Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Where We Gonna From Here?

on June 1, 2011

The title of today’s blog is from my favorite Mat Kearney song. If you’re in the mood for new music, check him out. Love him.

So, where do we go from here? I’m not sure. I’m stuck. Like glue. To the 300’s. I can’t even claw my way out!

I weighed in this morning and I’m at 315. Up 5 pounds from last weigh-in. In between the weigh-in’s I have gotten sick (thank you San Fran airport…every time I come through I bring a souvenir bout of bronchitis home with me!). I spent my 3-day weekend coughing, sleeping and eating very little. It was all HELLA hot here in Boston, and my appetite usually wanes in the heat. So, how did I gain weight? I haven’t the foggiest.

In an attempt to keep my sanity, I’m choosing not to weigh in again until July 1st. I need a break from the scale. I also need a new workout routine. I was thinking about the classes I took at Tribal Fest. I sweat my ass off during a Zoe Jakes drills class (you basically drill the same series of moves for a whole song….or two). Could I incorporate some of this awesome dance cardio into my life? Heck yes! I just made a mix for my iPod that mimics the one used in class. I’m going to aim for this to be my new workout schedule:

Cardio Dance Drilling (home) – 3X a week

Weight Routine (gym)- 3X a week

Traditional Cardio  (bike, treadmill, walking)- 2X a week

Sounds ambitious right? I know. But, I think if I go hard for the month of June, I will be happy with the scale come July! Plus, I have ample time to drill at night with all my favorite shows on hiatus!

Oooh and it seems that the Universe answered my prayers for a drills DVD. This gem is being released in a week. Woo!

Perfect! It will be mine in a mere 8 days. 🙂

A new weight-loss show premiered last night, “Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition“. If you didn’t watch it, but plan to then stop reading right…. now.

Still reading? OK, here’s my honest opinion on the show. I don’t like it. I wanted to love it! I really did. But I just don’t. Each episode will follow one person, week one was Rachel. You figure in an HOUR you will learn a lot about a person and really see their transformation right? Notsomuch. I felt like giant chunks of her weight-loss journey were glossed over. I didn’t like the format (she goes to a bootcamp, then goes home and has a 3-month goal, 6-month goal, 9-month goal then a 1 year reveal). It had so much potential….but I just couldn’t get into it. I was also confused that one of her “goals” given by her personal trainer Chris Powell was to be thin enough to get skin removal surgery. Hold up! She’s 21! Why isn’t her skin going back? The only times I’ve ever heard of skin removal is when the person is extremely morbidly obese (500+ pounds), losing weight  too quickly for the skin’s natural elasticity to kick on (ie during gastric bypass) or when someone is over 60 and their skin has lost some of its natural elasticity. No one from Biggest Loser has ever had skin removal surgery (at least not that’s been announced publicly).  No one I personally know need to have skin removed after extreme weight-losses. I was very confused  by that part.

My other complaints with the show – why did she gain so much weight? It never talks about why she was eating so much in the first place. Her family was all average-sized so there weren’t any assumptions you could draw. Did she work through the emotional/psychological reasons for overeating? I know first-hand that you can’t ignore that stuff, it just bites you in the ass later!  We also never saw what kind of diet Chris put her on. What was she eating? She was doing a lot of cardio but I never saw her doing any strength training. Why not?! I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure the best way to ensure skin will shrink down is to lose slowly and incorporate a mix of strength training and cardio.

Now, for all it’s faults….I’ll probably keep watching it. All my other shows are on hiatus, and I am a sucker for a success story – even if I don’t like the way the story is presented. Overall I’m giving in a C+

Did you guys tune in? What did you think?

5 responses to “Where We Gonna From Here?

  1. Memie says:

    I’m jealous of you, I can’t even go 20 minutes without my knee swelling up. 😦 But bravo for all your accomplishments 🙂

  2. […] been watching “Extreme Makeover: Weight-loss” as mentioned here and I was really upset by the idea of skin surgery being a reward. I just couldn’t wrap my […]

  3. […] show started last year and I mentioned once before that I wasn’t a huge fan. I’m a little more on board with the show now. This season […]

Leave a Reply

