Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Changing Myself, not the world

on March 2, 2011

When I think of things I need to blog about, I write them in a memo on my BlackBerry. Then, when I have the time I sit down and pen the entry. A few days ago I wrote “World doesn’t revolve around me….I change, my world does not.”

Last night on “Biggest Loser” the remaining players go home for 2 weeks and one of the contestants TOTALLY read my mind! He said: “I am going to come home and have the same friends and the same hobbies and the same food around me. The world isn’t going to change around me – I change and the world will remain in tact.”

SO TRUE!

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately, and I felt vindicated that I was not alone in that realization.

I have the same friends/jobs/hobbies/life I had at my heaviest weight….but I have changed. In order to make this work as I continue losing weight, I need to accept that the world is not going to accommodate me.

Tonight I am seeing some of my favorite customers and work friends for dinner. The choices in the area are not the healthiest, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t go – or that I get to cheat. No, it means I need to work within the boundaries of what I’ve been given. I will be a total PITA to the server and ask for a super customized order. I don’t care. I won’t drink, because in the long run I want to be thin more than I want that margarita. “Don’t trade what you want MOST for what you want at the moment.” (thank you WW, I like that one).

Now maybe it sounds like cruel and unusual punishment to go out to eat where I can’t enjoy myself. But, it’s not fair to inconvenience the masses for me. I am not the only star in the sky. Actually, I like the reference “Not the only muffin in the tin” – but I couldn’t find a cute muffin picture to use. Haha.

Lots of stars in the sky...I might be the sparkliest, but I'm not alone!

So, while I can’t do EVERYTHING I might want to….I can still go out and see friends, I can still travel etc. I just need to be mindful that not everyone around me is on a diet. It’s like when you’ve ended a relationship … the world isn’t going to stop spinning  just because you have a broken heart. That sounds like a country song! Oh wait, it is…by Reba McEntire:

But oh this sun is blinding me
As it wakes me from the dark
I guess the world didn’t stop
For my broken heart

I grew up listening to country music. Every so often I will get a phrase stuck in my head and I can’t out my finger on where it came from. 😉 Thanks Mom!

Anyways, so the world isn’t going to go on hiatus while I get my shit together. There will be dinners and parties and vacations;  my challenge is to adapt myself to each one of those situations and make the best choice I can make with what I’m given. When I go to Vegas next month I will practice this restraint. I can control my breakfast and dinner but lunch is not easy. I only have a limited window of time, and the choices at the convention center are not ideal. Bringing food is not an option (no place to put it)  so I will have to make do with what I’m given.  It’s like Teddy Roosevelt says: “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

How have you guys adapted yourselves for a world that doesn’t change?

2 responses to “Changing Myself, not the world

  1. D.james says:

    This is probably one of the hardest parts about losing weight is that the rest of world is still going through all its problems and phases and everyone’s going onward with their life and to some extent it feels without you but in the long run you’ll be a better person for it

    D

  2. So true. I always say that only you can control you and how you adapt to the things around you (not the other way around). Sounds like you’ve got a good handle on it, especially with a plan. Planning and knowing are half the battle, then you can set yourself up for success!

Leave a Reply

