I Used to be Fat” – but I’m way too lazy to sit here and write out 100 numbers on giant posterboard. I guess I could use funky colored paper? Hmmm….perhaps a project for tonight while I watch “Heavy”!

8 responses to “Fat Club

  1. Amira says:

    Once when my daughter was a little girl she fell and hurt herself. After the crying stopped I offered her a cookie with the words “this will make you feel better.” She looked at me like I had three heads and asked – how will this make me feel better? lol lol. I read a similar story where the little girl put the cookie on her booboo. These girls will most likely never have a weight problem. Also, sometimes I do ask my daughter what her thought process is with some things. Like WHY did she choose not to eat something after she asked me when dinner would be ready. Since when did that ever stop ME from eating… then eating dinner if I was full….

    Congrats on the weight loss!

    Amira

  2. sara says:

    you know they make giant post-its- poster size you can get at an office supply store so all you ahve to do is at least write and flip the page- would be cheaper too then poster board. if you want it, do it! you can have it!
    or even a smaller version of it with a white spiral bound drawing book!
    LOVE!!
    sara

  3. Cecilia says:

    Yay!! That’s so exciting! 7 lbs!!! Woot!!!

  4. Jennie V says:

    Wow! Congrats on the 7!! It’s always a great feeling to see that number go down! I really liked the quote you used but, it’d be nice if it didn’t lose it’s power whenever a cupcake was near… 😦
    I made a countdown thingy with post-its and I tear one off every morning before I leave the house. Good luck making yours! It’s a great tool/reminder!

Leave a Reply

