Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Post Vaca Recap

on May 25, 2011

Good Morning!

Man, it feels like I haven’t blogged in a month….but it’s only been a week and a half! Vacation was great. I love NorCal. Wonderful weather – wonderful people. We had a FANTASTIC time at Tribal Fest. Every day was either workshops, an outing with friends or performances. Truly a great week. We had some non-bellydance fun too – hunting for Peanuts! Santa Rosa (where we were staying) was the home of Charles Schultz and as a tribute to his life’s work a bunch of Peanuts statues were made and placed all over the city. We made it a goal to find 5 and ended up finding 10!I think there’s 80 or so all together, crazy!

Here’s my favorite, “Rainbow Joe”:

Rainbow Joe!

Besides Peanuts, another highlight of my trip was performing at the show. I haven’t watched my DVD yet (nerves) but once I do, I’ll upload it to YouTube and post it here. I was proud of myself when I got off stage – I did the best I could d0 at that moment in time, which is all that matters in the end.

The workshops I took were mostly dance related (drills, new dance combos etc) but we did take one non-dance lecture and I can honestly say it has changed the way I think of myself. The workshop was called Static and was to help you (the dancer, the artist) cut through all the noise (internal and external) in order to  create art. However, I applied the same principles to my life (and my weight-loss) and I realized where I’ve faltered and how I can get myself in a groove that will foster success. I can’t say enough good things about Amy Sigil or the workshop; it was just amazing.

Ok ok, enough bellydance/Peanut chat. You want to hear how I did eating and exercising right? Fiiiiiiiine. 😉

Eating: overall good. I did have a few glasses of wine and a margarita throughout the course of the trip, but I planned on drinking on vacation so it wasn’t unexpected. I snacked a lot, but Rach and I made sure to stock our hotel with healthy snacks (Kind bars, hummus, bananas). I drank a TON of water (sweating your ass off in class makes you THIRSTY!) and I had minimal coffee.

Exercise: I did not go to the gym once – sad I know. I really had all intentions of going, but I would be so tired from classes that by the time we got back to the hotel all I wanted to do was float in the hot tub, or take a bubble bath – or both! I did get a lot of good cardio in – especially during Zoe Jakes Intensive! She is an amazing dancer, and her class was TOUGH! I was happy that my stamina was better than last year, I could feel an improvement in my body’s ability to keep up with class.  By next year I will see an even bigger difference I’m sure!

Weight: I haven’t weighed in yet – but I will on Friday. I suspect I stayed the same. I think the amount of exercise I got will cancel out the “cheats” and I will be at 310. We’ll see!

Looking ahead to June, I am going to try something different. I am weighing in this Friday – then not again for 4 weeks. But, I am going to take measurements every Friday. The numbers can fluctuate all they want, the tape measure rarely lies. I also want to focus on getting out of my head, and into the gym as much as possible (or outside for some cardio!). Spring has finally arrived on scene here in Boston, and I want to take advantage of it. 🙂

3 responses to “Post Vaca Recap

  1. Memie says:

    Glad you had a great time! Welcome back.

  2. Lisa Davis says:

  3. Sounds like a good trip! I was reading the other day about how working out in the morning doesn’t work out any additional calories than any other time of day but it does keep you from getting too tired to do it. I’ll admit, I’m an afternoon workout person bu on those occassions I workout in the morning, I can say I like the feeling that the workout is done, out of the way and I can enjoy my day. So when I’m on vacation now, I tend to workout in the dreadful am.

Leave a Reply

