Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

All Sorts of Randomosity

on March 25, 2011

Ya know what they picture and me have in common? We’re both plateauing.

All cheesiness aside….I am stuck. I’m at 323 and holding, which isn’t bad, but it’s not exactly where I thought I would be with just 2 weeks to go until Vegas.  I haven’t tried on my black pants….I’m too scared to be disappointed. Of course, I have a back up pair of pants for the show but they’re not nearly as divine.

I wish I could tell you that my Lent challenge was going amazing-  but I’d be lying. It’s HARD! Giving up alcohol was easy (believe it or not!), giving up desserts has been pure agony. I am a SERIOUS sweet addict! I think I’m going to challenge myself again to give up desserts from April 18th- May 17th (the day I come home from Vegas til the day I leave for vacation). I always knew I loved sweets but I have never been so aware of how often I eat them before!  I also realized one of my triggers is watching the Food Network. Anytime I see someone making sweet things, I want them! Top Chef and Chopped both don’t bother me (more so because I’m focused on the “competition” angle, if you will. Sidenote: I want Richard Blais to win!) – but “Food Network Challenge” (the show where they make CRAZY cakes….oh man, it’s pure torture. So, I had to give up watching shows that make me hungry too! 🙂 I’ve cheated again since I last confessed (haha) – I had a cannoli yesterday. It was a crappy day and I once again needed sweets for comfort. I don’t understand myself sometimes. I KNOW it’s bad for me, I KNOW I gave it up until Vegas….but when I WANT something everything I know goes out the window!

Anyone else feel this way?

My exercise level has been good – I’m proud of how hard I’ve been working in the gym. Of course, I need to get there more – but the 4 times I got there last week were all good workouts.  Listening to motivational songs is helping (which might sound lame but it’s true!). Last night I was pedaling away on the recumbent at a faster rate than usual and thinking “Well, I could just stop now, I don’t want to overexert myself” and what song came on the shuffled playlist? “You Get What You Give” by the New Radicals. “Don’t let go! You got the music in you.” Somehow, hearing that forced me to push on.

I’ve been really inspired by Courtney from the Biggest Loser; the girl is a rockstar. Before coming to the show, she lost 112 pounds on her own. That takes determination! She’s always so sunshiney and positive, it really makes me want to keep trucking, even when the road isn’t smooth.  She is my favorite contestant on the season – I really hope she wins. So often shows like this end up with a winner than worked the hardest just to get to the end and then falls off. She is someone who will stick with this for the rest of her life, hands down.

I haven’t chatted about snacks lately, so I should mention my current favs. I made a trip to Trader Joe’s for lunch and some snacks earlier this week and when I got back there was a “Kind” bar in my bag. I checked my receipt and I didn’t get charged for it, so I considered it a freebie and tried to today. It was DELICIOUS! Holy mackerel I am totally buying more. 190 calories (perfect for a snack) and 50% of all the vitamins/minerals/antioxidants you need in a day. Pretty rad. They come in yummy flavors too (I had Cranberry Almond) – including Coconut which might be delish….but will give me hives. Wah.

Do you guys go through waves of favorite snacks? Do you switch them out based on the weather? Soon I will be able to get nice, fresh berries and I’m excited for that. I’m also excited to get over to Wilson Farms in Lexington this weekend (hopefully!). It’s an AMAZING farm stand with local and globally sourced organic fruits and veggies. A true New England gem! Do you guys shop at farm stands when possible?  I had never really thought of where my food came from (naive I know) but my brother is really into knowing the origins of what you eat and that has made me think.

On the docket for the weekend: lots of gymming, visiting WF hopefully and enjoying some matzo and eggs! I am not Jewish (but according to my friend Brad I am an honorary member) but I grew up eating matzo and eggs (thanks Mom!) and it’s almost Passover, so the stores are stocked! YAY!

For reference, this is matzo and eggs. Mmmmmmmmmmm!

Have a great weekend everyone! 🙂

6 responses to “All Sorts of Randomosity

  1. M says:

    If I get it in my head that I want something, I will have it. so yes, I have that problem too…not sure how you fix that besides just trying to control your triggers. However, bad days as triggers is no good – I have the same issue. Maybe just try to balance it out by being extra good the following day? Its hard…Le sigh…

  2. Erica says:

    Hey Samantha,
    When I’m craving something that I know is bad for me. I’ve have something else instead. Like when I crave a brownie sundae, I’ll have a coffee instead. Definitely not the same, but sipping and going through the motions of eating seems to really help for me.

    -Erica

  3. Cecilia says:

    What I have found to be the easiest thing is to not have things around the house that will tempt me. It’s been difficult, especially when food shopping…but I have to think (and sometimes say out loud), “Is this going to help you? No…Move on.”
    But, that said, perhaps find something to help you deal with triggers. Change out the cannoli for…I don’t know…a banana or a piece of dark chocolate, even! Or fruits dipped in dark chocolate! 😀
    Stock up on different nuts (almonds, pinenuts…walnuts which you can caramelize! They’re so tasty!)
    Otherwise, plateaus are normal 🙂 Maybe add an extra 30 minutes to your workouts, 15 more minutes of strength and 15 more of cardio? Changing it up always helps.

  4. Curt says:

    I don’t remember if I told you that I also gave up deserts and like you I’ve been having a hellacious time with it.
    I’m my own worst advocate (go ahead, nobody will know) and I usually let myself win.
    Surprisingly I’ve only cheated twice, once last week when I had a horrible sore throat I allowed myself a small dish of ice-cream (frozen yogurt actually) and another time allowed 2 Newman-Os, so not too bad.
    Of course you brought me 2 million calorie (my favorite!) coffees but if I’m honest I’d probably have had a breakdown without them!

  5. Denise says:

    I have discovered new snack, low cal from Trader Joes, 365 brand Wasabi Rice Crackers, crunchy low fat, eat them with some Salsa, in the middle of the day… delicious and very satisfying.

  6. I agree with the sweet tooth as I have one too. So far so good with Lent but I’m not looking forward to the next 3 weeks. Have you tried substitutes to actual sweets just to switch your taste buds a bit? For example, the Vitatop muffins, brownies, tops, etc. are 100 calories, chocolate but have more fiber than most other desserts. As you eat them over time, that more decadent chocolate flavor is almost too sweet. So, you might have a sweet tooth still but can change it to a smaller bite of your former sweets (as it doesn’t take as much to curb the sweet tooth) or healthier sweet snacks (i.e., dried fruit, cinnamon or cocoa almonds, rice cakes, 100 calories packs, etc.). Try tweaking your taste buds just a bit and it might help… might; or at least on some occassions it’ll help. Though now, what I wouldn’t give for some buttercream cake icing. Yum!

Leave a Reply

