Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

“I Will Survive!”

on March 13, 2011

Shimmies V was an amazing, wonderful, fabulous success…….and I am thrilled to DEATH that it’s over. Event planning is exhausting, even when it’s with a friend! I’m ready to focus on losing more weight before Vegas and my upcoming vacation to NorCal for Tribal Fest.

Standing around the show last night (after I danced – more on that later), I was overcome with a feeling of exhaustion mixed with disappointment. This time last year I resolved to be under 200 pounds by Shimmies. I weighed in before I got to the show to set up and I was at 323. I’m down 101 pounds from my heaviest on Jan 1st, 2010. So, I should be elated. But, somehow I couldn’t get past where I COULD HAVE been. Coulda, woulda, shoulda….gah! The night roared on and after all the dancing, the DJs played “I Will Survive” – and man, it made me laugh. I will survive this self-doubt and all others that come my way. I might not be perfect, but I am awesome!

So, how was my dance? Well, the bad first: my kickass, coppery gold pants are a smidge too small. I tried them on the night before and decided to forgo the stomach sucking and save the pants for a few months from now. I wore an equally cute outfit instead and 30 seconds into my “Everybody!” piece, I tore something in my right hip. My first thought? Fuuuuuuuuuck! My next thought? “The next 3 mins are going to SUCK!”. I can’t lie, I fluffed through the rest of the piece. I was in so much pain, I just hope it didn’t show on my face! Afterwards I rested with my leg up and decided heat/ice would be a necessity before bed.I did both and today I am in MUCH better shape!

But I need to figure out how to prevent this from happening every time I do a hip-drop! I think perhaps part of my problem is the amount of weight I’ve been doing on the hip adductor/abductor machines (200 pounds on each for a total of 70 reps – 35 each set). I had been upping said weight and reps steadily…but I think maybe I’m going overboard. I also need to stretch more! I am guilty of never stretching before I dance. Not a good practice!

Oh and the good part of the piece? People got it! They actually moved their hands along with me and smiled, so mission accomplished! πŸ™‚

I didn’t eat dinner yesterday in the craziness – and I cheated on my Lent. I had 3 bites of cake (before giving my mom the piece I had obtained for her) and a rum + coke. I don’t regret either cheat, but I figured I should disclose both in the spirit of being honest. I have 3 more weeks of Lent and I plan on going hardcore!

I did walk my ass off all day, and man I could feel it today! My legs were like jello.

The weather in New England has gotten much more springy in the last few days, nearly all the snow has melted. Thanks to Daylight Savings it will still be light out when I get out of work, so I’m going to plan for some fast walks/slow jogs (slogs) after work. Yay!!I’m so excited to get outside and get fresh air while I exercise. Oh and I think I need to add “I Will Survive” to my gym mix, it’s a great motivational song!

 

6 responses to ““I Will Survive!”

  1. Cecilia says:

    My goodness! No idea that you were hurt! It didn’t show at all! 😦
    But you were amazing! The event was amazing!

    It was so fun to end the night with that song! Nepenthe suggested it and Jemileh requested it πŸ™‚ SO MUCH FUN!

    My feet and legs are also exhausted…but it’s now time to relax a bit πŸ™‚

  2. Sandy says:

    I love reading your blog. I’ve lost weight (I have no clue how much, and won’t till I get home) since I’ve been in China, and I feel like such a cheater because I’m not trying – it’s just how it is here. It’s amazing that, when you have no food around, the thought of going to bed hungry isn’t that big a deal.

  3. Julie Anita says:

    Wow, I had NO IDEA you had hurt yourself! I didn’t see it when it happened, I didn’t see it for the next three minutes, and I didn’t see it as you continued to host the event. You have a fabulous “show must go on” thing going πŸ™‚

    You were amazing! I only got two pictures of you dancing, but I can send them to you if you want.

    Hey– I made a blog post about the event, but I didn’t put up pics of the dancers (I took photos of a few). I made them super tiny (you can’t see individual faces clearly), but I wanted to check in first. Is that sort of thing a no-no? If so, I’ll just leave the post how it is.

    • Thanks! I’m glad I faked it. πŸ˜‰

      Let me know which dancers you have pics of and I will give you their contact info. As long as the photo is flattering and you put a caption saying who they are, most dancers don’t mind. πŸ™‚

  4. Congrats on your survival!!! Making it through is the hard part many times and I’m sure you will continue to survive. My post later today will be how weight is nothing but a number and I have to pass that on to you (but you already know that). Losing 100+ pounds is great and continuing to lose more will come in time. It took me 2 years to lose 176 pounds. I ran into an old friend over the weekend that said noticed the boat-load of weight I lost (her words) and wanted to know how long it took. I told her 2 years and she said that’s too long. I didn’t push the issue but it’s not too long. It took longer than 2 years to put it on, so losing it was the better end of the deal. Not to mention, it’s gone now so who cares it took 2 years. I know you feel great with the 100+ gone and you’re motivated to continue. So, if it takes 2 months, 2 years, or more, be glad about what you’ve accomplished and continue to stay focused. I’m determined you will succeed!!!

Leave a Reply

