Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Love Your Body (even if it’s just for today) II

on February 14, 2012

Last year’s “Love Your Body (even if it’s just for today)” was such a highlight of my month that I need to do it again.

I have been thinking a lot lately about my own body hang-ups and how they compare now (at 30!) to 29 or 25 or 20. I’ve come to the conclusion that I am entirely too easily influenced. At 20 I hated my body because I didn’t look like the gorgeous waif-like audio girls at my school. At 25 I hated my body because I was dating someone who always compared me to his size 4 ex. At 29 I was more comfortable with my body and appreciated my curves because of bellydance…..but also disillusioned by the body hating going on around  me. Dancers are demanding on their bodies and in some circles this can translate into cattiness. I made the conscious decision to stop subscribing to bad behavior, and with that came a departure from dancing. I still love the art-form but I can’t engage in critique of my own body or others anymore. It’s exhausting and unhealthy.

Frankly I can’t – and won’t be influenced by “society” or by mass negativity. Don’t like my shape? Don’t look at me.

(I sound really bad-ass….but it’s sort of a front. If I say it enough I think I’ll believe it)

At 30 I am still not 100% comfortable in my own skin, but I’m working on it. I wish my stomach didn’t pooch out, I wish my thighs were slimming down (I wish spot training was possible, lol). But overall, I don’t hate myself. I don’t wake up and wish I was a size 4. I do wake up and wish I was stronger or healthier or more tone – but I know that those things come with hard work, not wishes.

So, in honor of “Love Your Body – Even if it’s Just For Today” here is something I love about my body ~ with no strings attached. (Different from last year!)

My cheekbones. I never knew what my bone structure was because my face was always heavy. I honestly didn’t even notice the change in my face until I saw an old picture.

From 2009:

How did I not notice my face was this big?!

Today:

Holy cheekbones! (My hair looks pretty too)

Crazy eh? I have a cute heart-shaped face! Who knew?!

After the Grammy’s I was thinking “Adele is the size I want to be someday” (we have a similar shape) – then I got 3 different people saying “Ya know you look like Adele!”. Yay! Heart-shaped faces rule. 🙂

Adele at the Grammy's - so cute!

So, dear lovely readers – what do you love about your body today in honor of Valentine’s Day??? Be honest – and don’t cop-out ~ no negative spins! 🙂

 

4 responses to “Love Your Body (even if it’s just for today) II

  1. Micah says:

    Love this post. So much. I’m with you. Even if we want to change a few things, it’s important that we love our bodies. Today and everyday. 🙂

  2. JessSutera says:

    This is such a beautiful – and real – post from you. I love how you’ve progressed to the point where you no longer want to play the comparison games (which is hard to avoid in this society, sadly) and are ready to embrace you for YOU, that is awesome and a very hard thing to do!

    I love your cheekbones too – they are proud and beautiful, just like you!

    Hm favorite body part? My eyes. They never lie. I can never fake a smile because it shows all over the look in my eyes. If I’m genuinely happy and I smile – my eyes sparkle. The sign of true joy. 🙂

  3. IntrigueMe says:

    I love my cheekbones as well, and my eyes. Those are the things men compliment me on the most. Strange how that is why we love ourselves.

  4. jobo says:

    I LOVE this post!!! I love all that you love about yourself. And your realism about it all too. Sure, we all have things we wanna fix, and work on, but we’re all works in progress, right? And you have awesome cheekbones and a very beautiful heart-shaped face. XOXO! Let’s see…favorite body part…my legs are becoming more of my friend than they ever have. Stronger, able, evolving.

Leave a Reply

