Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Keeping the Balls in the Air!

on June 27, 2011

Last week was one of the most insane weeks I’ve had in a LONG time. I was exhausted for most of Friday (after a 13-hour call Thursday into Friday morning). I didn’t get any exercise on Thursday, but I did get around to working out on Friday. I was walking and I starting think about how much goes into weight-loss. It’s eating healthy, eating the correct amount of food to fuel your body, working out to burn calories, keeping the workouts interesting so you continue losing, getting enough sleep…whew! Healthy lifestyles (I really hate saying “diet” because I’m not on a “diet”) are a lot of work! It’s like juggling. You get two balls up in the air, but then you have to keep adding more. At some point, one might fall off…and if you let it go, it’s gone.

I liked this juggling picture best because of the fruit - she also has a cute dress on. Haha. Sidenote: I don't actually believe she's juggling, I think the fruit was Photoshopped. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Once upon a time I was aiming to get 10,000 steps a day in addition to eating healthy and getting to the gym and getting enough sleep. What happened to that goal? It fell by the wayside. My ped-e-dometer broke and I didn’t love it enough to replace it. I got busy, yadda yadda. Well, I went for a walk Thursday night, and another on Sunday. I walked 2 miles both days. It hurt like HELL but I kept going. Ya know why? I felt the best I’ve felt when I was walking – it clears my head and exhausts my legs. How do I know how far I’ve gone? My fancy new iPod (thanks little bro!) has a built-in pedometer! Win-win situation. Tons of tunes, super compact and a pedometer!ย  I am making a new plan for myself from here on out, and I think I’ll do more than write it down, I’ll print it out and leave a copy on my desk and on my night stand. Seeing your goals in black and white helps drive home the point that you need to keep working at what you want every day. Nothing happens overnight.

How do you guys deal with juggling everything that goes into being healthy? Have you noticed some things you once worked hard at have fallen off your plate?

This week I have 2 dinners with friends, 2 lunch dates and 2 barre n9ne classes. Great things come in pairs? ๐Ÿ™‚ I am aiming for lots of cardio and fewer circuits at the gym. I think I need to change things up often and cardio might be key in the next phase!ย  I went to the gym last night with my bro and we had “Sunday night sweat fest” – it was really a stress reliever to just get all the energy out into something productive! We both felt better as we left, and I noticed that I wasn’t inclined to snack (like usual Sundays) because I had just worked so hard I didn’t want to ruin it. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 responses to “Keeping the Balls in the Air!

  1. jobo says:

    Yay for barre n9ne classes! so excited!! And you are doing great at planning things out, I love watching it unfold!

  2. Meg says:

    Story of my life….work hard, fall off the wagon, get back on for a while, fall off…I think it’s normal. Life just gets in the way sometimes. Working out does reduce appetite so one begets the other I suppose. I try to stick to working out 4x a week but that doesn’t always happen. On days I don’t, I just try to balance it with eating less/better and maybe trying to do something during the day – walk the dog, house chores, something where I’m moving and busy and not just sitting like a lump as that is what causes me to want to snack. Hang in there – 1 day at a time!

  3. Just today there was an article in the Boston Globe G section about the importance of 10,000 steps per day to weight loss and general health, and strategies people use to make sure they reach their step goal–did you see it?

    • I was just catching up on my Boston Globe reading (Love Letters, horoscopes, breaking news) and there was the article in the sidebar! Too funny. Looks like I need to bring my walking shoes back to work! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. JessSutera says:

    I think adding more cardio will really make a difference for you – and am SO excited you’re doing more barre n9ne this week!! Wahoo!!

  5. Christine B says:

    Juggling and staying on track are so so hard, and soon I found it was all I could think about! For me, it was all getting into a routine. I wake up, exercise, take vitamins, eat a healthy breakfast, pack lunch – and that’s all before work! Then when I get home, its fun exercise time (if I feel like it) – frisbee, bball, or a walk. Maybe even just cleaning! I plan meals ahead and shop on a schedule too. That way, I know what I have to do, when I do it, I don’t forget, and my days feel accomplished!

    Work is doing the 10,000 min step challenge again this year – maybe start that up with some co-workers?

  6. You are so right about the juggling. Plus, the minute you have all the balls in the air and you think you’ve got it, someone throws another at you. It’s not a diet, as you said, but a continuing lifestyle change. I think it evolves over time and you just get better at it as long as you continue to work on it. Thumbs up!

  7. Tanya says:

    10,000 steps a day will make a difference. I teach all of my clients this and it really does work. So cool you know about it already! Start small- try 2 miles per day or split it up into 2, 2.5 miles walks! 10,000 steps as you know is 5 miles. Accomplish it any way that you wish!

Leave a Reply

