Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Fat Obsessed?

on July 12, 2011

You guys know I love weight-loss books and success stories right? Well I was thinking about all the diets/stories I’ve read and realized I used to want the “overnight solution”. I would read a success story and think “Two years to lose 100 pounds?! I don’t have two years!“. Let’s pause and laugh about that for a second shall we? πŸ™‚ I didn’t think I had the time to focus on weight-loss and get healthy slowly? Hahaha. Cracks me up now! I never liked the idea of losing slowly and steadily….I wanted to wake up one day free of fat. Of course, that’s ludicrous since I didn’t gain all this weight overnight!

I was still contemplating this when I went grocery shopping. I got in line to check out and I noticed the magazines staring at me while I waited:

Lose 19 pounds in 1 week? Walk off 15 pounds by July 4th? Sheesh! We really are a nation obsessed with overnight success! I also feel compelled to point out that the same magazines with these quick fixes always contain recipes are insanely decadent cakes, pies, cookies and treats just pages away from the diet of the month.Β  How can you eat only flaxseed and celery when a recipe for red velvet cupcakes is staring you in the face?! πŸ™‚

I have resigned myself to the fact that the “quickest” way for me to lose weight (and never find it again) is to exercise, drink lots of water and eat healthy. Of course, I always secretly wish for a magic pill or a “fat donation system” (you stand on one side of the machine and you can “donate” your fat to a skinny person on the other side – cool huh?). But, I know that quick fixes don’t work. All this talk has got me thinking, is America a nation obsessed with weight? Everywhere you look someone is peddling an exercise machine or a diet pill….are we really “the fattest nation” or just the most “fat obsessed” nation? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

9 responses to “Fat Obsessed?

  1. Desserrie says:

    I feel the same way, we didn’t put on all our weight overnight, so how do we expect to lose it all overnight!?

    I am NOT on a diet, but after 84 lbs lost in 6 months, I feel I am on my way to living a healthier lifestyle. I am making better food choices, including how much, not just what I eat, and I am making a commitment to myself to LIVE MY LIFE, not just sit on the sidelines and watch everyone else enjoy it!

    My favorite phrase is: “It is not about willpower, it is about wanting and being ready for CHANGE in my life!”

    Keep up the good work and thank you for the constant inspiration! πŸ™‚

  2. JessSutera says:

    This is my big beef with society – the whole “get rich quick” “get thin quick” get xxx “quick” mentality is infuriating. Nothing worth working towards ever comes easily. And nor should it, right? To your point, slow and steady surely wins the race – and you’re doing a great job of losing weight in a smart and healthy way. It’s a major reason why you’ll keep that weight off long-term – because you’re changing your lifestyle forever, not expecting a quick fix alone. Keep it up girl!

  3. Memie says:

    Ditto, I guess anyone can sell anything that says lose weight fast and quick.

  4. Layne says:

    HAHA!!! Fat donation system back into play! I really think we need to figure out that method πŸ˜‰ Love it.

  5. IntrigueMe says:

    More times than I care to admit, I have thought to myself “why couldn’t I just take a knife and cut this belly off? There would go 100lbs!” and I know I would probably bleed to death (probably? haha) but it sure would be easier!!!

    I’m glad to say that as of this morning I was officially down 7lbs. LONG way to go still, but it is a start!!

  6. LOL… loved this as I did laugh with you several times. I will admit that I read those articles from time to time, and I can’t figure out why. I know there is no magic diet and yet, I still must check. Part of me must stay in the know, so I know what’s out there, what people are now talking about, etc. Another part of me is really waiting for that secret pill or something so I can make it easier on myself, but until then, as you mentioned, I’ll just stick with what works.

  7. borderlinelil says:

    I don’t think it’s just America, as magazines here in Australia peddle the same stories. Except it’s in kilograms instead of pounds LOL. It’s taken me a long time to realise that taking years to lose weight is a good thing, it helps my body adjust to being lighter – and like you say, we didn’t gain the weight overnight so we can’t expect it to be gone overnight.

    Thanks for your lovely blog, which I really enjoy reading xx

  8. anne says:

    i just tell myself that persistence is more important than perfection, if i keep trying i will succeed

Leave a Reply

