Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Finding Balance in Chaos

on January 13, 2012

Ya know how people always say “find a happy-medium“? I never got that expression. I want a venti-happy, not a little happy or a medium happy! Well, reflecting on my first 13 days of 2012….I get what they mean now. I am not living a balanced, happy life. I’m immersed in work chaos and letting it change my plans to eat healthy and exercise. Now, I can’t eliminate the work craziness all together, but I can choose how I manage it. Sleeping with one eye-opened watching my Blackberry? Not healthy nor productive! Making an impossible “to-do” list then working overtime to finish it in a day? Silly. I have a series of things I need to accomplish by next week. I’m dividing them up and conquering them – but I will not let them take my weekend over (like I did last week) or compromise my need to exercise/sleep/be lazy on the weekend! πŸ™‚

My blogger pal Jess has written about balance a lot lately, and I thought “well she’s self-admittedly a Type-A person, I’m not! I don’t need balance!”. Ya k now what’s worse than being a control freak? Being a control freak in complete denial!! LOL. Ladies and Gentlemen, I am a control freak. I want things done my way and I HATE to compromise.I admit it! I can’t put a project down, even when my eyes feel like sand-paper, I can’t ask for help because of course no one is going to do as good of a job as I would.

(Jess – I’m not saying you’re a control freak! I’m admiring your self-awareness of being Type A). πŸ™‚

It’s funny what a little introspection can do for your perspective eh??? So, how can I re-channel this Type-A energy of mine? I live in my Blackberry calendar, I might as well use it to my advantage. I just went through and “booked” myself workout reminders, water reminders + snack reminders. Color-coded of course! I already booked lunch reminders (I was at the point where I would have meetings from 8am-3pm – with no time to eat! Insane.). Now I need to commit to myself to finding the balance each day between what needs to be done and what my body needs. I’ve been so go-go-go that I’m sleeping terrible. Time for the sound machine to return and the Blackberry to retire to the bottom of my purse until morning! I also need to commit to stretching more – I feel better during the day when I’ve gotten exercise and a good stretch in the morning.

How are you guys doing with any resolutions you made? How are you overall at keeping balance in your life?

I went looking for a cute quote about balance (you guys know I love quotes) – I found these and decided they were worth sharing! I have a poster of the first one that I need to hang at work as a reminder! πŸ™‚

and

 

 

5 responses to “Finding Balance in Chaos

  1. JessSutera says:

    That’s ok, I’m a control freak, I KNOW I am. But I’m trying to tone that down a bit, hence all the balance talk (talk that I LOVE is helping you find better balance too!). I think this is a great approach and I urge you to stick with it – remember, make time for YOU. Invest in YOU. You are your own most important asset – jobs come and go, friends come and go. But you only have one shot at this life, you might as well make it worth your own while, right? Go get it!!

  2. jobo says:

    Balance is SO hard sometimes when life is chaotic. For me, my workouts actually give me balance. Sweating it out and just giving myself that time REALLY helps me. As does just taking 10 mins and shaking it off, somehow, someway. It always does wonders. You can do this, exactly what Jess said. I love this very manifesto and have it on my fridge!

  3. Yeah, I’m a type A personality myself. I think it stands for Anal to be honest with you, but I am what I am. In many walks of life, it has been extremely helpful. I think all self-awareness, good or bad, is quite useful in life and will help in goal success.

  4. ninamholland says:

    This is so weird that you’re writing this now because tonight (or I guess I should say last night now) I was feeling on the verge of a meltdown. I’ve been working like crazy on my book and not entirely happy with the direction that it’s going in. And I’m exactly like you, putting a lot of stress on myself- which is not healthy in the long run.

    So yes, I’m definitely going to be taking your advice and try to find that elusive happy medium. Balance is important and something that I’m definitely going to be shifting my focus towards this year.

    And I love quotes too! Definitely stealing these πŸ™‚

    xx

  5. Sandy says:

    I love your quotes, girlie. You make me happy.

Leave a Reply

