Sparkly & Slimming….a Weight Loss Blog

Samantha's journey to slim down, while remaining sparkly!

Living in the Moment

on February 21, 2012

I had a nice, relaxing three-day weekend. Rest, trashy TV, girly lunches, pedicures – divine! I decided to relish in my “non-schedule” and sign up for Monday’s barre method class w/ Julianna. I’ve mentioned a bajillion times how much I love classes with her and Tanya ~ but sadly I don’t get to the studio very often!

I arrived last night ready for a good ass-kicking….and I got so much more! The workout was amazing (as always) and I am crazy sore today (sore biceps, triceps, abs, glutes….ouch all around!) – but I also got a lesson in living in the moment. I am notoriously someone who “lives in their head” – I’m always playing out crazy scenarios or thinking about my monstrous to-do list or comparing myself to every person with in a 50 mile radius. Last night? Clear head – strong muscles. I was so focused on Julianna’s words and on executing each move properly that I couldn’t believe the hour was up so quickly! I didn’t stare at myself in the mirror and pick apart my every flaw. I didn’t watch the girl in front of me with envy. I focused on my muscles, on pushing myself to do 1 more rep and on truly enjoying every minute of a class I normally don’t get to come to!

Coming home I was on a high like no other and decided this class needs to become my Monday habit, pronto! Ladies who hear me yap about barre and live locally, wanna join me? It will be fun! :0)Β  You will be sweaty and feel crazy strong afterwards!

 

11 responses to “Living in the Moment

  1. Katrina says:

    Where are these classes held? I’ve been thinking about trying it! Your make it sound so awesome!

  2. Micah says:

    I wish there was a barre workout near me. A few of my friends talk about it, and I think it’d be cool to try.

  3. jobo says:

    Don’t you love the barre n9ne’ high’?! it is SO true!! there is simply no better feeling. I am convninced! bummer I didn’t get to see you last night!! Come next week??

  4. JessSutera says:

    YES!! THIS is what barre n9ne is all about – working smarter, not harder, focusing on YOU and only YOU, trusting your body to do what your mind thinks is not possible and investing in yourself everytime you walk through that door. ❀ this post my dear!

    PS. this truly sounds like a cult leader response, I do realize πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

