Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

90 til 30 Challenge

on November 7, 2011

I have roughly 90 days (3 months) until my 30th birthday – January 30th (golden birthday!). I need to get my shit together, like WOAH.  I am still hovering at 305. It’s completely, utterly unacceptable. I should have been coasting into “onederland” (I hate that word) by now. But alas, no.

So what went wrong? I got lazy. I can’t lie. I lost a bunch of weight, I got lazy and it crept back on like a thief in the night. I hate that.

How can I fix it?

Well, that’s where the new plan comes in! Enter my new plan, dubbed The 90 til 30 Challenge. 🙂

So, this is a little more complex than my other plans of the past. It’s a trifecta of eating well, exercising and saving money for a birthday trip. I have noticed my spending habits slip lately – dinner out here, drinks with friends there, new shoes just because they’re cute….I need to get both my monetary spending and my caloric spending in chiggity check. (Did I really just say that? Yes…I did. It’s Sunday and I have “No Diggity” stuck in my head).

Part One:

Healthy eating.

Living within my caloric number 90% o the time, and truly earning my splurges. A glass of wine? Sure! But not every night. Dessert? Once in a while, sure. After every meal? No.
Water: Minimum 100 oz. – easy peasy since I am carrying a bottle around at work. It’s empty? Fill it. It’s full? Drink some!

Part Two:
Exercise.

Virtual barre n9ne twice a week (Tues and Fri).
Cardio sessions twice a week (Sunday and Weds)
Weight routine (Mon and Thurs)
DVD (Sat)
I need to keep it spiced up – and frankly, I need to keep active. The summer is long gone, work is calm-ish – I have NO excuse not to be in the gym or exercising everyday. I have workouts I love, I just need to psych myself up to reap their rewards.

Part Three:
Saving for my 30th celebration.

I’d like to go to LA for a week, and celebrate. I have a ton of friends in town, and it will be warm – what more could a girl ask for?!
In order to make this happen, I need to stop my frivolous spending (honestly, how many different color flats does a girl need?). I plan to drop my extra money in a jar at the end of each week. That money = spending money for LA. I have a free flight on JetBlue so my airfare is set.

Now that I have this plan – I need some help staying accountable! I know myself, I’ll start off strong then I’ll get sick or busy or both and the plan falls by the wayside.

Keep me honest ok? 🙂  I’m going to do my best to blog more and give you guys status updates. See me slacking on the blogs? Poke me!

The holidays approaching are a perfect time for the excuses to pile on. I made sure now to succumb to them by signing up for the Barre N9ne 2nd Annual Turkey  Burn ON Thanksgiving morning at 8am and for Juliana’s workshop the Sunday after. I will not want to overeat knowing how hard I have to work in class! My friend Layne is joining me, you should too! 🙂

4 responses to “90 til 30 Challenge

  1. D.James says:

    Awesome blog post for the first return from hiatus…

  2. jobo says:

    You can do this!! I like your challenge to yourself and how much barre n9ne is incorporated 😉 you should do the next challenge!! Wish you could get to live classes more often so you could, maybe one day 🙂 In the meantime, you’ve got a great lineup of workouts and good habits going, you can do itttt! 🙂

  3. JessSutera says:

    AWESOME plan my dear!! You can totally do this!!! Love to see you at the barre again soon – can we pick a barre date soon perhaps??

  4. veganinsalem says:

    I love this! I’m getting myself back in gear too so I am with you! You go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

