Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Life is a roller coaster!

on August 5, 2011

Life is a complete roller coaster lately. I’m on an “up” in how I feel physically….but I am on a “down” when it comes to the scale.

I have only lost ONE POUND since my last weigh-in….

but I’m 14.75 inches smaller. Like, WHAT!??!

So, I weighed in Monday and MAN was I disappointed – 298. What the heck?!?! I wasn’t busting my ass, I’ll be honest – but I was going to 2 virtual barre n9ne classes a week (and doing mini-workouts in between because I love the format so much!). I was walking everywhere inside work (AC!) and I was watching what I ate. But I was eating dessert….a lot. Oy. Dessert is like my long-lost BFF. I know she’s terrible for me….but I love her! Haha.

I spent a few days wallowing in my 298 and it coincided with my week to teach a class at work. I love teaching, but it’s exhausting! You are ON all the time. I noticed I wasn’t snacking AT ALL during the day (no time!) but I was drinking a lot of water. Hmmm – this is GOOD. Busy work day = no snacks. I was also packing my meals so I could get some work done while I ate, also good! I only had coffee once a day (morning) and I got 7-8 hours sleep every night (I swear, classes wear me out!).

I woke up this morning for virtual barre and decided I should take measurements. It’s been a while, let’s see how I’m doing. Guess what ya’ll? I have lost 14.75 inches since I last measured (5 weeks ago).

WHAT?!?!?! Crazy right?

Neck – 1 inch smaller (WEIRD….like….who has neck fat?! Me apparently!)
Chest – 1.5 inches smaller
Waist – THREE INCHES SMALLER!!!!!!! Holy mackerel!!!
Bicep – 1.75 inches smaller
Hips – 2.5 inches smaller
Thighs – 2 inches smaller (HELLO barre!)
Calf -2 inches smaller
Ankle – 1 inch smaller

How does someone lose 1 pound….and 14.75 inches?! It boggles my mind too.

My clothes are fitting better (the waist of most of my pants is too big, so I keep tugging them up, haha!). But, I still honestly don’t FEEL any smaller. I keep waiting to wake up and feel lighter….maybe soon? 🙂

I’m hoping to get more barre n9ne classes into my life – yay! I’m also going to try keeping my new momentum up. Busy workday = no crap snacks and lots of water and TONS of walking.When I stay busy I find fewer opportunities for mindless eating, which is always a struggle.

Do you guys feel like the high’s and low’s of life reflect in your weight? Do you have trouble focusing on the high’s when you hit a low (like a disappointing weigh-in).I need to work on keeping a balance and being OK when things aren’t perfect (thanks Jess!).

Have a great weekend everyone!

 

8 responses to “Life is a roller coaster!

  1. Jess says:

    Seriously, SO impressed with those inches lost! Like I said in email, imagine the inches lost if (wait, WHEN, hehe) you start taking a live barre n9ne class (that barre is killer!!) AND do either one more day of cardio (or lots of walking like you said) and keep that momentum up? You are doing awesome and even though the scale isn’t “showing” that, you’re proving it in other ways which is all the proof you need. Momentum is momentum, scale or no scale. Keep at it girl!!

  2. Memie says:

    Well Woman you keep me motivated.

  3. Aria says:

    Muscle weighs more than fat, so it actually makes a lot of sense that you would see such drastic measurement differences, but not as much weight loss. You are gaining muscle!! And muscle metabolizes calories faster, so you will begin noticing a difference on your scale soon enough. The important thing is that you are approaching the weight loss in a healthy way, working out, getting enough sleep and drinking water. You’re motivation is inspiring!

  4. IntrigueMe says:

    If your inches are down, who gives a shit what the scale says!! You could be retaining water (are you in the second half of your cycle?) Or building muscle or perhaps weighed in at a bad time of day.

    I can’t wait for the day when my clothes don’t fit anymore because I’ve lost inches! I haven’t started measuring myself yet but I’m going to, soon. Perhaps tonight.

  5. Kelly says:

    Congrats on the inches lost! Don’t be discouraged by the scale and remember muscle weighs more than fat. Building muscle also fires up your metabolism which is a good thing! So proud of you, keep up the momentum, you’re doing awesome!

  6. jobo says:

    Congrats on the inches!!! That is WAY more awesome than lbs lost, IMHO 😉 that is incredible!! Happy for you! Love your little goals too, those are definitely achievable!

  7. Sharon says:

    Wait a minute, wait a minute, WAIT. A. MINUTE. You hit the 2’s?! When was the last time you were in the 2’s?! Where’s the amazing celebration? This is a crazy awesome landmark! You should be majorly celebrating! Not even Ruby got to the 2’s. I think she got up until 312 or something. Congratulations!!

  8. Caroline says:

    I came here looking for a new post today! Wow almost 15″!!!! Amazing. Okay okay, thanks for the pep talk, I guess I’ll get moving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

