Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Breakfast and some Friday Blah-Blah-Blahing!

on April 29, 2011

Happy Friday!

Is it just me or has this felt like the longest week EVER? I’m ready for a weekend, like woah! 🙂

Sadly, I’m not ending my week on a good note. I’m up 1.5 pounds. I will say I think 2 things are to blame: lack of exercise (I was a slacker this week, I can admit it) and salt. I have been eating a LOT of salty food lately and I have the bloat to prove it. So, this weekend I am going to get hardcore! I have 4 workouts planned (2 outside, with moves inspired by Bob Harper. Love him!) and 2 at the gym using a combo of machines and free weights. I think the secret to consistent weight-loss is going to be mixing it up a lot. My body seems to get used to the workouts I do, then they aren’t as effective. So, I shall mix things up and hope for a better weigh-in next week. I would REALLY love to be under 300 by San Fran (I leave May 18th) – but I’m afraid losing 15 pounds in 18 days is just not feasible. Oh well, I came close!

I’m having a bit of a food dilemma, and I’m hoping to get input from you guys. I cannot seem to find a low-calorie breakfast that I enjoy eating and doesn’t bother my stomach. I love eggs, but they just don’t sit well. Neither does yogurt or cottage cheese before lunch. (I know it’s weird, my stomach has a mind of its own). As a result of this I end up usually having toast / english muffin / bagel / muffin. All of those options aren’t ideal as they don’t keep me full very long.

So, I need a breakfast idea that incorporates some protein (to keep me full) and doesn’t have dairy/eggs.  What are you guys eating? (Sidenote: I’d prefer something that’s quick to make – I’m not a morning person and if I have to clean a pan after making breakfast, I probably won’t bother).

Someone at work suggested oatmeal, and pointed out that if I was running late in the morning I could even get it at Starbucks or McDonalds. I laughed on the inside, because I am completely anti-McDonald’s (as you guys know) and because my friend Cecilia posted a link about that infamous Mickey D’s oatmeal earlier this week! Why oh why would there be 21 ingredients in oatmeal?!  “A more accurate description than “100% natural whole-grain oats,” “plump raisins,” “sweet cranberries” and “crisp fresh apples” would be “oats, sugar, sweetened dried fruit, cream and 11 weird ingredients you would never keep in your kitchen.” Yuck!

Has anyone tried it? It only has 300 calories, which I’d be fine with – it’s the 11 weird ingredients I can’t get with. I have had Starbucks Oatmeal and it’s pretty decent. Of course, I find oatmeal is better when loaded with brown sugar and maple syrup…not exactly a healthy choice! 😉

There has to be a quick, tasty breakfast solution out there right?

An update to my migraine post- I think I may have found part of the culprit! I looked closely at my food journal and chatted w/ my mom and my BFF Jewels. Coffee at night (after dinner) is present about 80% of the times I wake up with a headache/migraine! So, I’ve cut the coffee at night. It’s painful, I can’t lie. I am a “little treat” or “little dessert” person and coffee at night took the place of that. Now I need to find something else to take the place of the coffee! Since summer is here, I might need to bring back the all-fruit popsicles or Crystal Lite – but I’d love to hear suggestions. What “treat” do you guys enjoy during the summer that won’t break my calorie bank or give me a migraine? (Sidenote: I could switch to decaf – but I think cutting it out all together would be better). I’m thinking of actually cutting out coffee from May 1st- May 15th as a kick. We’ll see, I’m not completely sold the idea just yet.

Is the weather going to be nice where you are this weekend? Boston is supposed to be sunny and in the 60’s – which is divine weather for exercising outside and doing a nice spring cleaning. I am a complete clotheshorse and really need to pare down what I currently own. If I’m not wearing it now, and it won’t fit in the next 6 months – it’s gotta go. I’m big on donating unused items to organizations like Goodwill, and I just read somewhere that a lot of donation sites up here will be sending things down to the folks in the south who have been devastated by tornadoes. That motivates me even more to get my unworn clothes to a good home!

Have a great weekend everyone!

9 responses to “Breakfast and some Friday Blah-Blah-Blahing!

  1. Cecilia says:

    I’m a huge fan of peanut butter, banana, and honey open-faced sandwiches for breakfast! It’s super filling, has protein and antioxidants! Mmm…now I want it for lunch….
    I’ve also tried to stick with having fruit first thing in the morning. Generally, 1 or 2 oranges or a banana + a piece of cinnamon toast. Fruit helps to get the system going 🙂

    • Shannon says:

      I was going to suggest peanut butter or almond butter on your bread product and making sure your bread product is whole-wheat to make sure it will take longer for the body to work through it.

      Oatmeal – steel-cut oats are supposed to be the best. My friend sets it up each night in her slowcooker and has them in the morning. I keep wishing I would think of that the night before. After tasting steel-cut oats made in the slowcooker (we did it ourselves twice), the regular oatmeal just tastes horrible to me.

  2. M says:

    I know you have trouble with eggs, but what about just egg whites? A super easy and tasty/nutritious breakfast that I love is hard boiled egg whites and fruit. I boil eggs on weekends, shell them, divide into little baggies (2 each). Same with fruit (about 1/2 cup each) then I just grab a bag of each on my way out the door and eat in the car 🙂 SUPER low in calories and really keeps me full (when I remember or have the ambition to do it – really it takes no time at all). For the fruit, I prefer berries b/c they are easy to eat in the car but anything works.

    If not, I 2nd the oatmeal or the peanut butter. I haven’t had mcdonalds oatmeal but starbucks is good. Also, oatmeal is pretty quick – you can always just keep some at your desk and just nuke it with some milk – takes about 2 minutes. Pair that with some fruit and sounds like a yummy breakfast to me!

  3. CrazyKev23 says:

    I’m a fruit and granola bar in the morning kinda guy. Bananas, Strawberries, Apples. Sometimes Cheerios. Also hard boiled eggs on occasions. I’ve also done the oatmeal thing and been meaning to get back into for the cholesterol & health benefits.

    All of which are quick and easy to grab & go either at home, in the car, or at work.

  4. alex s. says:

    my current “go-to” breakfast is 1 or 2 waffles with some almond or peanut butter on top and a dab of honey on each and sometimes ill have two pre-cooked turkey sausages. i end up staying full for HOURS when I eat this. also, check out fitnessista.com ! She has some great ideas for filling foods plus she’s really interesting. If you have time the night before, you should try a “breakfast cookie” (not at all what it sounds). I haven’t made one lately but they are SUPER filling and customizable so you can control what you put in, how it tastes. etc.

  5. Looks like everyone else suggested most of my things. I’m huge on peanut butter whole grain toast, fruit (bananas and apples are quite filling), oatmeal (especially the Quaker Weight Control), and cereal (dry or with some milk… honey nut cheerios and kashi crunch are great dry). I also love those Vitalicious muffins and vitatops, as they are quite filling for only 100 calories. You can eat a couple of those and get some good protein and fiber. Also, my newest addition is Life cereal bars as they truly pack on the fiber and protein without the calories of a true protein bar. Other breakfast bars are good too (honey nut cheerios cereal bar, kellogg has a few, etc.). Waffles, whole grain of course, with sugar-free syrup comes in handy as well. Check out both the cereal aisle and the frozen section for breakfast as you’ll run into plenty of ideas. Also if you want to be unconventional, smoked fish, peanut butter or cheese crackers, etc., can pack on the protein and flavor without a lot of calories. I look forward to hearing about your new choices.

  6. scarlett says:

    Uncle Sam’s Instant Oatmeal with Flaxseed has only 130 calories and 5 grams of protein. I like to put a packet of splenda in it AND a squeeze of Cary’s sugar-free syrup. It’s too bad your tummy can’t tolerate yogurt in the morning because Fagé nonfat Greek yogurt has 15 grams of protein with only 90 cals! That with some honey drizzled on it is oh-so-delicious!

  7. Caroline says:

    I love breakfast! I’ve become set in my ways and it’s nice to not have to think about what I’m going to eat. 😀 I do a packet of instant plain oatmeal and throw on almonds and crasins before I stick it in the microwave. If you need something sweeter honey is great. 1.5 minutes and it’s delicious and filling! It keeps me full longer than cold cereal or toast and fruit.

    Now if only I could figure out lunch and dinner.

  8. […] believe I found a class that I love so much I wake up at 5:45am! You guys have heard me complain time and time again about hating mornings….I like them now! OK, like is a strong word. I acquaint […]

Leave a Reply

