Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Peace out 2011, Hello 2012!

on December 30, 2011

It feels strange to me that we’re about to ring in a new year. Where did 2011 go?!

(Side note: where is the snow? I’m not complaining…but it doesn’t really feel like winter in Boston!).

I couldn’t remember what my resolutions were last year (thank god for public blogs!) – reviewing them now, I’d say I get a C over all. My weight-loss efforts have been stalled, but my desire for self-improvement has paid off. I let go of some serious emotional baggage (and lost a friendship that I outgrew along the way). I got a new job that I love, I traveled, I tried new things….but I didn’t give life my “all”. I settled where I should have pushed forward, I walked away where I should have fought.

In 2012:

I resolve to love more and fear less.

I resolve to trust more and question less.

I resolve to choose health over convenience or emotion.

I resolve to continue growing personally and professionally. Knowledge is never wasted!

I resolve to have more barre and less bullshit in my life. I’m at the point where I don’t want to subscribe to nonsense anymore.

I’m turning 30 in 30 days. Insane. I need to get back on top of my challenge – and keep kicking ass. I need to continue making forward progress in life, instead of just stalling.

Are you guysย  making resolutions? Did you stick yo your resolutions from last year?

 

9 responses to “Peace out 2011, Hello 2012!

  1. D.James says:

    Well done ….. Well said I dig it..

  2. jobo says:

    I love this! More barre, less bullshit. that would make an aewsome t-shirt, just saying ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love your honesty and owning up to your year…but don’t cut yourself too short, you made huge progress this year, whether you feel you stalled or not. BRING IT in 2012….and 30 days till 30? So cool!! Woohoo, rock on 2012!!

  3. JessSutera says:

    AfrickinMEN sista!! 2012 ought to be scared of you!! You’re poised to kill it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sandy says:

    #1: Your new layout is GORGE. #2: You’re so inspirational to me! #3: 2011 was a nearly crippling year for me, despite the awesome things that I did, so my resolution for 2012 is to rise above. Rise above my failures, bad luck, disappointments… everyone has that stuff. Sometimes I feel like I have everyone else’s too. But the trick is to get over it, move on, and rise above, and that’s what I’m doing.

    • High-five girl. You can do it. 2011 was a tough year personally – I let myself down, I watched people I love get sick and felt helpless….it sucked. But, I figure 2012 has a nice ring, and the year of the Dragon sounds so kick ass that I am going to make it so! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck — you can totally rise above the crappy year and kick ass (while moving to Boston -LOL!).

  5. High Tea says:

    I love reading your blog posts, Peace out 2011, Hello 2012! Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog has been added to my bookmarks in chrome.

  6. […] As always I’m thinking about what I resolve to do this year … what did I resolve to do last year?? Oh right – thank you blog! […]

Leave a Reply

