Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Happy Blogiversary!

on July 8, 2011

TGIF everyone! It’s been one year of blogging, can you believe it?!

I can’t believe how much has changed in a year. When I sat here last year and wrote my very first post I never thought I would meet so many cool people through this venture, try so many crazy things or be SO inspired! You guys rallied around me to support my weight-loss journey by sharing your own successes (and failures!), motivational quotes etc. I am really fortunate to have started this, because my life is better now! Thank you! 🙂

I woke up at 5:45am for my virtual session with barre n9ne. I am by no means a morning person (yet) but I really love how awesome I feel after a kick-ass morning workout! This morning was freaking killer (and I am still feeling the effects of Wednesday mornings glute torture, it hurts to sit!). Tanya led me through morphing my body into crazy things as usual, and I know I will be sore tomorrow!

Finally, I get my butt on the scale. It’s never done this before (I swear) but the it went back and forth like it does on Biggest Loser – 325! 301! 290! Finally it settled on…..299.7. I kid you not. I beat this goal by a mere 4 ounces! I got on and off 4 times. 299.7.

Oh my GOD….it says 299…not 300, not 301…TWO NINE NINE!!! HELL YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m so excited right now….and I’m sure if this is the first time you’re reading my blog you’re thinking “Are you serious? You’re excited to weigh 299?”. Yup! Considering where I’ve come from – being here is amazing. I can still remember exactly how I felt 125 pounds ago on New Years Eve 2009 thinking “Is this what my life has come to?! 424?!?!”. I’m so grateful to be far far away from that place, and on the road to health. I always used to say that I was a happy person even at my heaviest – but I think I can safely say I am the happiest I’ve been in a long time right now. That doesn’t mean my life is perfect or I’ve had some divine intervention…I’ve just seen how strong I am, and how much better I feel when I eat healthy and exercise! Crazy huh?! 😉

I’m hoping to be down another 30 pounds by August 31st for my Arthur Challenge and won’t weigh-in gain until then. Meeting my goal would mean I would weigh 269. I can’t even tell you guys the last time I was that small. Hmmm…1998 maybe? Either way, a LONG time!

But, I’m not going to stress about that – I’m going to celebrate this milestone (without a cupcake!) and continue working towards my goals. I need to snap some progress pictures this weekend! I am so excited to have met my goal! YAY!!!

(thank you Tyler for the graphic!)

20 responses to “Happy Blogiversary!

  1. Meg says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! No small feat for sure!

  2. Nate Makdad says:

    Congrats Samantha

  3. jobo says:

    Wow, that is AWESOME!!! CONGRATS on the 299 and your blogoversary. How very fitting! Just read your first post…love reading it since I am newish to your blog! And glad you loved your class this morning…side leg series?? 🙂

  4. GO YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-))))))

  5. Cathy Moore says:

    That is so awesome! Keep going, girl!

  6. JessSutera says:

    YEAH GIRL!!! Congrats on meeting your goal AND on your first year as a blogger!! Keep it up – you’re doing SO GOOD!!

  7. Katrina says:

    Congrats!!! Isn’t that the best feeling, seeing the number you’ve been hoping for on that scale? And what perfect timing, too!

  8. Kelly says:

    Congrats Samantha, I’m so happy for you! I know how hard it is to keep focused and determined on personal goals, and here you have made that goal a reality! Remember your hardest critical will always be yourself, stay positive, keep at it and kill it! You’ve come such a long way, your positive attitude and ambition will carry you through to your next goal. I’m very proud of you! xoxo-K

  9. Desserrie says:

    Congratulations!!! I know it feels awesome!! Keep up the great work, you are such an inspiration!! 0:)

  10. Mark Steele says:

    Samantha,
    I am so very happy for you. Be healthy Be happy.
    Mark

  11. Cecilia says:

    YYYYYAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!
    *clapping and bouncing in my chair!*

  12. Amy says:

    Samantha – That is amazing! I am so happy for you 🙂 your determination is inspiring.

  13. Samantha says:

    Wow you guys – THANK YOU for the support! I feel so loved!!! ❤ ❤

  14. Goooo Samantha!!! 2*9*9….you should feel so proud. You will reach that August 31st goal too!!! Keep up the motivation, healthy eating and celebrating these life changing milestones!

  15. IntrigueMe says:

    WOW!! Congratulations!! 299 is my first goal… I’ve got 35lbs to go. I think reaching that milestone will be huge for me as well, mostly for my motivation to keep on going.

    I would be curious to know how many calories you’re eating in a day and what kinds of foods you’re eating and what not… since we’re in the same weight range (well not really anymore since you’re at 299!!!!). I will send you an email soon, if I can find the time!!

  16. Tanya says:

    CONGRATS!!!! I have been so busy I haven’t had time to catch up on reading everyones blogs! I heard from Jo and Jess last night that you reached 299! I am so proud of you….and proud that you wake up at 555am to take virtual 😉 I am not a morning person either by any means but I totally agree that once 620am come around I’m so proud of myself and you ladies! Congrats again!

  17. Christine says:

    OMG! I missed this blog entry! I’m sooo proud of you for getting there, I can’t wait to see you again. Keep up the good work but enjoy this time, you’ve earn it!

  18. I have been so terribly busy that I’m just now catching up on reading my blogs. This was so worth the wait, as I was able to read it slowly and be happy for you!!! CONGRATS! My heart really is bursting with joy for you and I know you’ll continue the wonderful work and journey you are on. You go girl!

  19. Caroline says:

    I missed this! Belated congratulations! One Year! 299! Such milestones. So happy for you, happy you’re happier than ever and becoming healthier and healthier. You’ve inspired me many times over the last year to get off my butt and get a work out in, thanks you! ❤

Leave a Reply

