Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“Lent” and Letting Things Go

on March 7, 2011

Good weekend – the weather was lovely, and I even broke out my sandals! Love that. I got to the gym both Saturday and Sunday – which made me feel awesome. Oh, and I had fat club on Sunday and I lost 8 pounds (over 3 weeks – don’t get TOO excited). 😉  8 pounds is awesome, but I needed to put it in perspective.

I’ve been feeling more positive, and in control of my eating – which is a huge victory!

I’ve also had 3 friends and 2 co-workers tell me I look thinner – love that! 🙂

My version of “Lent” started early (because during actual Lent I’m going to be in Vegas). I was raised Catholic, but now I would consider myself more spiritual/Christian than Catholic now. I haven’t been to church in eons. Anyways, my version of Lent wasn’t so much about religion, it was more about challenging myself. Can I live without alcohol and desserts for 6 weeks?!

One of my new favorite bloggers is HealthierUJunction and there was a post she made that triggered me to write mine. She talked about why giving up desserts will help her get a handle on her attitude towards dessert. I completely agree. Last year for Lent I gave up dessert and cheated twice. They were planned cheats, but I still realized how dessert was an EVERYDAY occurrence, not a treat.  I am  a sweet addict, and if I’m not careful I get into a pattern of needing something sweet every night (sometimes after both lunch AND dinner. Crazy, I know).  So, “Lent” will be good for me.

I have one more month left, and I suspect it will be the hardest!

Retail stores are in full “Easter swing” and I keep seeing bags of Cadbury eggs. GAH! I love them. The ones with the candy shells – not the ones with the creepy stuff inside. I also love Reese’s PB eggs. The two seasonal candies are my weakness, but I will resist! However, I will torture us both with pictures:

I’m not a huge “generic” candy person (I mentioned my favorites are from a little shop in Marblehead) – but these are my 2 grocery store weaknesses!

Since Lent is the time leading up to Easter, and Easter is a rebirth (involved a bunny who hands out candy…anyone know where that tradition came from?!), I like to think of it as a spring cleaning for the soul. In the last few months my personal life has had far more drama than I care of. I’ve decided that by Easter I will let go of all the things nagging at me. I’m not going to continue hanging on to the images people have of me, or what someone might have said. I don’t care. Ok ok….I DO care, but I’m working on NOT caring. 🙂

I have to accept the following: not everyone is going to love me in this life.

It might sound obvious, but it’s hard for me to come to terms with someone who gossips about me – or outright lies about my actions or intentions. I’m a pretty up-front, no bullshit person. So, I take it to heart when drama happens and lately, I’ve had a whole lotta drama!

So, I’m not going to let it affect me. People will say and do as they please and I can’t change them – but I can change how I react to their outbursts. I saw this one someone’s FB recently and loved it: “I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.” — Maya Angelou

Are you guys participating in Lent? What are you giving up and why?

 

10 responses to ““Lent” and Letting Things Go

  1. Sharon says:

    I was going to give up fried food. But I think I’m going to give up fried food and desserts after reading this.

    FIN

  2. The rabbits and eggs are from European pagan traditions. They were tacked onto Easter much like the evergreens and holly were tacked onto Christmas to get the pagans to think that the holidays were equivalent.

  3. OMG, you’ve just made my day (and believe me, I so needed it). Drama in one’s life, I know all to well about that right now. I love, love, love what you said about seeing this as a cleansing. I too am more Christian now as I’m a true believer and have strong, devout faith but don’t go to church. I do think I will view Ash Wednesday and the beginning of this Lent as a cleansing of my soul and life. It is time I let some things go and let other things shine. Thank you for that!!! Also, I too find Easter hard, but I love those Cadbury Creme and Caramel Eggs, as well as the Brach’s Bunny Basket Eggs. I’ve purchased them and have them waiting in a bag for me once Lent is done. Knowing there in the house and ready to eat when I’m able to do so does ease my pain. I wish you luck on your spring cleaning!

  4. Oh, I posted this to my facebook as I just think it’s so inspirational and needs to be shared. I hope that’s OK. You’re really uplifted me and where I’m at in my life right now and I think this might help others! AWESOME post!!!

  5. Katrina says:

    Ugh, the temptation of those eggs! I haven’t decided what to give up for Lent. I can’t think of anything I’ve been over-indulging in lately (surprisingly) so maybe I will give up my to-do list. Maybe I will indulge in some me time.

    I need dessert after I eat too…well, something sweet must follow something salty. So I chew gum like a crazy person. It helps take the edge off, haha.

  6. […] Thanks to the power of the blog I know that last year it was on Feb 20th and the year before was March 7th. Sheesh! It’s only Feb 13th! Soon we’ll be celebrating Christmas and Lent […]

Leave a Reply

