Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

(Less than) 60 to 30!

on December 8, 2011

Life has been so go-go-go lately that I am finding myself thinking of updates I need to post….but never actually typing them out. I wish someone would invent a device that pulled my thoughts out of my head, organized them into a post and updated for me! 🙂

So, how did November go? I’d give myself a B- overall. I rocked barre classes. I got tons of walking during the day in. But, I didn’t lose an ounce. Literally. I am EXACTLY where I was a month ago weight-wise. BUT….my clothes are loose and I *feel* crazy strong. I can hold myself in relevé during Julianna’s whole barre section! HELLO! Member back in August? I could barely stand on tip toes! I’m power-walking to meetings without bring out of breath! All these little things will add up big, I just have to hold on!

December has come in with a bang – crazy projects at work, deadlines, rearranging of schedules 82 times a day. I’m hoping for a slow down next week – I actually didn’t have time to eat lunch 2 days this week because I was so crazed. No food + long day = grouchy *Samantha*

(Note to self: if you packed lunch, you could eat it while at a meeting….just sayin’!)

I’ve been having these moments lately where I step outside myself and reflect on where I am. I think the whole “30 lurking around the corner” thing put me in a foul mood and I need to help justify that I’m OK. I might not be where I wanted, but that’s OK!

During these moments of reflection I notice little things (like when you look closely at a snow globe!) – professionally I have come LEAPS AND BOUNDS from where I was even a few months ago. I am sure of myself. I trust my judgement and I orchestrate plans like a pro! Coming into this new role I never thought I would excel as much as I have – it’s nice to prove yourself wrong! 🙂

In regards to food – I have adopted a bit of a “do I need or want this?” attitude, which I attribute to my time constraints. Junk food doesn’t fill you up. I might want a cookie, but I don’t have the time to be hungry in an hour! I have meetings! Banana, hand full of pistachios, some kind of protein – yes!

Virtual barre has become one of my favorite things over the last few months and now I see myself pushing a little bit harder, adding an extra bit of oomph where I can. The workout is amazing and if I can squeeze a bit extra out of myself  before 7am – more power to me! At various moments during the day I find myself doing plies at my desk and thinking of Tanya/Juliana!

Overall my attitude has taken a 180. I don’t dwell on my missteps, I try to find the silver lining and move on when I have a bad day.
(Sidenote: I hate when people say ‘done a 360’….360 degrees is a circle, which would mean you ended up right back where you started. LOL).

So, the first third of this mission was a win – time to make the next 2/3 a SUPER win!

How is everyone doing? Struggling with the copious amounts of holiday parties and food?

5 responses to “(Less than) 60 to 30!

  1. jobo says:

    You are focusing on exactly the right things! How you feel, your progress at the barre, food choices etc. Not so much the number on the scale. That is really REALLY good, if you ask me 🙂 Hope to see you in class soon!!! 🙂

  2. Micah says:

    I know exactly where you are. I had wanted to lose 30 lbs. before my friend’s wedding, but as the date got closer and my goal still felt a long ways away, I had to adjust my way of thinking. Not easy. I was a little mad at myself for not getting there, but then I realized at least I’m making progress. I thought about the physical changes in myself (even if they weren’t on the scale) — I look thinner, and I ran two 5Ks in October (something I never could have done a year earlier). I will eventually get to my goal, but in the meantime, I will focus on making good choices and feeling better.

  3. meg says:

    Even if you haven’t lost pounds I’m sure you’ve lost inches. Maybe take your measurements occasionally as well and see if those numbers are shrinking. That’s the case with me – down a dress size, but really haven’t lost much. This is a life change and will just take a while for your body to catch up.

  4. Lisa Davis says:

    I gotta tell you…I was thinking that my eye floaters were really bothering me till I realized that you have snowglobe snow floating across the page…at least that was my interpretation! Thank you for your positivity. This time of year can really put me in a funk. I really liked your “do I need or want this” attitude. I realized yesterday when I was sooooo undcomfortable in my jeans that I needed to stop my ” who cares!” self pity. It’s all about awareness. I know that…but sometimes I need a slap o’ the back of my head!!

    Have a mindful holiday!

  5. JessSutera says:

    AWESOME mindset friend. You’re making progress – not just on the health and fitness front but on the work front which you should be very proud of!! Nothing better than trusting your own judgement on a professional level, seriously. It’s hard to get there!

    I am so glad you are loving the barre classes, and trust me, they ARE working – even if not lbs lost, inches lost for sure!! Keep at it girlfriend, you are making great strides!

Leave a Reply

