Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Blogger Inspirations and Action Plans

on June 13, 2011

Happy Monday ya’ll! I had a “meh” week. I’ve been feeling like I’m on a hill rolling backwards … and I couldn’t find the brakes. Luckily on Saturday I found them and stopped myself before I threw in the towel and resigned myself to “just being fat” forever. I don’t know why I go through spells like this, I should probably explore that!

Saturday I got out in the rain, got my ass to the gym and worked, worked, worked my butt off. I was sore that night, and yesterday it actually hurt to move my middle (you have no idea how much you use your core muscles until they are on fire!). My abs are still hella SORE! Score! I love that soreness that reminds you of how hard you work (and prevents you from eating crap you know you shouldn’t!). I got back to the gym yesterday and did some cardio along with a nice dumb-bell routine. Back in the saddle, as they say!

I sat down this morning and was inspired by a new blogger I’ve been following (Eat Drink Breathe Sweat) to write out my weekly plan of action. Here it is:

Food –
An average of 1400 calories per day, tracking everything I eat
More veggies/fruits
100 oz. of water a day

Workout schedule –
Mon:  Zoe drilling DVD
Tues:  Morning circuit training  (because I have dinner plans)
Weds: Evening cardio
Thurs: Lunchtime circuit training (working from home has it benefits!) plus Zoe drilling DVD
Fri: Evening Cardio (hopefully outside if it’s not too hot)
Sat: Circuit training plus cardio session
Sun: Father’s Day – cardio session with Dad (beach walk maybe?) plus Zoe DVD

Sounds like a very do-able week! I added it to my BlackBerry calendar with reminders. Do you guys map out a plan for your week? Does it help keep your on track?

I’ve also been inspired by Jess’ blog to try ballet. She takes classes at barre n9ne and I really want to try one of the classes now! Anyone out there doing ballet as a non-skinny girl? How’s it working for you? I noticed the studio has virtual classes so I might try that before I totally embarrass myself in pubic, lol!

I think this class sounds right up my alley: Get the legs of a DIVA without the Swan Lake soundtrack. This fun, new class uses the principles of classical ballet to sculpt, lengthen and strengthen your body in a style that is fun and upbeat; so you get all the benefits of ballet, without all the ballet attitude.

In other news…

I’ve been watching “Extreme Makeover: Weight-loss” as mentioned here and I was really upset by the idea of skin surgery being a reward. I just couldn’t wrap my head around why someone so young would be encouraged to get surgery! Luckily, I’m not alone, or crazy. I came across a blog I really enjoy reading and low and behold, the author “Less Jess” (a different Jess) has a post all about loose skin! She also had some kickass tips on weight-loss. My favorite by far:

Switch On Your “Feast Mode” Metabolism!
No matter how advance we think we are, our bodies are still very primitive. Our natural instincts to food is to eat, eat, EAT!!! This is because people were built to go long periods without food. When our bodies are introduced to ample food, our bodies eventually enter “feast mode,” and your metabolism shifts into high gear to burn all the incoming food!

Having a feast day followed by moderate calorie control = excellent weight loss.

Many dieters fail because they restrict their calories too much. This triggers the body into starvation mode!!! In starvation mode your body’s metabolism slows to a crawl, and any extra calories are stored as fat!!

Many weight loss plateaus are the body’s reaction to being “death-marched.” No matter how hard you try to lose weight, you will get no where because your body is in metabolic lock down!

The fastest way I found to break a plateau is to start eating the full amount of calories my body needs daily. After a week of “maintenance mode” calories – my body (finally) reacts when I cut back to get things moving again.

I had never thought about that. Usually when I’m plateauing I trying eating less not more!  Hmmm! Maybe I was hurting myself instead of helping. Food for thought (pun intended).

16 responses to “Blogger Inspirations and Action Plans

  1. Glad you’re back on that bike. Keep it up, it sounds like you’re going great guns again now! Great idea to set a calendar reminder too. make an appointment with your new self!

  2. JessSutera says:

    Aw! I’m so glad I could be a source of inspiration for you! Your workout plan looks great! I REALLY would love it if you’d come to a barre n9ne class sometime, I promise nobody is looking at anyone else in that studio. way too much concentration on form going on, I swear. 🙂 PS. re: your calorie intake, it still feels a little bit on the low side, even if in weight loss mode? I’m no professional though, but it feels like you could afford to eat a little bit more to fuel your workouts better.

  3. jobo says:

    That is so cool! My sister’s blog is pretty awesome isn’t it? (she showed me the email you sent her, so cool!). You can check out a Barre N9ne class as she is doing some virtual ones!! Just FYI 🙂 And I love your plan for the week, sounds just right!

  4. Cecilia says:

    Wow…I didn’t realize that about the amount you eat and the metabolism. I never understood the nutrition side of weight loss…still kind of don’t fully understand what I should be doing. But that’s super helpful…especially since I’m super-plateauing right now!

  5. Karin says:

    I am very impressed about your workout schedule! Congrats for that!! The past few weeks I had some trouble trying to find my motivation to go to the gym, but last Saturday I’ve downloaded some new songs to my ipod (Rihanna – Only Girl, and Black Eyed Peas – I’ve got a feeling, among some others) and it really was a motivation boost!
    Great blog by the way..

  6. obesedude says:

    I agree with the above commenters. Also, it is actually pretty cool you worked out even though you were not feeling up to ti. Everyone says they are going to work out but you actually did it so congratulations to you missy :).

  7. I do write my workouts down as I know I am more likely to stick to anything I write down or challenge myself to do. Seeing it in black and white somehow makes it real and increases disappointment if not done. I do that with many things in my life. It also helps me get motivated about the week and my workouts ahead. If not motivated, it gets my mind right. Thanks for the Less Jess blog as I’ll have to check it out.

  8. Jenna Shear says:

    So what do you think of the Zoe DVD? I mean, you obviously like it since you’re drilling with it, but I’ve always been hesitant to buy it because it’s produced by BDSS, and in my experience, the production quality is so bad it makes me want to turn off the DVD. Is this one really different from the others? I remember Zoe’s drum solo DVD also by BDSS was obviously unpracticed and poorly planned. She does the warm up unevenly for both sides of the body (forgets to go left after she goes right, etc.)! I want to buy her products, because I love her so much, but I also don’t want to waste my money, you know?

    • I meant to review this and email it to you! Here’s my opinion, and a breakdown of what’s included.

      Score: B+, I like it a lot but I don’t love it. It’s VERY similar to being in class with Zoe, except she’s not as candid on camera (which is to be expected).

      Nice set – simple, Zoe has melodias and a bikini top – nothing covering or obstructing her moves. She’s facing a mirror and the camera is shooting her from behind, which I liked.

      Works on both sides – lots of camera angles (which actually helps articulate the move!)

      Warm Up – full body waves. full body warm-up – 5 mins approx.

      Warm Up 2 – Relevé, hip warm-up, foot placement – lots of good tips and hip explanations – 10 mins approx.

      Chest – understanding “neutral” – diaphragm work, helping chest locks and pop look crisp – 5 mins

      Shoulders – hands versus shoulders (they don’t have to move together!) – rolls, 1 shoulder fig 8s 5 mins approx.

      Arms – good arm stretches to disengage the head and shoulders from arm movements, fluidity (snake arms) 5 mins

      Layer(ing)- Locks with shimmies, arms, chest etc. With locks and layers 5 mins

      Belly – Belly rolls, breathing for good rolls – 5 mins

      Hips – group section incorporates LA fabs like Calamity Sam and Heather Shoopman. This sections is all hip drills with the group – I only wish we could see the girls from the back too (I do better when I follow the dancing butt!). Oh and its all to Beats Antique music of course! 15 mins

      Group Chest – 15 mins – This section is all the chest drills in a group, again I have the same complaints – too much going on. I wish I was able to see different angles!

      Group Shoulders – 15 mins – See above, change chest to shoulders/arms.

      Group Shimmy – Good shimmy drill! Loved it. 15 mins

      Performance: She’s stunning, as always. The camera is only mildly distracting. Her costume is stunning.

Leave a Reply

